We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Mary and Hector!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hector's by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank you, Mary and Hector!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Mary and Hector couldn't have been kinder, more welcoming or accommodating to us and their hospitality was only rivaled by the incredible location of their property. I don't think I've ever seen more beautiful sunsets anywhere in the world. Horses roam the area and everywhere you look there is another unique and breath-taking view of the ocean. We particularly enjoyed time on the patio of our casita, swinging in the hammock and drinking coffee in the mornings. There is a large open air dining area overlooking the ocean that is catered for dinner two nights a week which was a special treat. This is relatively new offering and the service was a bit challenged but given the fantastic location and the fact that we only had to walk across the yard to get there, it was a definite thumbs up. We also really liked exploring and watching horses on the beach which was so unspoiled and strikingly beautiful, complete with hand-build rock cairns, lots of sea glass and intriguing tidal pools. The swimming pool and hot tub are pristine and lovely and were a welcome respite from a day at the beach. Some folks have commented on the road up to the property, but we didn't find it difficult to drive at all. The location is very convenient to Esperanza and many restaurants and beaches but you feel a world away when you are at Hector's. All in all, an exceptional experience and a real pleasure to make the acquaintance of such terrific folks.

Room Tip: We loved our casita near the ocean cliff and the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
141
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband were here on our honeymoon and had a blast!! Hector is a really great guy, helped us a lot with directions, advice and evrything else we needed. We stayed in both mango room and vistamar, rooms were clean, scenery is beautiful, pure paradise! We spent most of our evenings having a drink in the jacuzzi and watching the stars. The place is soooo quite, the sound of the waves is the only noise in the area. We will be back this year again for sure!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were met, when we approached Hector’s by the Sea, by an imposing gentleman with soft eyes who could have just stepped out of a Graham Greene or Hemingway novel. In a soft spoken voice Hector toured us over his beautiful, splendidly isolated verdant paradise which juts out into the Caribbean Sea. With just three units, Hector’s by the Sea wraps one in singular isolation ensconced with gorgeous views of Esperanza Harbor and the Caribbean Sea. After touring the island of Vieques, and viewing the other accommodations of the island, we would find it inconceivable to consider any other venue, other than Hector’s by the Sea. The natural nature of the access road into Hector’s definitely suggests renting a 4-wheel drive vehicle. Indeed a 4-wheel drive vehicle is also recommended when visiting the beautiful Blue Beach and Red Beach of Vieques and the other remote splendors of the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in Casita #1 (Mango Casita) for 6 nights December 2013-January 2014. We felt very safe and secure at Hector's. The hammock on the balcony and views of pasture and ocean were divine. The road to Hector's is very rutted and was a challenge to find in the dark on our first night. A jeep or 4WD is an absolute must if you stay here. Its location is perfect for exploring the island.

We rarely saw the other guests or Hector during our stay, so it felt very private. We even had the hot tub to ourselves every night before bed. There is a lovely ocean view at the edge of the property and if you are feeling adventurous, you can scramble down the rocks to the narrow beach below and walk a good distance. Hector's three horses roam the property during the day and are friendly.

Casita #1 was very basic, but clean and comfortable. Linens are changed every 3-4 days, depending on the length of your stay. It was nice to have a small refrigerator for drinks and the option of an air conditioner at night. The provided beach chairs, beach towels, drying rack, flashlight, and small cooler were nice touches. A previous reviewer already mentioned the only real "downsides" to the property: #1: The music from the Malecon carries across the ocean to Hector's and plays late into the night, so it is not quite as peaceful and quiet as you might expect. #2: The clear slats on the glass door do not allow for any privacy, but you can hang a towel/sarong over the door to correct this. #3: The hot water in Casita #1 is very temperamental/sporadic.

We will stay at Hector's again if we return to Vieques in the future and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Casita #1 is the most private room and has a private balcony with hammock and ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettyflowerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good quiet retreat it is. Hosts are nice. Horses are adorable. Rooms are spacious and clean. Went to have breakfast at Blue Horizon - they had very good food with extremely slow service....

The bad parts: No sign to indicate location of the B&B on the main road. No directions from the host (the entrance is at km 4.5 in case you decide to stay here). The approach road has deep deep ruts. The gate needs to be opened and closed each time you enter the property, so you have to get out of the car and dirty your hands - rain or shine. Bathroom is not enclosed; the walls are not up to ceiling so it is as if there is a solid partition between your bedroom and the bathroom. Water pressure was miserable, did not get hot water during our two day stay. No blinds or curtains on any doors or windows. The front door has translucent panes that open up to get air in - but since these panes do not provide privacy. At night I am sure that whatever you do is visible from the outside. Music from Blue Horizon may be a plus or a minus when you are trying to sleep (depending on your personality). At some point in spite of the mosquito screens, small bug/mosquito got into our room and bit me on the face, ended up with bumps on face and neck in the morning to complete the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeemCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We recently had a family get together with our adult children at Hector's and Mary's and it could not have been more perfect. We had all three guest rooms which made our stay like a private retreat. Hector and Mary have a beautiful pavilion overlooking the sea - this was our family headquarters. A great place for hanging out playing games, reading or just staring out at the beautiful sea. Their horses roamed the grounds and provided added character to our surroundings. We hiked along the beach and were met by wild horses along our trek. i will never forget looking up on this isolated stretch of beach and seeing three wild horses running along the shore!
Mary and Hector could not have been more inviting and we loved having them join us for our daughter's birthday celebration in the "club house". Hector brought fresh coconuts and made us drinks with the coconut milk!
Thanks Mary and Hector for making our family trip so memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keuka48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My fiance and I loved staying with Mary & Hector at Hector's by the sea. The property is just down the road from Hacienda Tamarindo, closer to the ocean and much more private. The grounds were beautiful and the room was comfortable and well appointed. Hector and Mary's horses roamed the property and sometimes greeted us the morning and we enjoyed drinking coffee on our porch and watching the sunset.

The location is just a short drive (a few minutes) to Esperanza where all of the action is. Aside from providing great accommodations, Hector & Mary were wonderful hosts, checking in on us, making great recommendations for restaurants and activities on the island, and even sharing a drink with us on the pavilion that they built for their own son's wedding. They all of this without making us feel like we lacked privacy. All in all this was a magnificent stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloriDeLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hector's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hector's by the Sea

Property: Hector's by the Sea
Address: Puerto Real | HC-02 Box 14008, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hector`s By The Sea Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing