We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path...”
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Bravo Beach Hotel. It was the most beautiful location! There are two pools: one overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The second pool has a lovely area with a shaded (honor) bar area. No matter the room you choose, you won't be disappointed! Bravo Beach is in a great location…safe and relaxed. The sunsets are beautiful, too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank becwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary by staying in Honeymoon Suite (La Luna de Miel) at the Bravo Beach Hotel on Vieques. Much has been said about the features of the hotel in other TripAdvisor reviews. I won't rehash all of that. The family that took over the hotel a few years ago, Carl and Janna and Carl's parents Sheldon and Kim, rescued this property from certain demise. The prior owners had let it run down. Carl and Janna gave up their desk jobs in Minneapolis and have been restoring the hotel.

There are certainly little things that could be improved but I am convinced that they will all be fixed in the coming years. These folks have a passion for their new professions!

Bravo Beach Hotel is located just outside the town of Isabel Segunda II, which is the main town on the island. While it might appear at first to be a somewhat sketchy area, in fact, everyone is very friendly and we had no issues at all. If you prefer not to stay in a hotel near where people live, you should probably try something in Esperanza which is mostly restaurants, hotels and inns.

We really liked the feel of Vieques. It is a small island and everyone knows each other. Carl and Janna were no exception. We went during the week of November 11, 2013 and we almost always had a beach to ourselves. I think we visited all of the beaches on the island during our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irawinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were attracted to the island of Vieques for the biobay, but what we discovered was so much more. We had five days post cruise to spend in PR and ultimately decided on Bravo Beach in Vieques. What it is not is a five-star luxury resort. What it is, is an awesome base for exploring the beautiful island, enjoying and afternoon swim in the oceanfront pool, and relaxing and recharging for the next day's adventures. The atmosphere is laid back, the gardens beautiful, the pools (two) refreshing, the views spectacular, and the owners and staff amazingly hospitable.

The rooms are a little worn, but very nicely appointed. They has a roomy fridge, comfortable bed, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was on the small side, but we managed without any problems. The honor bar was a extremely convenient for stocking up for beach days and was surprisingly inexpensive ($1 coke, juice, and water). The breakfast was simple but good.

A huge perk of the property is the free beach gear offered for loan. Chairs, coolers, boogie boards, umbrellas all free to take with you on your adventures. Although the beach at the property is not suitable for swimming, it had beautiful views and was nice for beach combing. We drove a short five minutes to watch the sunrise at a fantastic beach for sea glass each morning. Although we visited a different beach everyday, sometimes two, we were not able to see even half the beaches this island has to offer.

Jen and Carl were always available and eager to offer assistance with anything we needed, directions, food recommendations, best beach for...
We can not imagine that some other place could have met our needs any better. For that reason, we are already planning our next visit to the island. We will definitely stay at Bravo Beach again.

Room Tip: Any room here would be great, but we will choose a bottom floor ocean side pool room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank millke05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Luna de Miel Suite and we would have loved to take the view home with us! This room was very private as it was the only room on the third floor. We had our own rooftop balcony where we enjoyed watching the sunset. If there is one thing I regret is not having stayed for at least a week. I still think about that gorgeous view.

The host was very pleasant and he immediately gave us pointers on places to eat as well as all of the great and less crowded beaches on the island. This was the highlight of our trip to P.R. When we go back to Vieques we will definitely stay at BBH.

Room Tip: stay at Luna de Miel suite for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ngr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel while we were in Vieques, and we couldn't be happier. Our room was right above the infinity pool so we had the most amazing view. The room was clean and modern, bed was so comfy (and I'm extremely picky about hotel beds). The staff was really nice and attentive, too. Always a plus.

It's only a 10 minute drive to Esperanza, where all of the tourist shops & bars are.

In a nutshell, it's the perfect and most peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe_Isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Loved the accommodation at Casa Roja, across the street from BBH. Everything one could want, king bed, great linens and towels, full kitchen! Very reasonable price and includes a no nonsense Continental breakfast in serve yourself way. Eat on the deck by the oceanfront pool. Perfect! The great young owners have really done a great job and get great feedback from locals when you let them know where you are staying. That is so reassuring. The owners really went out of their way to talk to us and made us feel that we made THE right choice for my husband and myself. Loved every minute! Want to go back and do it all again the same way, which for us is rare as we love to travel and see new places. We will be back to BBH and hopefully Casa Roja as our first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shreks_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just happened upon this hotel as we were looking for a place to stay while visiting the island...We were totally surprised when we were given an ocean view room at a very good price. The breakfast was very good. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonycan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
13.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £90 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing