We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Do it! Nike”
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Bravo Beach hotel is located right on the ocean with great views and sounds of the ocean. Its a nice place to sleep and wake up in the mornings. The owners, Karl and Janna, are great hosts. They moved down to Vieques from Minnesota. I wonder why.

We thought the hotel was right on the beach and had planned to spend the first couple of days in and around the hotel and explore the island later. Don't do that. Rent a Jeep before you get here for your duration because you will need it. The beaches on the island are located a couple of miles away and are incredible, so plan to spend your days there if you're interested in beaches. Also, the town of Esperanza, which is on the south part of the island, is much nicer with happening restaurants and decent food on the main drag which runs along the ocean (I'll write more about bars and restaurants in other reviews where I describe them individually).

The hotel provides beach chairs and snorkeling equipment which is a great help so you don't need to rent that stuff and you take whatever you need for the day.

So, if you're headed to Vieques, which I would highly recommend (it is very different from the rest of the Carribean islands in a *nice* way -- more laid back, no fancy shmancy stuff and hordes of loud tourists), the Bravo Beach is a good base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. Much nicer ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vasant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

The island was amazing. Perfect beaches. No one around. The hotel was quiet and clean. The staff was very helpful and they offered beach items like chairs cooler and snorkel gear they had a puppy and a dog that made our stay very happy as well. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and the view from our balcony was priceless. We felt very safe. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I am sitting here, back home in Pennsylvania, watching the snow fall and fondly thinking of our great stay at the Bravo Beach Hotel. Thoughts of sitting on the balcony, looking at the waves roll in still are fresh in my mind. Our room looked out over the sun deck with a great view of the ocean. No problem with privacy for us. Close the curtain waking up in the morning and dressing after a day at the beach ensured more then enough privacy. We had stayed in room 22 as had a previous reviewer. Let me say, as an airline employee, I travel throughout the year and stay a many hotels. Bravo Beach has to be one of the cleanest establishments I have slept in. The room was spotless. Furnishings where simple and functional . There was more then adequate storage for both my wife's and my belongings. A set of wooden units in the entry provided plenty of storage. Really appreciate the in room refrigerator and safe. I did notice that there is an on demand hot water unit which provided plenty of constant hot water when adjusted with the cold water. It was a nice touch having plenty of free beach gear available to take in the glorious island beaches, the back to the hotel to enjoy either of the two beautiful pools.
Vieques is a perfect getaway. Not a touristy destination, it is a quiet and relaxing retreat. With beautiful beaches, local restaurants and extremely accommodating hosts we will soon return. That return will most positively involve a return to the Bravo Beach Hotel. A perfect 10 stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This small hotel was a great place to stay for trip to Vieques. The location is nice, easy enough to walk into town and all of the beaches are a short drive away. As everyone else mentioned, the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The beach accessories that they provided were very useful, we used the chairs, umbrella, and other items every day. The continental breakfast was simple but good.

Our room was nice, but a bit spartan. There was only one night stand, one chair, the bed, and a tv stand. It could've used another chair or table as we had to store a lot of stuff on the floor. But I would've overlooked that if the room had been cleaner. The shower was obviously not cleaned until about day 3, the grout was very dirty, the soap dish was filthy, and there was a big streak of some kind of shower gel on the wall. However, on day 3 we came back in the afternoon to the smell of bleach and it was much improved. The water in the shower was also really inconsistent, one second scalding and the next freezing - though I think this is more to do with the island's infrastructure than the hotel. My other complaint is minor, our room was #22 on the second floor overlooking the ocean and unfortunately also the upper patio. Whenever people sat outside on that patio, they were basically at eye level with our room so we had to keep our curtains closed to maintain some privacy which was a bummer because we booked an ocean view room because of the view.

With all of that said, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I'd book a different room and would ensure that the room is cleaned a bit better. The stay was a great experience despite those minor issues, certainly didn't take away from our vacation. If I could give them a 4.5 I would, but those small things mean I can't give them a 5.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JannaMarie26, Owner at Bravo Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Pack83,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We take our guest’s input very seriously and would like to respond to some of the issues you indicated.

We are sorry to hear that your shower was not cleaned to perfection upon your arrival, and wish we would have been given the opportunity to rectify the situation immediately. I have shared your review with our housekeeping staff and will continue to work with them to ensure something like this does not happen again.

We are also sorry to hear that you did not like the decor or functionality of your room. We often get compliments about the clean lines and simplicity of the rooms, but we do understand that this is not everyone’s taste.

We are happy to hear that even though we did not meet your expectations in every area, that you had a good time overall and did enjoy the amenities we offer such as the complimentary continental breakfast, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. We hope you do have the chance to stay with us again!

Thank you,

Janna Halberg
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in the villa with my two children and in-laws. It was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. We had our own private yard, patio and beach access. My boys loved playing in the pools, playing with Millie the dog and looking for shells on the beach. We were very pleased to have access to the hotel boogie boards, towels, chairs and cooler for our excursions. Doing our own cooking most of the time saved a lot of money. I highly recommend the villa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Definitely worth your consideration if you are visiting Vieques. The property has the feel of a Spanish villa with aesthetically pleasing planting s and lighting, two inviting pools, and plenty of space to either get some sun or relax in the shade. The owners go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay, both in terms of personal attention as well as by providing conveniences such as an honor bar and a large selection of breakfast choices. The location is convenient to town and a short 4WD drive away from some beautiful beaches. We stayed in room #3, I'm not sure what the issue was that another user had with the room - our view of the ocean was unobstructed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Bravo Beach Hotel is a small hotel in Isabel Segunda, Vieques. The delightful owners are in the process of restoring this lovely small hotel. We had a very large room with huge windows overlooking the ocean, ac, a refrigerator, large bath and a private balcony. What more could you want in the middle of winter? Breakfast is included: toast, jams, dry cereals, pineapple, oj, milk, coffee, tea and peanut butter. You help yourself. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you like to see the ocean the upstairs suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
13.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
30.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £95 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing