We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel with beautiful view”
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with beautiful view”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Bravo Beach Hotel is a hidden gem! Like others have said, this is not a resort, it's a boutique hotel but so much more than that. First off, unless you're staying only for a night, you shouldn't stay here unless you are renting a jeep. The beach on the hotel is not swimmable but boy does it make up with a beautiful view of the ocean. You'll definitely want either a jeep or planned daily excursions because you will get bored after a day. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and booked an upper level ocean view. I definitely agree that the ocean view room was more than worth it. We even saw a rainbow one morning. Our room was spacious and more modern than I had expected, with a super comfy platform bed and soft pillows. We also had a lovely balcony where we ate breakfast each morning, although the mosquitos were too much for me in the evening. Breakfast was also a nice surprise - hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, peanut butter, jelly, butter, etc. They even had soy milk and juice provided.

I could go on and on about the hotel grounds because it's beautifully landscaped, with two small refreshing pools and plenty of places to lounge in the shade. I'll mention that while the hotel and the furnishings aren't sparkling new, everything is very tidy and you can really tell that the owners put a lot of hard work into keeping the hotel clean and well maintained. If you read my review of another boutique hotel, I mentioned that it's the small things that make or break these kinds of places and Bravo Beach Hotel didn't disappoint. The little things like having soft quality beach towels, beach chairs to borrow for free, super helpful people in the office, comfy sheets on the bed - made for an experience that we hope to have again in the future.

A few last comments on the surrounding town - yes it is a bit worn down and there are clear marks of poverty. The only part that made me nervous was walking along the small streets with the huge jeeps that zip around. It's a small but laid back area with a "fishing town" vibe. As a woman I am probably more paranoid about feeling "sketchiness" when I travel, but not once did I feel like that was a concern while walking around Isabella or elsewhere on Vieques. I hope to be back as soon. As my partner and I traveled to our next destination in San Juan, I missed hearing the roosters in the background and the friendly neighborhood dogs. We definitely said more than once "I miss Bravo Beach Hotel and Vieques." Sounds cheesy but there really is nothing else like this gem.

A little tip - if you're coming from the ferry, you can pretty much walk to this hotel so save yourself a taxi ride unless you have a ton of heavy bags or have trouble walking up the hills.

Room Tip: ocean view ocean view ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OffCourseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    81
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
216
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We came to Vieques for a short side trip during our vacation to Puerto Rico. We chose the Bravo Beach Hotel for a one night stay. After we arrived we immediately wished we had allocated more time to enjoy Vieques and our sweet Casa Roja. April the receptionist was so helpful and kind. Our room was tastefully furnished and very clean. We had the impression that the property had been recently renovated, all the fixtures, the stainless steel appliances, the tiled shower....everything was modern and comfortable. We would not hesitate to visit Bravo Beach again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a week at BBH and words fail when we try to express how delightful the stay was. Carl and Janna were not only helpful with our reservation but secured a car rental when it seemed none were to be found. They helped with dinner reservations during a busy holiday week, made every accommodation to ensure our comfort and, when it turned out that we had made a mistake about our departure date scrambled to try to get us another hotel room on the island ( none were to be found) . Carl got us to the local airport and helped us get back to San Juan where we stayed another two nights. Carl and Janna are extraordinary and the BBH is a gem. We are already planning a return visit .

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the poolside rooms facing the infinity pool and ocean. Great room with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our group of neighbors, relatives and friends stayed for several nights before our cruise. Great place to stay and beautiful island! Carl and Janna were so welcoming and easy going. Love the quaintness of the hotel and the accomodations and view are unbeatable. A true gem.
Thank you for a great experience!
Janet & Steve

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Love, love love the Bravo Beach Hotel and Vieques as a whole. Some comments: Carl and Janna are terrific. They are available if you want or need them or will totally leave you alone. They are professional and clearly have a GREAT work ethic. While you are in one of the most laid back places I have ever been, they are on the ball. I love that.

For us, it took a minute to adjust to the whole deal in Vieques. We came from a fancy resort in San Juan. This is not a fancy resort and now, after a week, i say thank god it isnt. We were up and out each morning (late morning!! the hotel rooms are so quiet!!) in our jeep (RENT A CAR - they go fast so rent early. a must on this island). We really can be lazy on vacation. Had we stayed at the W we may have never left that property and what a shame. This island is awesome, and Bravo Beach Hotel seems to us to be the best place from which to experience all Vieques has to offer. Janna and Carl make it so easy, by being available with recommendations, directions, beach chairs, towels, snorkel equipment, coolers and easy access to beverages for your day at the beach. Ok, i was so relaxed after the 4th day i seriously could not form a sentence. And clearly i like to talk.

I was hesitant when we first pulled up -depending on your point of reference the town looks a bit iffy at first (I love the town. It is totally not iffy) there is no beach to hang out on, the hotel is clean and basic and i knew we were going to have to be self starters, which as i have indicated is NOT something we have typically been on vacation. It took about 2 hours to get with the groove and realize how EASY everything is on this island and at the Bravo Beach Hotel. There are no big deals - everything is easy access and because Janna and Carl provide all the extras that make a Vieques adventure even easier, it is perfect. We are returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: we were in the el jardin suite. it is large, sparsly furnished with a big bathroom. VERY quiet. VER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAK1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester ny
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's important for travelers to realize this is NOT the W Hotel! If you want the W, go there and pay 4 times as much! Vieques is a very undeveloped island, and the BBH is in a residential neighborhood. You can walk into Isabella in a few minutes, but it is NOT a tourist town! The rooms at the BBH are beautiful- for a family of 4 or 5 you cannot beat the Villa Bravo room which has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a kitchen, lovely porch and a small garden right on the ocean (although you cannot swim at the beach here). There is Wifi and satellite TVs in the rooms, the beds are very comfortable, and the AC works well. There is no bar or restaurant, but an honor bar for beverages. My only complaints are the water pressure is not great and they could use some more lounge chairs at the pool. For a small, friendly hotel on a very quiet island (with fantastic restaurants and beaches) you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Definitely be on the ocean. The Villa Bravo suite is an outstanding value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

BBH is a great place to stay. The rooms are tastefully designed; pool and view amazing; staff helpful and friendly; Plenty of excellent services. We stayed also 1 night in the villa which is sumptuous and would be fit for a permanent residence for a family of 4. Vieques is fun for horseback riding, Bioluminescent bay trip, Beaches, Snorkling etc and this is a perfect home base to do all of that.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in Vieques
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
46.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
18.4 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Property: Bravo Beach Hotel
Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing