We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa La Lanchita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa La Lanchita
Certificate of Excellence
New City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went to this place based on trip advisor reviews, and we were glad we did. We also had a 20 minute phone conversation with Carrie that sealed the deal. We flew in from San Juan airport and took a cab to the hotel. It is perched on a cliff on the beach and the views and sounds of the ocean were amazing. The hosts are so easy going and pleasant. They provided the rental car and helped with our driving plans. We happened to have super weather and took advantaged of the AC in the room, that worked very well. They provide you with everything you need for the beach and we did a lot of exploring of the island. We also loved the swimming pool. I jogged ever morning into town and then up to the fort to see the views. Town and ferry are only about a mile away. Be aware that the ferries are notoriously unreliable and late. There were people on our 11 am ferry who probably missed their 3 pm flight out of San Juan, since the ferry was delayed for 2 hours. Luckily we were not in any hurry. If we had to do it again we would fly to Fajardo, instead of taking the ferry. I also by mistake left my iPhone in the room after check out and when we were driving away Carrie ran after us and gave it to me. I am grateful for that.

Room Tip: We were in unit 3 known as honey moon suite. It is a great room. Very private. Kitchen is great too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    33
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
86
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I cannot imagine finding a more perfect place to stay. When we arrived, our hosts greeted us with a cool beverage. The view from every room of this inn is breathtaking. We were able to rent a car and borrow snorkling equipment, an ice chest, and beach chairs. As you sit in the pool, you overlook the ocean. It is very quiet. The owners are so accommodating. They will offer you advice tailored to make your trip to the island exactly what you dream of. I wouldn't consider looking for another place on a repeat visit. Thankful I have 2 more nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband was working on Vieques Island for a few weeks and stayed here the entire time. I was lucky enough to be able to stay with him for a couple of those weeks. The owners & staff of Casa La Lanchita are absolutely wonderful & so helpful. We truly enjoyed their company as well. I miss walking to the Office to see Doug and Mary Kay (owners) everyday as I just loved being around them. I also met some wonderful "new friends" who were also staying their as Guests. They will pick you up from the ferry, you can get a rental car while staying there (nice SUV's too) & they always have information about the island that is always useful. The owners & staff are very well respected people on the island & are staples in the community too. Casa La Lanchita has a beautiful pool with the most amazing front row view of the ocean. The ground are beautifully kept and so well detailed. The rooms are very spacious with cable TV & air. Plus each room has its own patio furniture. You'll never wanna go inside...:) It's just absolutely amazing.
Great people, great place to stay, just perfect. I wouldn't stay anywhere else ever. Ty so much Casa La Lanchita for making my stay perfect in every way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therg713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We loved our vacation rental at La Lanchita. Awesome Ocean location with terrific views of BOTH sunsets and sunrises overlooking the ocean. The pool was right outside our door alongside the ocean. we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and it was very spacious w/ one bedroom having a private bath both baths had walk in tiled showers. Hosts were on sight always available and very gracious and helpful. Excellent knowledge of the island. The best part was the small cove along side where the waves did not break near the beach so swimming was great and snorkeling along the rocky edge in front of La Lanchita was good...visibility was not perfect but good enough. My grandson and I snorkeled and saw lots of sealife and even a small reef shark. One MAJOR amenity we wanted was a beach right off the hotel we can easily swim and snorkel in, this was the only affordable beach available that met that desire. We took our 10 year old grandson for his first ocean dive to Vieques with Isla Nena Scuba (did review for them as well) and had an awesome experience. The best beach for snorkeling and swimming we found was green beach! Very quiet and lots of fish with decent visibility. Delightful snorkeling was also along the rock ledge to the Mosquito Pier...LOTS of fish, turtles, etc. We LOVED our Vieques Island. We also LOVED the Mahi at the 'Tradewinds' and must try the frozen Key Lime Pie, 'to die for'. The Ceviche at the Quenpo was exceptional as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, there are stairs so may not be good for handicap accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovindivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I'm from P.R, I never been in Vieques island , so we went this june 1 to june 5th, it was a great experience, the room is great it has fans in the sealing and a/c the beds are conftuble
, the room has a kitchen were you can cook if you want, the bath room is huge and the have towels and pool towels in the room, it was very clean, the owner Doug , speaks inglish and is very nice with the people. the pool is great it has a great view to the beach that is down stairs and you can walk around, is very safe too, the have parking, so its nice to getaway take some sun or just relax with the family or couple like us. I higly recommend this great place is one of the vest of Vieques the island is little so you can go any were and enjoy it!! in the reception they have maps of the roads an of Fort conde Marisol , is very cool you shold go, and pleas see the sund coming down is beautiful with a glas of wine!! I want to go back sooooo!!

Room Tip: almost all rooms look at the pool and beach , great view for great price!! big and space bath and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boricua312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This place is amazing! There are lots of option on this tiny island, for us, this was perfect. It is on the Isabel side of the island so you have to drive to the beaches but that is perfect since it's fun to explore this great place. Doug makes this all so easy. He has a fleet of SUVs for use at a price that is superb compared to the car rental companies. Our room was great. It was big, homey, had an awesome patio on the water. The pool is beautiful, too. You have use of beach chairs, towels, coolers, anything you'd need for a great beach day. He also picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry. We would go back to Vieques just to stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 3 was phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Doug was amazing! He picked us up from the ferry and we rented a car from him too. We booked room 3 with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. The pool was beautiful. He gives you everything from towels and beach chairs to beach and restaurant information. We would go back to Vieques just to stay with him again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.2 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.8 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Lanchita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Lanchita

Property: Casa La Lanchita
Address: Bravos de Boston, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Casa La Lanchita Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing