We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food ”
Review of Tin Box

Tin Box
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Original Sushi Bar and Smokehouse in a tree house setting, overlooking organic gardens. Open Tuesday-Sunday, 4 PM - 10 PM.
TX
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh food ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The food was very fresh with them growing their own veggies in the garden. The atmosphere was so great and unique. We felt like we were dining in a tree house! The bar b quie and sides were excellent. I had a watermelon martini that was so good! We would definitely recommend dining here. My kids were happy too!

Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    136
    46
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great little oasis in the middle of the island. We sat around the bar and had the best
barbeque food. The restaurant is opwn to the outside and it was a beautiful day! The bartender was very friendly. We had a blast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our family ate here multiple times during our stay in Vieques. We are from BBQ country, and TB's was right on with a great balance of sweet/smoke/salt. Our server Brittany gave us many great local tips about the island. Loved that the restaurant grows fresh food in a garden out back! Watermelon margaritas with freshly juiced watermelons were yum, loved the hot sauce shrimp app but most especially enjoyed the arugula salad/ homegrown baby greens and the ribs. The fried calamari were under-seasoned and soggy, but they were the one let-down thing out of the many that we'd ordered. (Raw Bar Oysters, shrimp, salads, tacos, tostones, ribs, drinks, desserts....)

The staff was friendly, and took very good care of us. Tin Box is a more casual experience than Noche. We'd really wanted to check out Noche too, but the timing of our trip didn't work out. Next time for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunnyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, fresh watermelon margs, perfect ribs, organic garden and fresh oysters”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This restaurant was fantastic. We had fresh oysters flown in from MA ( can 't eat the local oysters). I had the best fresh watermelon margaritas. Our kids enjoyed their meals. I enjoyed BBQ ribs that were out of this world tender and flavorful. The atmosphere is unique. It sits in the middle of the island and is completely open to the jungle ( wear bug dope, you will have no problems). The bar looked like a great place to hang. Service was perfect ( this was standard on the island). Vieques is a little rough on the edges, with gorgeous beaches. People everywhere are kind and helpful. This restaurant epitomized the simple great things in life Vieques offers. The restaurant has its own organic gardens and serves several items on the menu fresh from their backyard. The quality for the price is unbelievable. I believe there
is a more upscale restaurant next door and I can't imagine how amazing their food would be.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch is great for pork-lovers!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went for Sunday brunch at Tin Box in January 2014. The restaurant has a fantastic setting -- it feels like a treehouse out back, with a great bar up front a seating area in the back overlooking the jungle and their gardens where they grow fresh food. First thing you can see when you walk in is the bloody mary bar.

The oysters here are fantastic -- lots of variety (5 types, when we were there) and very fresh. The BBQ here is also knock your socks off good -- we had pulled pork tostada, their angry bacon (which was candied!) and the ribs. Now, ribs can be tricky to cook properly, but they did a great job -- falling off the bone tender with a great smokey flavor that didn't overwhelm.

Great place for brunch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrosenberg_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tin Box also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tin Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing