We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feeling at home in Esperanza!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
The Great Room has lots of seating & different areas to hang out in. Gaming table, dining table and bar counter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
The Great Room has lots of seating & different areas to hang out in.
Gaming table, dining table and bar counter
Queen back bedroom with banana trees out both windows.
Queen Bedroom
King Bedroom
King Bedroom
Kitchen fully outfitted
Newly renovated bathroom
Welcome to CASITA ROSITA with its lush tropical yard
The gate keeps the wild horses out.
Vieques is full of wildlife: from frogs to dogs, horses to turtles, roosters to cats, fish to crab
Backyard with view of water
Water view of he Carribean sea a block away
Big Back Decks with lots of seating.
Pick bananas from the walkway around to backdeck and entrance.
Walkway from outdoor shower to front of house
Large outdoor shower includes dry seating area, hooks & shelves.
The outdoor shower is surrounded by banana trees.
Big back deck
Laying in the hammock looking at the water
You can always hang up the hammock!
Under the shade of the Mango Tree
Shady front porch with lots of seating
Front porch with couch, chairs and cafe table
View through the front porch blooms of the Mina tree, native to PR, prized by locals.
Horses out on the street as seen through front door of Casita Rosita
Market right around the corner, Bakery next too
We are 3 doors up from coastal rd., 1 blk. to nearest beach, caretakers house seen on right side.
Promenade along the sea 1 blk. frm CASITA ROSITA
Great place to walk and hang out
And across the street are teh 9 restaurants & bars in the neighborhood
Sit by the water and see the island and fishing boats
One of many beaches near the house: on Esperanza & Sun Bays
Wild horses roam the island. Colts are common.
Malecon promenande in our neighborhood.
Lazy Jacks 3 blks away from Casita Rosita.
There's shade when you need it on most of our 20+ beaches.
Organic market on Tuesdays & Wednesdays by the GE Plant.
Ferry dock in Vieques: 'publico' taxi vans meet all ferrys except the last one of the night.
Ferry coming into Vieques in the Isabel Segunda town bay.
These are the roots of the Ceiba Tree
La Chiva Beach in Refuge
Horses in the Sun Bay state park meadow--beach just beyond
Old Lighthouse Well: sights of Vieques
Blue Beach/La Chiva Beach in Refuge
Great Views from the Marisol Fort Museum
Cabanas at Blue Beach, La Chiva, in the refuge.
Love BLUE BEACH
Dozens of beaches in Vieques to choose from
Fort Marisol Museum is free and hosts events open to the public
The Malecon promenade at night
Malecon at day.
Vieques Parade
The furthest beach going past SunBay
Tired Baby Horse at Sunbay with Mama
Bananas on the Malecon has is one of my new favorites under a new chef/ownership.
Draw Wildflower of Vieques Vacation package available
Hang out a the W Resort at dusk for happy hour & the outdoor fire
Vendors on the Esperanza promenade that is called 'Malecon' in Spanish.
Esperanza Bay is our one of two major bays in our neighborhood, including private beaches & coves.
our 'boardwalk' right in the neighborhood is made of concrete, and looks out over the water.
Daily specials at Duffy's in the neighborhood.
Fresh fish is aplenty in the neighborhood.
Welcome to CASITA ROSITA
King front Bedroom
Games, books, puzzles, beach gear and more
Casita Rosita is thoroughly outfitted
Dining Room & Kitchen combo
Mango season in the back yard
Banana trees all over the yard
Ornamental wall out front & the lush front yard garden
CASITA ROSITA glows with life & tropical energy even at night.
Hang out, eat, lounge, read in the privacy created by the tropical front yard.
Home Sweet Home
Shower among the banana trees.
You got our number!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie M
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Esperanza!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Casita Rosita! Our favorite part was the outdoor spaces - beautiful & very well maintained! The backyard was picturesque, private and it felt very homey to us. We didn't even use the shower inside! The fruits weren't ripe but boy were the trees pretty...we also loved all the neighborhood cats.

The house itself was great and had *everything* we could want..sunscreen, beach stuff, kitchen items and on and on. I sincerely appreciate the thought Rosie put into all those items as our first rental was lacking in amenities. The washer and dryer was a must with everything ending up damp or sandy everyday and we actually took advantage of the clothesline in the backyard.

We enjoyed the island and all the beautiful beaches it has to offer and it was so nice coming "home" at the end of the day. All the people were so nice - caretaker Ivonne was the sweetest lady, happy to show us around the house and the neighborhood!

The location of Casita Rosita can't be beat! The store (Colmado Lydia) was literally around the corner from the house (we visited almost everyday) and as you can see the water from the backyard, it's proximity to the ocean and the strip of restaurants was great. We spent 2 days at Sun Bay, only a 15 minute walk from our door. The rest of the beaches we drove to with our rental or hired out a taxi for a drop off & pick up. As driving on the island is a little crazy, we would recommend the use of a taxi but we were ultimately happy we chose to rent a Jeep for 2 days in order to explore the island on our own time.

Casita Rosita felt like home and it was evident that Rosie made a great effort to make it such. You can leave your blowdryer, bugspray and sunscreen at home and focus on a great vacation with Casita Rosita as your home base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: The reach of the A/C. While it was awesome to have, it wasn't much felt in the bedrooms and we had a hard time sleeping some nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The whole family loved it.”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family loved Casita Rosita. We’ve been to Vieques before and decided to stay close to the water this time cause we couldn’t rent a car. My son and daughter loved it. It was great place for all of us to relax in a great location. Easy logistics, great neighborhood/house—loved the washer/dryer, snorkel gear for all of us, boogie boards, the big outdoor hot shower, the horses walking by, making blender drinkers and sitting on the front and back porches, the breeze coming through the windows. The place was really outfitted more than the ones we stayed in before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hanging out on the porch with my lovely wife.
Liked least: I didn't like the pillows because many of them were too fluffy.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockwell1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Enchanting Island Getaway”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I strongly recommend Casita Rosita to anyone who wants to experience the beauty and wonder of Vieques in accommodations other than a sterile resort hotel. The home is located just a few blocks from beautiful beaches in a community filled with warm and friendly neighbors. The house is clean, well maintained and equipped with modern appliances. The backyard patio area is especially noteworthy. I spent many an hour there reading and enjoying the tropical ambience among its lush plantings. I highly recommend this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of home. Backyard.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose S
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a charming cottage! So romantic and comfortable!”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Casita Rosita's. It is the perfect place to stay for a romantic get-away! Everything is provided, including boogie boards, and a great selection of snorkeling gear with fins in many sizes. We didn't have to do much planning because everything is an easy walk. The bed was so comfortable, and we slept particularly well. The kitchen is well stocked, with condiments and basic food supplies, and there is papaya tree and banana trees in the yard. Every morning we had fresh papaya and bananas for a lovely breakfast on the big back porch. Rosie, our hostess, was very helpful and nice. Next time we hope to bring our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The charming decor
Liked least: The mangos were not in season...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California, United States
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jnoel4007
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
“Perfect spot! Walking distance from everything!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was absolutely perfect for our stay. I was traveling with a few friends and all of us were extremely pleased. The cottage was walking distance from both the beach and all the restaurants. There was even a guide for the island in the cottage. I was also excited to find snorkeling gear, taxi information (for our ride to and from the ferry), and spare beach towels. I would definitely stay in this cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASETS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great, great place to stay with just a couple of minor setbacks”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

To facilitate the review experience, I have divided the review into the PRO's, the CON's and the "IN-BETWEENS:
PRO's:
1.Home is spacious enough for our party ( 2 adults, two teenagers) and once I saw the kids were pleased, I knew everything would be OK. OUr kids were a little too grown to share a bed so we deployed an inflatable bed which did the trick. The nights were breezy and fresh , but we could use the air conditioners in the room if we wanted to. Additionally, the living room area had a wonderful AC that was great after spending all day out in the beach and sun.
2.The kitchen and especially the bathroom are extremely well stocked. There is hardly anything that you could not find in either room- from personal hygiene items to over-the-counter medicines, all to your disposition. It seemed customary to use them and leave some behind for others' use after yourselves was sort of an unspoken nice rule. There is washer and dryer in the back of the house and later I found out there is a built-in, enclosed shower for after a beach trip, perfect for washing off the salty water and refreshing after a sunny day.
3.Yvonne the manager- an icon of local hospitality, she met us at the house to help us set up. Yvonne is a Vieques local, super attentive neighbor hostess that would take care of absolutely anything you need with an amazing disposition. She will bring you local fruits and will attend to your needs immediately. She is also a neighbor down the road so often times we stopped to ask her about various things and she charmingly would help us, or even her family. She also makes delicious "flan" of 3-4 different flavors- we ordered two the last day but couldn't enjoy them as she had a day trip to Puerto Rcio that day. They come in family and personal sizes, you should try them!
4.The food places were great and close by- we went often to Belly Buttons. I wanted the family to have local latin food but to respect their needs, we visited Belly Buttons often. We loved the music and the food was super tasty. The owners and employees were great with us and very hospitable. The last day we chose another restaurant to have the taste of local food and was great.
5. The house is also at walking distance- around the corner from the house at about 100 meters or less- to the local grocery (which had nostalgic snacks you don't find not even in amazon) and bakery shops, and everything for the house. It carried a large variety of Goya products, which are my favorites. So I was pleased.
CON's:
1.The sounds of the neighborhood may not be for everybody. My family and I were most of the day out and about and would come back to close the house to air conditioning. At night my family was too exhausted to notice much of what went on in the neighborhood after hours even when we didn't use the air conditioner in the rooms, and being the only one awake and sleeping closer to the street, I picked up most of the sounds. I grew up in Puerto Rico so it was no surprise but for those that may be expecting quiet, this was my experience- I had a neighbor that seemingly had a fairly loud parrot that would on occasion go off at night- and both during the Saturday and Sunday we stayed, there was party-like loud music playing from what seemed like the front neighbor but likely beyond- it played until after midnight and especially after Saturday, was followed by loud rapper music until perhaps 3-4 AM. I am not sure if this happens every weekend or if it was just our weekend but, lIke I said before, you may be too exhausted and sleep through it but it may be a bit of a setback for light sleepers.
2. A second issue that again some may ignore or not is a front neighbor with several dogs which several times during the day or night would loudly quarrel amongst themselves. Again, that is the experience of living in a PR/Vieques neighborhood and take it at face value if you want to have the PR/Vieques local living experience, but not for those that are expecting hotel/resort-type night quiet.
3.The house is unbelievably well stocked with pretty much everything anybody could need in a vacation by the beach. We did have a couple of unfortunate situations. PLease beware that there are racquet-like items for mosquito repellence which are actually mosquito zappers. My son thought it was a sports racquet and started handling it as such without knowing that a little button on the handle would activate an electric shock that inadvertently a person who doesn't know the item might experience.It must have been intense at he screamed like I though he had hurt himself like a cut or a fall. I was a bit disconcerted that the handles were not labeled with some kind of attention-getter kind of message like "Not a sports item, do not touch the grid/mesh while activated or you will be shocked" etc etc. Even when I saw it I thought it was some kind of weird sports racquet, and never would have suspected it was for mosquito zapping, let alone an electrical grid in it. This problem may already have been addressed since our visit but, if not handled yet by owner, I wanted to alert you that it could be a hazard for small children, or anyone, that don't know these items in their own hometown.
4.Watch out for wild horses- they are really beautiful and interesting to watch and one of the island's proud touristic attractions. However, make sure the gate in the front of the house is completely closed once you retire at night or while you are out, or horses might actually trespass into the front of the house area. You might regret it!
in-between-
1.home is in a neighborhood- while there may be not as much privacy as I anticipated, the neighbors did not directly seem to mind us or not notice our ins and outs. However the house is nicely landscaped with local flowers and plants and is at about 100-200 meters from the beach , grocery shopand food joint.
2.There were about 4-5 kitties around the house. They are very cute and we had fun feeding them. Just a note for those that may not be fond of pets or domestic animals around during a vacation stay.

I would have given it 5:5 but I thought that, considering tourists that may have a high level of expectation from the vacation rental, they should know that this would be perfect for someone, couple or or a family who is ready to experience a local Vieques neighborhood, which I highly recommend when you come to a place like Vieques- but the neighborhood experience is not for everyone especially those with a resort- type of expectation. I know the owners have set up the house way and beyond what I had expected form a vacation rental, so keeping that in mind, the home set up and perks provided by Casita Rosita overshadows other minor setbacks you might want to know as I have explained above , although they should not deter you from pursuing a stay in Casita Rosita.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing