We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in a great setting.”
Review of SeaGate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SeaGate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On my recent trip to Vieques, I was looking for a quiet place to relax. The Sea gate hotel is a great option. It overlooks the town of Isabel Segunda, with a nice view of the local fort. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had views of several wild horses from my room, and it made my whole stay quite charming. My room was clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans an escape to this charming little island.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubareader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Penny, the owner, went out of her way to be helpful, even driving us down the hill into town for dinner after an early evening arrival. They will also do airport pick-ups/drop-offs. The location near the top of the hill above the town was both a plus and a minus - the view was awesome and it was just a short walk to the old fort overlooking the town, but it was a bit of a walk down a steep hill to get to the restaurants and everything else in town. The price was very reasonable, the bed was great, and the breakfasts good (boxed cereals, bakery breads, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, 2 or 3 fruits, plus juice & coffee), The room was a bit small, but with a very nice veranda surrounded by lush greenery (but have your bug repellant on). We asked for a first level room with as few stairs as possible, (a half-flight of steps) even though the view was slightly compromised. The second or third levels would have spectacular views, but more stairs - there is no elevator (the hotel, perched on the hill as it is, would not be good for anyone with serious mobility challenges). If we come back to Vieques, this will be where we will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sschafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in the cottage and room 2 with our children and 2 friends. The staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs on our first trip to Vieques. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was simple, but well balanced. Great coffee!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatherineT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First time in Vieques and what a wonderful experience! Simple yet familiar environment for this B and B. Very clean and staff was extremely helpful in showing us around. The stay includes transportation from and to the ferry or airport and breakfast, which saves you some money. It's close to town and you can get some groceries and have additional snack and meals in the room. It's walking distance from the fort and there are beautiful views. Very low key and relaxing place. It's easy to get around with a rental car or a taxi/carro publico. Penny will provide you with all the information you need to do the things you like.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent two nights in March, 2014 at the SeaGate in the cottage and had an excellent time. It is not fancy in a resort way, but the view and the grounds are beautiful. The cottage is simple, but it is exactly what we needed. The staff was wonderful and informative about what to do on the island. They even loaned us towels to take to the beach. We took advantage of the horseback riding offered which allowed us to see a variety of things of the island we would have missed if we were in the car. We rented a jeep at the airport and the hotel was less than 10 minutes away. There are plenty of dogs to love, roosters to sing to you, and horses to pet. Our kids loved all of the wildlife. If you do go to Culebra, go to the end of the wildlife refuge (it is a long bumpy road) and go snorkeling. It was beautiful! I would definitely stay at the SeaGate again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steljo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A good place for a traveller who doesn't need frills. I'd recommend spending the ten bucks or so to go from here to beaches in Esperanza, as they're nicer and more accessible than ones closerby. Penny and the other staff were friendly and Penny even woke up really early in the morning to drive us to the first ferry. The stray dogs- or maybe pet dogs- who were roaming around the property, in my opinion are kind of gross, but I think you see that in a lot of places in Puerto Rico and elsewhere. We were in a room called "captain's quarters" and it was fully stocked with a mini kitchen, sitting area, and private balcony. I would probably recommend staying in Esperanza if you're there to go to the beaches, but if for some reason you want to stay inland or closer to the ferry, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon in April of 2013 and we couldn't have been happier! Penny picked us up at the docks and gave us a brief tour of the island on the way to the SeaGate. The SeaGate is a stone's throw away from Fort Conde de Mirasol. As others have pointed out, the SeaGate's horses, dogs, and lizards add to its charm. The rooms were clean and in good repair. Penny was a wealth of information! I can't recommend the SeaGate high enough if you're looking for a cozy atmosphere at a great price!!!

Room Tip: Though they do have a "swimming hole", plan on doing your swimming at the beach. After al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
18.4 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
13.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
119.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGate Hotel

Address: Route 989 Km .04 | Box 747, 00765-0747, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £66 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SeaGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first hotel still in operation. SeaGate Hotel is a unique, pet-friendly, secluded retreat with no two rooms exactly alike. Natural breezes or AC, some with kitchens, all have at least a small refirdgerator and microwave, tv with local channels (Cottage & CQ have Direct TV), balconies or terraces, ocean views, and Concierge service. Complimentary transportation upon arrival from airport or ferry. SeaGate Hotel - you're home. Ingles y Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SeaGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing