We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat to see”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neat to see”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great beach to see something different. Not a swimming beach and there is a hike to get to it. Not worth bringing a ice chest too as you will likely only be there for a couple of hours. Pack light and enjoy the geology.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BRTiger1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    86
    45
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“worth the hike to get to!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It took us a little while to find this spot! Even after parking and heading towards what we thought was it, we were still unsure. You actually follow a road wide enough to drive on (I was looking for a little path) that has been carved out. Along the left side for the first 1/3 of the way, are man made walls of black rock and chicken wire. At one point a tree lays across the road and you have to climb over~ My husband was sure we were lost! We startled a wild horse and numerous sand crabs along the way. We could hear bees buzzing, but never saw them. At one point we passed another couple on their way out so we knew we were headed the right direction. There are no signs anywhere once you park. After a good 1/2 mile hike, we began to hear the ocean rolling in. Wow, what an amazing site! I wouldn't choose to go here for the day b/c it would be hard work to carry everything in, but it is definitely worth seeing! The sand glitters and was just beautiful. I had never seen a black sand beach before! We were told it is at its best right after a rain, but when we went it hadn't rained for the 5 days we had been there, and it was still magnificent to see!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AN6pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not much to see.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We came here wanting to see black sand. Unfortunately, most of the black sand has washed away by the time we arrived. However, it was still a nice to see the black sand.

Outside of that, there was not much beach to setup a place to sit. It was also hard to find. I am sure the locals have no problem finding the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Although its a bit of a hike to the beach, it is SOOO worth it! We were the only couple on the beach...we had all this beauty to ourselves! We would definitely go back in a heartbeat. MUST SEE!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“For Beach Connoisseurs and Appreciators of Nature...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I'm pretty stunned by the negative reviews for this beach. This is the third black sand beach I've been to (the first in Greece, the second in St. Lucia) and this was hands down the softest, most incredible black sand I've ever experienced. It is a haul to get here, and it is not your traditional "sit around and splash in the surf" kind of beach, but it is spectacular in its own right and shouldn't be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing