We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snorkeling at the pier” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosquito Pier

Mosquito Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Laguna Woods, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Snorkeling at the pier”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The visibility is <25', and there is some trash on the bottom due to the fact this is a very busy fishing and hang out area for locals. But there are several spots near large rocks on the lee side of the pier (normally the west side) very close to the roadway that has some interesting fish. I enjoyed it, but probably won't go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    76
    22
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must in everyone's bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Mosquito Pier is one of these places that you will remember fo the rest of your life. The bioluminiscency here is amazing, which combined with a sky really full of stars (including a sight of the Milky Way) and the quietness of the night is hard to beat.

The only problem is the ride once you pass Sun Bay. The government and private companies operating and profiting from the bay should get together to at least make the road decent (and without the need to pave it).

PS - We went with Island Adventures. The lady giving the tour that night was really loud and annoying. She seemed to not be aware that part of the experience is the enjoyment of the quietness at the bay. She was providing valuable information that is part of the tour, and therefore she is encouraged to learn to moderate her tone to make her delivery more friendly and in harmony with the environment we are in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sunrise Dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Ilsa Nena Divers, one of the most amazing dives -- sunrise under the sea. Tania was a hoot and wonderful dive leader. Waking up with the fishes, so cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foley al
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good snorkeling, starfish by the thousands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

snorkeled it September 2012, three days in a row, and also one day in April 2013: really nice snorkeling, loved it: also, about the crime on Vieques, take a cab to the beach and get in the water out of view from the road, because the people looking to rob and steal go down the road and look for cars sitting there-- we had no problems with crime, but lots of others have, you can access info about crime on travel.state.gov or on viequesno.com

There is no restroom, food or anything else at Mosquito pier, it is out of the way compared to the rest of the islsand.

I love Vieques island. I have never experienced crime or felt unsafe there, but can say I did notice that locals who are not somehow depending on the tourist business are not friendly to outsiders. The snorkeling is good though and we really enjoyed this beach both times we went.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecru MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Check out starfish beach while there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We didn't do a lot of hanging out at mosquito pier except to go to Starfish Beach. We heard about it but never could find it until someone told us that it was right beside the pier. When driving towards the pier, veer to the left down a little sandy road. The area to the left (the bay side) is "Starfish" beach.. There are hundreds of them and they are gorgeous! All colors and sizes. One of our favorite parts of the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosquito Pier also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
 

Been to Mosquito Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing