We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling and diving”
Review of Mosquito Pier

Mosquito Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling and diving”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is an easy place to get in the water and see plenty of wildlife. There are usually no waves and although there is some surge near the end of the pier, it is totally manageable even for kids. Very high chance of catching sight of turtles. Plenty of parking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Justy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    79
    24
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
285 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great for Scuba”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The pier is an ideal dive. There are thousands of fish and two kinds of sea turtles. We dove with 30 ft of visibility. We saw an octopus, porcupine fish, half a dozen turtles and large schools of fish. One of my best dives.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank greengirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a shore dive”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I did two shore dives from Mosquito Pier. It is a bit of a swim out to the dive spot, but worth it. I saw a hawksbill turtle and a green turtle, lots of fish and several large porcupine fish.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kskaggs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Snorkel Here for Sea Turtles”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This is the best spot on the island for snorkeling. Easy snorkel for beginners along the rocks where you enter the water. The best snorkeling is out underneath the pier itself. You need to zig zag in between the piers/pylons, which act as sort of reef. It is deep out there and a bit intimidating for even experienced snorkelers, but give it a try and you won't be disappointed. Lots of great fish (including porcupine puffer) and we saw 3 sea turtles hanging out at the very end of the pier. Followed them around for 20 minutes and it was amazing experience. Bring your GoPro and get some amazing footage. Really fun snorkeling trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great diving!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Contact Isla Nena about diving at the pier. It was never used for cargo so the wildlife has flocked to it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Raines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosquito Pier also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Mosquito Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing