We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location right on the beach”
Review of Ababor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ababor Suites
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My 13-year-old son and I stayed at Ababor Suites for a week. We really couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Being on the beach was terrific--was a nice place to take walks in the morning or evening and was a great place for my son to do a little fishing. Note that we didn't actually swim in the ocean at Ababor. There's something of a jetty a little way off shore that creates a small "bay" of water that's ideal for wading--if you want to actually get into the ocean you'll need swim shoes, as it's very rocky past the jetty.

We stayed in the Media Luna suite, which was fine for two people. It's basic--but that's all you really need for this type of vacation. Having a cooler and beach chairs to use came in really handy, as we would pack the cooler with lunch/snacks for the day before heading out to the various beaches on the island. (I rented a Jeep Wrangler from Wanda which served us well.)

Wanda was terrific. She graciously picked us up at the airport when we couldn't get a taxi and graciously drove us back the day we left. The only negative about our stay at Ababor was that the front door didn't shut tight--so at night when it was windy (and it was very windy every night) the door banged against the frame, which kept me awake. My son, however, slept through it.

Unfortunately, it rained for two days during our stay (I'm talking monsoon-type rain) so we didn't get to visit all the beaches that we would have liked to. Here's a rundown, though:

Red Beach: very calm, but had the most people on it
Blue Beach: outstanding--great waves--deserted
Navio: outstanding--great waves--
Sun Bay: beautiful and calm--I could see how this beach could get quit crowded, but when were there it was empty
Green Beach: our favorite. This beach is located at the other end of the island (probably a 45 minute drive) and you have to tackle a very pot-holey dirt road, but the water is terrific for snorkeling. We didn't go to the "main" beach area here--we just chose a side path in which to park and walked down a short hill where we had the beach to ourselves. (We did go back a second day and were eaten alive by bugs, so we left immediately.)

We also took a Bio Bay tour, which I'd highly recommend, and did a half day fishing charter with Captain J., which was also good.

Overall, I can't say enough about Vieques--I would go back again. Just be careful when driving--there are wild horses, dogs, cats, and chickens everywhere.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you want.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cbucksred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Ababor Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

We choose to stay at Ababor for the location, location, location. This place is literally on the beach. As planner of our trip, the only request my boyfriend has was for me to pick a place that was on the beach. I did good.

We stayed in the Navio room which was very spacious. Everything was clean and cozy. Wanda, the owner, is so nice. She was extremely accommodating and made our stay perfect. We've decided this is the only play we'll stay when we come back. She has a Jeep and scooters you can rent too.

It's so quiet and peaceful at Ababor. Horses and puppies running around everywhere - its amazing. We fell in love with one stray dog on the island. We tried to take her to the Humane Society but they were closed on our last day. Thankfully, Wanda was able to take her to the shelter for us! How nice is that?! We're so lucky Wanda was able to take her because she had heart worms and probably would have died without care. We're still in the process of adopting that dog, hope to get her soon.

To sum it up, stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbalcius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Spent a week at Ababor Suites with my teen-aged daughter. Ideal place to get away, relax, and spend quality time together. Wanda is terrific - the first morning, the coffee maker did not work, and Wanda had a new one for me within an hour. The unit (Caracas) was extremely clean and tidy, and very cozy and comfortable as opposed to upscale or luxurious. Loved the huge porch, which became an extension of our living room, and the hammock. Would probably be cramped for more than 2 people. It was hot and muggy for a few nights, so we closed up after dark and ran the AC in the bedroom, which cooled the entire unit well enough to sleep. We rented one of their available Jeep Liberty's, which was a nice car and very convenient, and explored just about every beach on the island. Spent the last 2 days hanging at Ababor, where there's really nothing to do but sit on the beach, read, and play Yahtzee (came with the room), and that was perfect for us. We could also walk into town (Isabel II) and jog through the sidestreets of Bravos de Boston.

Room Tip: Liked the Caracas location and internet access.
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrgvtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

this is a good place to stay if you know the island and can be independent. we saw the innkeeper once in a five day stay. we called a couple of times with questions, and never got a call back. for example, a lightbulb burned out, and it was never replaced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessavelez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Had a great time at ababor suits. Stayed in the navio suite. Clean and neat.The beach is right outside your place. Very laid back. Easy to get to anywhere on the island if you have a rental jeep. We rented from Vieque's Car Rental. He was very informative and helpful. Kids loved the free kayaks outside our door and there was no one on the beach by our place. Go to the many other beautiful beaches on the island. We snorkled daily. Do the BioBay, you may never get another chance!

Room Tip: book you room and jeep rental early
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue12191956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

If you're truly serious about going someplace quiet, restful, on a beach, and with more horses and roosters than people within a mile radius - this is the place. You're at least a mile from anywhere you can buy so much as a soda, candy bar, or anything else. But, you can get to town in 15 minutes, or clear over to the Jimmy-Buffett-bar-scene on the other side of the island in Esperanza in 35 minutes.

Ababor Suites is well-built, spotlessly clean with tile floors, hot and cold running water, and
a virtually private (though actually open) beach right in front. BBQ grill and party gazebo
provided, along with wi-fi, cable TV, and phone. A great hideaway for serious writing.
I've seen a complaint about dump trucks going by on the road out front, but only heard three or four the whole week I was there.

I'll definitely be back. The only thing I'd do different would be to rent a Suzuki station wagon instead of one of those big wide Jeeps. (Vieques would save a ton of money if they'd restrict the width of the cars allowed on the island.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePorter090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Ababor Suites is 200 ft from a quiet sandy beach with an unobstructed view of the Carribean [not counting palm trees] whose only visitors are wild horses and beachcombers.
Rent a car [from Ababor] to get everywhere - many many beaches, restaurants, grocery markets, and the wilds of Vieques. Stay at Ababor and be away- have a car and be in everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baumrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
3.5 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
3.4 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
14.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ababor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ababor Suites

Address: Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £103 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ababor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites are a retreat into your Caribbean beachfront escape. Your quiet beach exploration vacation is waiting for you at Bastimento Beach. Listen to the waves or the sounds of the palm or bamboo trees swaying with the wind. Rest on the hammock on your private balcony or in the gazebo. Watch the waves or the local fishing boats go by. Observe the wild horses pass by. Unwind on your beach chair while the tropical waters bathe your feet. Explore in the provided kayaks or floating boards. At night, enjoy watching as many stars as you have probably never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ababor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ababor Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing