We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”
Review of SeaGate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SeaGate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived in San Juan about 4 hours late due to a storm and ended up missing the flight to Vieques. The staff at the Seagate hotel called me several times trying to arrange a taxi to the Ferry terminal which I managed to get on the next morning. I was picked up at the ferry terminal and really had a great time in the island. The room was clean and the staff made me fell at home. I am planning to visit Vieques again and will certainly stay there.
Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for SeaGate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were there in off-season and it seemed like nothing was happening in Isabella and everything was in or close to Esperanza. Even for dinner we had to drive 20 min to Esperanza. Hotel otherwise was great; better than what I expected. It is close to ferry terminal and has horses on the property, which I though was nice. The staff were very helpful, like everyone in PR:).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a great place to stay for anyone interested in traveling to Vieques. It's not a fancy resort, but that isn't the point of visiting the island. Rates are reasonable and the view is great. We spent a night there and Penny and her niece were very accomodating, offering complimentary transport to and from the ferry. We had caught a lobster earlier that day and they even offered us a pot and some butter to cook it with. We spent the following day exploring the beaches and when we had to catch a late ferry back to the mainland, they brought our luggage to us so we wouldnt have to haul itaround the island. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only had the opportunity to stay at the hotel one night since we were in Vieques for a wedding and staying on the main island the rest of the time.
The hotel is run and staffed by the owner and her family and has been family run since the 1970s. They were super helpful and accommodating, the grounds were beautiful. They even picked us up from the airport and drove us over to the car rental location.
Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJCoqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I've stayed at some really nice resorts & my trip to Puerto Rico included some really cool resorts but Seagate was by far the most enjoyable experience!

Location: Vieques is so amazing! If I can go back to PR, I'll be spending all of my time in Vuiques & Culebra! The specific location of Seagate is by a fort & it sits on a hill. My guess is most people won't want walk from the ferry stop but Seagate has you covered since they'll pick you up & drop you off for free!

Accommodations: 5 of us stayed in the cottage. 1 king bed (it's was soooo comfortable!), 1 Queen, and 2 single beds. The cottage had a full bathroom, kitchen with stove & refrigerator, tv with directv ,A/C in the two rooms (which you won't use much in Vieques) and fans throughout the house! This place made me feel at home & not like some random guest at a resort.

Penny & her crew: So awesome! Unfortunately I only saw penny for a bit but she was so nice! Our first day her staff was very nice as they took me to a car rental place twice (i forgot my drivers license at the cottage)....Breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast spread with toast, cereal,fruit, coffee & juice.

Once thing i would add is to rent a car. We spoke to a local family on the ferry ride in and they suggested we get a rental to see some of the secluded islands...and it was the best decision we made! Seagate got us a car for $50 a night and we were able to explore some of the most beautiful beaches I've seen!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmsAndaPaRibaPaBajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved the place which is owner operated by Penny Miller and some of her family and friends. Penny picked us up personally from the airport and dropped us off. Nice, clean, safe and AC-cooled rooms for us Coloradans. We did (and highly recommend) the package deal to stay and see the Bioluminescent Bay with Penny’s friend “Din Din.” Penny’s hand-picked horseman/guides are truly knowledgeable professionals for the breathtaking ride through the island and along the remote sections of the island beach. I give it six stars!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We wanted to experience the bioluminescent bay excursion so we have to stay overnight in Vieques. We are fortunate that we found SeaGate hotel. Penny, one of the owners, was really awesome and made us feel welcome and comfortable. She gave us pointers about the island and so we were able to max out our short stay in Vieques. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the sea. It is close to the town center of Isabel and about 10 minutes drive away from Caracas beach and the meeting point for the Bioluminescent Mosquito bay trip. Light breakfast is included and is ready by 6am at the office. Lots of mosquitoes so don't leave any windows or the door open. The hotel maybe old but it is clean and comfy. There is a small kitchenette complete with utensils so good place to stay if you plan to enjoy the island for a longer period. We flew here via Air Flamenco from Ceiba, PR and rented a jeep at Avis. Ricky of Avis gave us good pointers too about the island and some good snorkeling sites.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office has better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okidoc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGate Hotel

Address: Route 989 Km .04 | Box 747, 00765-0747, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SeaGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first hotel still in operation. SeaGate Hotel is a unique, pet-friendly, secluded retreat with no two rooms exactly alike. Natural breezes or AC, some with kitchens, all have at least a small refirdgerator and microwave, tv with local channels (Cottage & CQ have Direct TV), balconies or terraces, ocean views, and Concierge service. Complimentary transportation upon arrival from airport or ferry. SeaGate Hotel - you're home. Ingles y Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SeaGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing