We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Gem in Vieques”
Review of Coqui Fire Cafe

Coqui Fire Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Coqui Fire Cafe is located two blocks from Blackbeards on Calle Carlos Lebrum. We are open Mon-Fri 5-9 pm. We serve Interior Mexican Food with an International flare. We offer an upscale casual dinning experience with affordable prices....
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Gem in Vieques”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Mexican food done the right way! Love the atmosphere and friendly owners! The chef cut me an extra special ribeye steak (22oz) and it was cooked perfectly. My wife loves the Pork Carnitas...you have to try them. They now have a liquor license and make an amazing Margarita!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MilesGilreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    105
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Our party of 4 went here for my friends birthday and loved it. All of the meals we had were delicious and the choice of sauces were impressive. No matter how you like your Mexican, mild to fire Coqui has you covered. The service was friendly and fast and prices are great. Great find in Vieques!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hummingbird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Best meal I have had in a long time.... Owner (Chef) and his wife are great folks, who go out of their way to make it a wonderful dining experience... Dont miss it!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We decided to visit Coqui Fire on the last evening of our one week stay on Vieques. We were very glad we did! After having a poor experience the night before we were glad to out with such a good meal. For and appetizer we go the Ceviche (Tuna marinated in I believe lime juice and vinegar?). Fantastic! I got the special which was a center cut pork chop with a mesquite/apple glaze over garlic mashed potatoes and my wife got a taco salad. She raved that it was the best taco salad she ever had. My pork chop was delicious as well as the potatoes. Prices were very reasonable as well. It's a little out of the way but worth the effort to find! Be sure to make reservations early as it is a small place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small place, big flavors”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The food was great, the service was attentive, and the drinks were mediocre (rum punch and mojito). We liked that the chef came out and talked to us. I had the shrimp with the coconut mole sauce and it was big on flavor. I loved it. Hubby got the las carnitas, and he really enjoyed it. Both of us had enough leftover to eat for lunch the next day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travlintoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coqui Fire Cafe also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Coqui Fire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing