We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esperanza Inn
Nearby Hotels
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hix Island House(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
219
65
11
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
65
11
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolmango treebeach equipmentshared kitchenanimal loverspuerto ricosun bayboogie boardssitting areahumane societyhard boiled eggscouple of nightsvisiting viequesbioluminescent baygrocery storegreen beachrental car
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We just got back from staying at the Esperanza Inn and it was fantastic! Great location, clean and friendly, definitely a great value for your travel dollar. Would highly recommend!
It quick 2 minute walk to the bars, beach and restaurants
Quiet location with all the comforts of home
Helpful owners that can give you directions, suggestions and help you rent bikes, kayaks etc.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coethiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

At the last minute, my boyfriend and I decided to spend a few days in Vieques and were lucky enough to be able to reserve La Casita at Esperanza Inn for 2 nights. La Casita is a small cottage that is separate from the main building. Neither of us had ever been to Vieques before, but from the photos on the website for Esperanza Inn, the place looked like a nice place to stay. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised as the Inn offered more than we had anticipated.

We took the last ferry to Vieques, and didn't arrive until after 6pm which is when the office typcially closes. The Innkeeper, Jay, stayed late to wait for us to check in. He was very friendly upon our arrival, and showed us around the property. The Casita where we stayed in beautiful. It is small and cozy and offers privacy for a couple traveling together. It is newly remodeled and decorated nicely with a double bed, private shower, and air conditioning. The property is secured with a locked gate, and can only be accessed by people staying at the Inn. When staying there you have access to the pool, a grill, a fully equipped kitchen, and beach equipment. It was nice to be able to bring food to cook out, and not have to worry about bringing any utensils or cooking necessities.

The location of the Inn is perfect. It is in walking distance to all of the restaurants and bars on the Malecon and also within walking distance of the beautiful beaches of Sun Bay (although it is a long walk, and some may prefer to take a taxi). The Innkeeper, Jay, provided us with great information on the restaruants and bars as well as the Biobay tours which are very popular when staying in Vieques. Jay was again very friendly and also candid with us as he told us his honest opinion on the quality of food and the prices that the restaurants offered. We found the information helpful and enjoyed all of the places he recommended. Jay also let us store our luggage after we checked out on our last day so that we could go to the beach for the day before taking the last ferry off the island. We really appreciated being able to have a secure place to store our belongings so we could enjoy yet another day on the island.

Overall, we had an absolutely great time in Vieques and at the Esperanza Inn. We will definitely return to the island, and will only stay at the Esperanza Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlover2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Just came back from our first visit to Vieques. Being a local we ask around to some friends and family and the name of Esperanza Inn came up more than enough for us to give it try....Lucky us we had a great time and realize that the location, service, cleanliness and facilities where part of what it makes this place a great place to stay.
We look foward to our next visit to Vieques and for sure will stay again in the Esperanza Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuertoRicoLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My family (and a second family) just returned from our first visit to Vieques. The Esperanza Inn really helped make the vacation a great one. Betweeen the 8 of us, we rented both the 2 and 1 bedroom apartments.The apartments had a nice kitchen, access to great sun decks, a pool, and very productive mango trees. The Innkeepers were very friendly and full of great tips for enjoying the Island. The small pool was perfect for cooling off in, and the location was very convenient with a bakery and two small grocery stores a block away. The beaches are very close, but i would recommend renting a car to allow for exploring the more distant ones. This Inn was really a find-- I highly recommmend it as a comfortable, attractive and safe base for a Vieques vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastTennesseeDave59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Recently my husband and I (Puerto Rico local residents) decided to support our local tourism and spent a weekend getaway with our two kids (9yr boy and 4yr girl) in our sister island of Vieques. I choose the Esperanza Inn as result of my Internet search. On the Good side, it is a well kept place, clean and within a walking distance to the Malecon tourist's area. On the bad side, THEY Don't Treat Well Local Guest. First, The Innkeeper does not speak our Main language, Spanish. Fortunately , my husband and I are Bilingual. At the arriving and after checking inn our kids wanted to enjoy the pool right away. Later, my hubby but told me that he was feeling "uncomfortable " because the employee told him (more than once) that besides showering they "should wash their feet before entering the pool" and they already have done it. Besides the pool, we only use the facilities to sleep because we went there to enjoy the island. We love the Bio Bay kayaking experience, the Malecon tourist / dining area and Sun Bay beach. Our last day, we WALK (15 min.) to the beautiful Sun Bay beach area. Our daughter lose her sandals so we spent a little extra time looking for it and we lose track of time. At 11:08 AM we receive a phone call from our Innkeeper telling us in a "FIRM and STRICT tone" that "she was taking our personal belongings out of the room because we past the check out time". I ask her for a late check out FEE which "was not available because she has to clean the room for other guest". We arrive by WALKING WITH TWO KIDS, to the facility at 11:17 a.m. just TO found our luggage OUT of the room. The Innkeeper "offer us " an outside bathroom. My son was looking for a lanter the crew of the Bio Bay Kayaking has given him and SHE does not allow him to enter and suggest that we should look at the trash. In other word, the trip end with a bad taste feeling!! I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT WE PAST THE CHECK OUT TIME (ONLY BY MINUTES A PART), BUT THE INNKEEPER COULD CHARGE US AN EXTRA FEE FOR THAT EXTRA HOUR AND NOT KICK US OUT LIKE THAT. THAT IS NOT A RESPECTFUL WAY TO TREAT A GUEST!!! By the way, there was not incoming guest waiting, and the check in time was a 3PM so she has plenty of time to clean the room. I most certainly will not recommend this place to a friend!! And to the Innkeeper, If you are not treating local guest respectfully, the same way as you treat "foreign" guest, you should pack your business manner and go back to your country!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiceGirlBayamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews