We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Bed and Breakfast in Vieques is a fantastic Option and a great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple Bed and Breakfast in Vieques is a fantastic Option and a great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I went to Vieques with my sister this past weekend and stayed in the top apartment in Casa Roja which is also managed and operated by Bravo Beach Hotel. This 2 bedroom apartment had all the amenities that you are looking for. Very clean , great sheets, Frette towels, the beds very comfortable , even the toiletries were good ( Tommy Bahamas) .. The bedrooms had very good air conditioning and the furnishings in great condition. Our apartment had a balcony with a hammock and it overlooked the hotel with a view of the Ocean.. The breakfast is included and it was great, fresh fruit, bread , cereal , juice and coffee. The concierge and manager ,Neilin is very helpful and the new owners are very commited to their guests.. The property has 2 pools and BBQ pits if you decide you will like to cook one night.. So if you will like visit Vieques and stay for a couple of nights and you will like simple accomodations, I will recommend it ..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    79
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
208
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bravo Beach Hotel -- the staff, the rooms, continental breakfast, views, etc were all very very good. We will return! :-)
The pool and honor bar are wonderful and just the ticket after a hot day cruising Vieques!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My mother, my 4 year old, and I stayed here and fell in love with the place. It was laid back, clean, gorgeous, and right on the ocean. We had the "el jardin" suite and it was ample. My son has some special needs and the owners and other guests were very kind and tolerant and provided everything we needed. The owner even went as far as to give us a ride back to the hotel after our second flat tire ( another story entirely). This really was above and beyond the call of duty. Perks include great continental breakfast buffet with seating next to the ocean, 2 pools, relaxing ambiance, walking distance from Isabel II, plenty of beach equipment to borrow daily, honor bar beverage system, and an adorable puppy named Perry.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vcotris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Bravo Beach Hotel is, like the town it is in, an unusual place. It sites on the north coast of Vieques, right on the beach. Just 100 metres away is "chicken corner" where there are wild chickens 24/7. Wild horses and neighbourhood dogs drop by for a visit whenever the mood strikes, as well. You have to pinch yourself sometimes. When the roosters awaken you at 4 A.M. every day you are less amused by the quaintness of the location.

Our room was one of the ocean view type, overlooking the infinity pool and the ocean. The room was great with Frette linens. The only down side was the shower which was not as thoroughly scrubbed as many people, paying this fee, would expect. It was clean, but grimy.

The continental breakfast was adequate (I liked the hard boiled eggs) but the real star of the show was the neighbour's dog, Perry. He was an ambassador and would come by every morning to make sure that we were all enjoying ourselves. He even took the two of us on a trip along the road to visit the north coast beaches and meet the wild horses (who were less than happy to meet Perry).

The staff were friendly and very nice. I enjoyed the fact that we could take coolers and beach chairs at no extra cost, and rent beach umbrellas ($5 per day) to take to the beaches on the south coast. (The beaches on the north coast of the island, despite what people say, are essentially crap. It is the south coast that has the spectacular beaches.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daverblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We loved Vieques but will try another hotel next time. We got the Luna de Miel Suite. The water pressure in the huge modern shower was dismal. The door to the bathroom did not shut properly. The lights in the stairwell to the suite did not work. The little awning-style windows with screens above the beautiful picture windows looking right out on the ocean all had broken handles and could not be opened. They were probably broken by guests unfamiliar with them, but hotel staff just have to take two minutes to show each guest how they work.
So, when we arrived in our room with the stunning view of the ocean's rolling waves, we immediately wanted to open the windows to hear as well as see. We were told they don't really open, just use air conditioning…?!? Makes you feel like you are imprisoned in a fish bowl to have that lovely ocean view but not be able to hear the sound or feel the breeze! (Compare to Hix Island House!) The person who showed us to our room did not seem interested in helping us figure out how to get a window open. Hard to believe all other guests keep them closed and use AC.
Anyway, we managed to open the side windows, but they didn't have screens and we did get a ton of mosquitoes. But we always prefer an ocean breeze to AC. Too bad on the second night, 24 hours in, when I was shutting the side window to go out to eat, it fell forward and clonked me on the head and gave me a concussion! That was not fun on vacation. I was nauseous and suffered the concussion for a week, especially on the flights home. No one wants to get a concussion on vacation. (They were windows that can open inward to be cleaned, like many American windows, and the latch must have been loosened, so it feel in on my head as I shut it. Could have been much worse.)
The three stars is not because I got a concussion. It is for the lack of maintenance, something I don't expect for that price. The awning windows with screens needed to be fixed, along with the other items I mentioned. Better maintenance would have prevented my concussion.
The maid did a good job. The breakfast was OK. The pool on the water was nice. It all would have been wonderful if better maintained. I sense a bit of doing the minimal required on the part of the (new-ish) owners. I understand Bravo Beach used to be one of the best hotels on the island. I sense it is going downhill a bit.
We will have our five-year old daughter with us again next time, otherwise, we would stay at Hix Island House, one of the most amazing places to stay in the world! (We visited it, and I've been to 55 countries.)
As it is we may try Malecon House in Esperanza. We visited there, and the owner, Marsha, seems more likely to keep up on maintenance.
However, note that Isabel Segunda is residential and quiet whereas Esperanza is where the bars and restaurants are. I think Malecon House may be a good place to try, though.

Room Tip: Luna de Miel Suite may not be worth the price for reasons mentioned above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHalberg, Owner at Bravo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Carla M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take our reviews (positive & negative) very seriously.

This past fall we remodeled the bathroom in the Luna de Miel Suite, including updating all of the plumbing to the space. Sometimes the water pressure is low on the island and it is out of our hands - in your case we did check the plumbing and open the shower head to check for any possible blockages. We didn't locate any blockages or other issues, and when our plumber checked the water pressure it was working as it should. As a result, we could only assume it was an issue with the water pressure on island.

As for the windows, we apologize. We purchased brand new, expensive windows for that room and the hardware rusted from the salty sea air within months, rendering them useless. We have replaced with them with different brands, etc. only to end up with the same results. Their lack of functionality has nothing to do with previous guests breaking them or our staff not taking the time to explain how they work. Other window issues mentioned are being reviewed - repairs to windows have been made as needed.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are new owners (as of 2011), and we take pride in our place and work hard to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience possible. Even though we did not meet your expectations, we are happy to have met you and pleased to hear you enjoyed Vieques.

Thank you,

Janna Halberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a family owned business (husband and wife team) and they have done a wonderful job of bringing the grounds (the gardens are really beautiful as well) and hotel back to life. Someone from the staff is always available for questions. They are friendly and helpful in every way.

The continental breakfast has everything you could want - toast, jellies, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and milk (soy and regular). Then you take your plate out to the seating area which has an ocean view - it's perfect.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to town and we felt safe both in the daytime and at night. The hotel itself is very secure and has a wall surrounding it with two locked gates for easy access.

Although the rooms are not extravagantly decorated, they provide everything necessary and are in line with the ambiance of the island. There are many choices of places to stay on Vieques but for the money, views and location, this is your best bet.

Hint: Make sure to rent a car before you get to the island. We read many conflicting reviews about how to get around the island but if you like to come and go as you please, without waiting lengthy amounts of time for a cab, rent a car. It will be well worth it.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra money to select a room with ocean views. You can't go wrong with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Awesome, awesome! Frequent visitor to VQS - first time stay at BBH. We were 2 couples that shared the top floor of Casa Roja - the property BBH owns across the street. Wonderful space & the terrace is the absolute highlight (although the beds are super comfy - tough call). Bedroom suites are on each side with the kitchen in the middle. Access to a full-size fridge, freezer, blender and stove was right up this group's alley! It was also great to walk across and grab fresh coffee and their lovely fresh fruit (YUMS), boiled egg breakfast in the morning - walk back and sit above & watch the world go by. Likewise, it was fantastic to sit out on the terrace, around the table and just hang out without worrying about bothering other guests after coming home from dinner / drinks. Chairs and umbrellas are in very good shape. The entire property is well-groomed, charming and well taken care of. From start to finish - an absolutely easy breezy stay! The cutest dog in VQS - Perry!! - definitely adds charm. Hats off to all at BBH!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank One_Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
46.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
18.4 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Property: Bravo Beach Hotel
Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing