We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local food!”
Review of El Resuelve

El Resuelve
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic local food!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a place you should not miss! Locals and tourists alike enjoy the food, and ambience of El Resuelve. Their food is really quite good, prepared fresh, and their staff are very friendly. They make great traditional dishes, both platters and snacks like empanadas. I recommend picking up empanadas on the way to the beach (they make many different kinds such as shrimp, conch, ham/cheese, chicken, beef, etc.). They are delicious, and very filling. Easy to throw in your cooler and enjoy on the beach or boat!
Resuelve is very well-priced, actually food is cheaper than elsewhere on the island, and it is worth it. I highly recommend this place. Don't come to Vieques and miss an opportunity to eat quality traditional Puerto Rican food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyturned40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were the only non-Puerto Ricans in the place, which was nice, and they were friendly and patient with our lack of Spanish and general confusion. Order at the counter, and then be patient. The food was fresh and good, and it was fun being in a non-touristic family place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and really enjoyed the local food. It's a bit intimidating if you don't speak Spanish - I can basically interpret a menu, but the result was some good fresh fish, rice and beans at a reasonable price. Unlike many places, not much is in English and no prices are listed, and the locals get bumped to the front of the line. The girl at the counter greeted us with "what do you want" and when we didn't answer immediately, went to a local, so I was a little l peaved at first, but tried to take it into account since the US Navy used their island for a bombing range for 50 years.
I would have gone 4 stars because of that, but my wife said 5. Everything improved after that, and all in all it was a good experience. If you want some real local flavor, stop here.
I feel like the prices fluctuate based on who you are. When I went up to pay at the end, she said $35 for 2 fish meals, fried shrimp and a shrimp empanada so it was a good value, but I didn't see any itemized bill or anyone else paying more than a couple dollars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super-fun escape from tourists”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We really enjoyed getting away from our fellow tourists (not that there is anything wrong with that). Nice covered patio stays cool, good music, and yummy food. Our son ate two shrimp empanadas, genuinely delicious. A yucca thing stuffed with meat was also delicious. The conch salad was a little goopy with the vinaigrette, but interesting at least. Rice and beans were fine. Very fun. Also, tons of food for four for $23.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joral50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go where the locals go!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

El Resuelve is a welome break from the higher end (and somewhat overpriced) restaurants favored by tourists. It's a local place with a bar and patio for dining. No table service so you just give your order to the bartender and they call your name to pick it up. Paper plates & plastic forks. But you will not be disappointed if you are looking for authentic Puerto Rican cuisine, and some of the best mofongo on Vieques. Fun, friendly, good food, local flavor. Enjoy a nice grilled snapper and a couple cervesa medallas!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Resuelve also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Resuelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing