We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and great retreat”
Review of Great Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Escape
Ranked #16 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Situated on a hilltop this place is beautiful with amazing views. You can't see the sea but house less than 10 min away from SunBay beach. The restuarant strip Esperanza is 5 min away. Donna and Gary were very helpful with their suggestions. Breakfast was good. If you like being secluded and away from the crowd this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayaST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the perfect place if you want peace and quiet and would like to truly know what a relaxing vacation is. The hotel is set on a hilltop with beautiful views, has a very nice pool and an honor bar to use to unwind after a long day on the beach and exploring the island. Gary the groups keeper was awesome, very nice and friendly. Dana the owner was great, very kind and inviting. She helped us get a rental car which you definitely need to go to the beaches and into town and for dinner. Complimentary breakfast was a nice way to start the day. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, ours had a beautiful wrap around balcony which was nice to sit out on and overlook the views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PacificaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we recently returned from our stay at this wonderful place. The rooms are all beautifully maintained...ours had an extremely high ceiling and was very big with its own wrap around terrace. Gary - the grounds keeper and handyman was an absolute gentlemen.We had the pleasure of meeting Dana on our last day and she was very charming and nice as well. I would highly recommend staying at this place over the other hotels or bb's because it is a little remote from the Isabella and Esprenza and offers peace and quiet - we were rarely at the hotel except for the mornings and when we were going to bed. It gets pretty noisy down there, especially on the weekends. With the savings, do yourself a favor and rent a jeep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I traveled here in January 2014 with my family (ages 23 to 65+) and fell in love! What was truly amazing was watching my dad finally get a break and being able to relax. Dana is a firecracker and very knowledgeable about the area. My family loved and appreciated Gary's hard work and by the end of the stay, we wanted to make him a part of the family :)

Rooms and bed are very comfortable and the pool is perfect for splashing around. Breakfast is no frills eggs, bread, cereal, juice, coffee, and fresh fruit from the garden. The grounds are full of quirky little decorations and there's a wooden tree swing in the back. The grass is well kept and shoes are optional. I'm 24 and was rooming with my 23yr old cousin and after the initial shock of no TV or Internet we really appreciated the piece and quite (plus, our phones still worked so we weren't 100% disconnected).

Random but spectacular, we saw two double rainbows (um yes, we did make our own double rainbow movie!!) while at the Great Escape... we took it as a sign that we were right where we were supposed to be.

Thank-you Dana and Gary and the whole family wishes you the best!!

Room Tip: This place is best for down to earth people who are looking for an escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFromVA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great Escape was just that - an escape from the cold and stress - to a beautiful and relaxing bed & breakfast. Our room was very comfortable, the grounds and pool were very pretty. Dana was very helpful and helped us choose where to go for snorkeling, or quiet beaches. Gary was also accommodating and worked hard all day keeping the place beautiful. This is not a fancy hotel - but don't come to Vieques if that's what you are looking for. Great Escapes is located just far enough from the main restaurant/bar scene so you can get back and forth but relax in a very quiet and beautiful space. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were room 6 so our balcony looked out on the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great Escape was the pinnacle of our stay in Puerto Rico. We spent 4 days in Vieques and another 3 in San Juan. Great Escape was blissful beyond all words. I cannot express enough how much we enjoyed Dana and Gary. They are wonderful. They help to accommodate al of your needs. By the end of our trip, we felt like family. My wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon and needed some much needed R&R&R (Rest, Relaxation, Reconnection). Great Escape certainly helped us achieve that. We were so rested. Long story short...if you are looking to recharge your batteries, take in Vieques undisturbed, get away from it all, and have an authentic experience, stay here and have no regrets.

Room Tip: Email Dana, the owner, and let her know what you need or are looking for. She is very kind and accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

So wonderful that we just had to change our itinerary to stay one more day. Donna was very accommodating and we didn't want to leave. Gary was the best. He took great care of our needs and worked hard everyday to make the place perfect! Must stay place...you won't regret!

Room Tip: room two has a great balcony to over looks the back yard and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 833lynnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
2.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
397 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape

Address: HC-02 Box 14,501, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Escape Bed & Breakfast Inn is located on a hilltop on 3.8 acres of land in La Llave, Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. Almost constant trade winds make for a temperature several degrees cooler than in the towns. There are 10 modern guestrooms and 1 apartment with one bedroom, which, via connecting doors can be rented as a 2 or 3 bedroom. Continental Breakfast is served poolside daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Great Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing