We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and environment--slow service”
Review of El Resuelve

El Resuelve
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value and environment--slow service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

El Resuelve offers lots of very authentic Puerto Rican dishes, and the prices are very reasonable--good thing, in that the prices are not even written on the greaseboard menu. My wife, two teenage daughters and I ordered 5 or 6 things so as to try a lot of things (total including a couple soda pops was $42). The pechuga rellena (stuffed chicken breast) was very good, the sauteed fish fillet (sole or snapper) was great, and the chuleta (grilled pork chop) had great taste but was way overcooked. No matter what you order, get the rice and beans with it, which were good. I also got the plain mofongo, which was--surprise!--plain. Get seafood or pork mofongo instead. The service was really slow--belly-up eating counters double as order and pickup windows, and the young lady working the area had several customers just as confused as I was and waiting for a long time just to order. But we had all night and nowhere to go, so no big deal. That aside, we loved the atmosphere--outdoor tables, food served on paper plates, friendly people, and, although I'm a fluent Spanish speaker, I think we were the only native English speakers there that night. El Resuelve appears to be a solid local hangout where you can get good food for a good price and be around nice people with no pretenses. I will definitely eat there again the next time we visit Vieques.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    46
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious Puerto Rican food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This little road side place is not to be overlooked. We stopped and had one of the best dinners on the island. Whole fish was yummy lightly coated with a slightly spicy thin coating and deep fried. It was moist and delicious but not greasy at all. The churrasco ( skirt steak) was melt in your mouth with onions and peppers. I had a side of yuca ( potato like veggie) and tostones ( sweet plantains). Try the empanadas....crab and chicken are great. They also had fish and conch. Overall, great food, good service. No frills kinda place, you eat using plastic utensils and styrofoam plates. Go to the window and order and pick up your own food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalayne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Definitely stop here for lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you have a rental car, make the short trip to this place. Be sure to read the hand-written menu on the board as they have all kinds of local stuff. The pastellitos are really good and they have all kinds. And cheap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Overcooked. Maybe we got the tourist price?”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Cute side of the road place we would usually enjoy. Food took forever, staff was indifferent, fish was inedibly overcooked. Price for a lunch plate, not listed on menu, was shocking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Another food stop with Kelly and Cheo”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious salted cod with salsa & fried plantains! Had to try the mofongo with fish, & some local fried pastries stuffed with chicken, beef, or crab and a fried potato ball stuffed with beef. Very tasty & original. Again, Kelly (of Vieques Insider) & Cheo didn't steer us wrong. I love to eat where the locals go.

Helpful?
Thank Mich0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Resuelve also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Resuelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing