We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable, Low Key Place on Vieques”
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at Bravo Beach and my wife and I loved it. Very laid back atmosphere, two pools, very quiet and serene, and we loved waking up to the view of the water each morning. Housekeeping and grounds immaculate and we felt safe and secure the whole time we were there. Honor bar was nice to have for things we didn't get at the store. Hotel needs some updates in bath fixtures and some external maintenance but the owners are working on those things and all in all our experience was just great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadieNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Bravo Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Though we messed up our timing at the airport in San Juan, having to stay over at the airport hotel, we quickly recouped at Bravo Beach! What a great time my wife and I shared on our 41st wedding anniversary at Bravo. The room we reserved was bright, well equipped, spacious clean and with an amazing ocean view, met are desires nicely. Dare I say that the King- sized bed was beautiful ,the sheets manicured and comfortable. Hahaaaa. Hey come on 41 years ain't nothing to sneeze at these days. Carl and Janna helped us get around the island and enjoy all the great food, gorgeous beaches and wonderful people. Snorkeling was fabulous. We appreciated the equipment that Bravo provided at no charge.. We loved the glass bottom kayaks at Bio Bay and the magnificent star show. Impressive. Nice to know there is an intelligent designer. We spent some time in the pools which also were kept up clear and inviting. We created some fantastic memories on the island and at the middle was Bravo which smoothed the way. Thanks you guys

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We recently stayed at one of the Bravo Beach's condos which is located right across the street from the hotel's main property. The condos, while not luxurious, are relatively new with a well equipped small kitchen, dining area, living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom.

This hotel, especially the condo, is a good option for self-catering travelers, families or small groups. The amenities are quite basic but the condo was clean and well maintained. Housekeeping comes in daily to take out the trash, fix the beds, dust, etc. They also provide beach towels, coolers, snorkel equipment and beach chairs to borrow, which were very helpful for trips to Vieques' beaches, many of which still do not have facilities/restaurants.

The hotel is located in the town of Isabel Segunda (15-20 minutes from the airport). It is tucked in one of the quieter parts of the town so we had a relaxing stay and good night's sleep. There are a few casual local restaurants, food and grocery stores, pharmacy and ATMs within walking distance from the property. A car is necessary to get to the nicer beaches in Vieques and to Esperanza, the other main town which also has several bars/restaurants by water. The island is quite small and we did not need to travel more than 20-30 minutes to the beaches.

The beach by the hotel is not that nice and the surf may be too rough for swimming. The hotel has two lovely swimming pools, one oceanside and the other in the garden, which are both great places to relax and lounge.

A very basic breakfast of breads, jams, fruits, cereals and eggs is included. Given its location, many goods are shipped to Vieques from San Juan.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations of beaches to go to, restaurants and activities.

You need to take this hotel for what it is and if you are a traveler that requires more luxury and pampering, this may not be the right place for you. (Vieques also has a W hotel.)

This worked for us quite well as we had a car and was able to explore Isabel and Esperanza at a leisurely island pace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked this hotel based on the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm not sure exactly what the criteria is for those that gave it five stars. I'm going to tell you exactly what it's like.
We booked early and reserved the suite which has windows on three sides. It has a million dollar view and that's where the good review ends.
This 15 room hotel sat empty for 2 years before it was bought by a young couple from Minnesota. I dont know what the condition was but it did go through some renovations.
We arrived to cold water in our room and never had hot water for three days. Every day it was a different excuse, the owner did try to fix it but the fact is that we didn't have hot water and neither did others who we talked to.
There isn't a surface in the hotel that isn't chipped or cracked and that includes furniture. There are two pools which are nice. The poolside rooms have no privacy. There are only 2 tables to sit at around one of the pools. The other pool has a couple of lounge chairs and umbellas. Not nearly enough to accommodate a full house.
There doesn't seem to be any staff looking after things. Towels were left at the pool overnight. The landscaping is good in some areas and in other areas it's non-existent.
The breakfast, pathetic. Look at my pictures. If you're going to do something do it right or else don't do it. Eating bread out of a bag? Disgusting. A peanut butter jar that was nearly empty. Luckily, there are some good breakfast spots in Segundo.
This couple needs a course in innkeeping 101. Being an innkeeper takes a special talent. There doesn't seem to be a vision. This hotel needs to be closed, a decorator and architect need to be brought in and only then after work has been completed it could be reopened. I've never stayed and a B&B or small inn where the innkeepers weren't always overseeing every detail. Not so here.
This hotel is in a great location. In the right hands it could be a fabulous boutique hotel. But, alas, it's not.
The one good thing - we were given a 25% discount for enduring cold water.

Room Tip: The suite or one of the garden rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 2atthebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JannaMarie26, Owner at Bravo Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

This is the kind of review no owner wants to read, and we take it very seriously and personally. We are a small family owned and operated business, and we never want to fail our guests. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your needs and expectations.

Regarding the hot water heater, we were notified of an issue with the hot water after the first night of your stay. Carl (owner) went up to the room shortly and was able to repair the issue. During the morning we had a couple of other guests notify us of a similar issue. Each room has its own individual on-demand hot water heater, so having multiple units malfunction at the same time is extremely unusual. After checking all the hot water heaters, we had our electrician come to the property to look at any possible wiring issues. He found that there was a problem with the electric coming into the property from the city. We contacted the city electric company regarding the issue, and were told they were "working on it". Vieques is an island that gets its power from another island, so unfortunately issues with the electricity occur from time to time. This is extremely frustrating for us as owners, because it is out of our control.

We will be closing the hotel this fall to expand breakfast and ocean side pool area space. There will also be improvements done to the way we do our continental breakfast.

We don't understand why you are commenting on the Pool Side rooms, when you stayed in the Luna de Miel Suite?

Again, we are sorry we disappointed you during your stay. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Vieques overall.

Thank you,

Janna Halberg
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We loved our time at BBH!!! After reading all of the excellent reviews, we stayed here for our first 3 days of our Puerto Rican adventure. It was the perfect place to stay! Our room was updated and clean. The pools were always spotless too. Breakfast each morning was convenient and relaxing by the ocean. The owners were super helpful always offering little extras that made our stay nicer. We used the beach chairs and umbrellas while relaxing at the ocean. Thanks for a fantastic stay in Vieques!!! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandiwithay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Came here for 3 days on the tail end of our honeymoon. The rooms were clean and nice. Property managers were excellent and took the time to give us some recommendations and tips upon our arrival. The hotel was kind of hard to find with the bad tourist map we got at Cieba Airport. The morning breakfast was good and it was nice they had beach chairs, umbrellas and ice bags for use for all the guests. They even had a dry bag for us to use when snorkeling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I picked this hotel because of the good reviews. This was my first trip to Vieques so I knew nothing about the island. I was completely happy with Bravo Beach Hotel. The grounds are lovely, it has two beautiful pools, the room was clean and comfortable, the bed and bedding were comfortable and everything on the grounds was clean and well kept. The owner was extremely nice, you never felt like you were bothering him when you dropped by the office with a need or question. He was there to point you in the right direction, make arrangements for you, or take care of anything you needed. The breakfast was nice, nothing fancy, but fresh fruit, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice. I loved having coffee on the ocean side of the property each morning and a drink each night on the island side of the property (after dark there is a symphony of sounds from tree frogs - or something - I just know it was fun to listen to). The location of the hotel is very convenient to Isabel II - just walk down the hill and you are in town!! The ferry dock is the first thing you come to on your way to town. I had a car but whenever I just wanted to go into town to pick something up, grab a drink, or go out to eat I just walked. You do need a car to get to the best swimming beaches which are on the south side of the island. The beach at the hotel is fine for listening to the ocean but not really good for swimming. I thought this hotel was safe & comfortable with great service and a very welcoming atmosphere!! Oh Yes!! Almost forgot - the thing I loved the most about this hotel was NO ROOM KEY!! Each room had a keypad on the door where you typed in your secret room code (no worries, you will remember your code easily). The thing I hate the most about hotel rooms is always searching for some key or card to do even the simplest errand like run to the ice machine!! The code thing made life so much simpler!! I can not wait to go back to the beautiful beaches of Vieques and the hospitality of the Bravo Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
4.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
13.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
46.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £116 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing