We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View with unexpected extras”
Review of Ababor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ababor Suites
Reviewed 8 February 2009

The view from our suite was amazing and the ocean could be heard in our room. I love Ababor. The accommodations were perfect for cooking and eating in and even some night time tv watching since sattellite tv is included. It was clean and comfy.
I loved the little black dog named Ginger. If you go be sure and give her a treat once in a while and she will be waiting for you when you come home at night.
We walked the beach and collected softened glass pieces that we used for mosaic creations. I found a beautiful shell too.
The water isn't great for swimming as it is rough and rocky much of the way out, but doable if you walk down just a bit. We had a jeep and everything on the island was accessible.
This side of the island has more locals and tradition. The other side is easy to get to and more artsy. If I ever get to go back I will stay at Ababor again. I loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peekachu143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

This is our third trip to Vieques and our second stay at Ababor Suites. This is the best place to stay with out a doubt. The rooms are large, clean and nicely appointed. The owner is nice and helpful. This is a quiet private place to stay with your own beautiful beach. Our patio has a great view of the beach and water. You get alot here for the price. Our favorite beach is Red beach, and our favorite restaurants are:
The Patio
Taverna
El Quenepo
Barefoot Bistro

I highly recommend Ababor Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AEboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Just returned from 4 days on Vieques and must say that I enjoyed our stay at Ababor Suites. They offer fairly simple accomodations and the grounds are beautiful. A nice beach to walk or for children to play in is really a mattter of a hundred yards from the front door. It is about 5 minutes out of Isabella II.

We actually had no interaction with management while we were there. When we arrived a young boy was outside playing and we asked him where we went to check in and he went into a building and returned saying that the manager wasn't there but the suite was open and the keys were on the table in the kitchen. We enjoyed ouserlves for 4 days and there were instructions to leave the keys on the table and lock up when we left. All worked out well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PhilaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Ababor Suites was fantastic! We had an absolutely lovely time from the moment we arrived. Management was extremely helpful and accessible prior to our trip, and provided us with all the assistance and preparation we needed before we arrived. The grounds are beautiful, the beach was fantastic and the room was comfortable and perfectly equipped for a relaxing week at the beach. It was great to stay somewhere that is the perfect distance from the town so that you can enjoy the space, peace and quiet that comes from being out of the commercial area, but can always easily get into town for dinner or a few drinks. We had some lovely walks to town, and even better evenings on the patio looking at the stars and listening to the ocean. This is the perfect place to go with someone you love!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FuzzBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

A Trip Advisor member Cape Cod Massachusetts.
We just returned from Vieques Island after a nine day stay at Ababor Suites. What a gem of a place. It is a hidden jewel on the island. If you are looking for a secluded, beach front, tranquil place to stay this is it. The property is beautiful!!! It is clean, quite colorful and well maintained. Plus it is less than a 100 yards from the beach. The beach has beautiful white sand and a coral reef that allows you to swim in a small bay of water before heading into the ocean. At times we were the only two on the beach and it was wonderful. You can see the islands of Culebra and St. Thomas from the beach and from the suites. If you love cooking the kitchen facilities are wonderful in each suite. There is also two great Gazebo's each with covered shelter and grills, tables and chairs. If you prefer to eat out you are ten minutes from Isabella and 15 minutes from Esperanza which both towns have great restaurants. The horses roam freely as you sit outside and enjoy the breath taking views. There was also two little dogs whom happen to adopt us and added to the ambience of the suites. Wanda was hospitable and if we needed anything she was available to us. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chef1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

My family and I stayed at Ababor Suites for vacation earlier this year and loved the place. We rented out all of the suites, but particularly liked the Media Luna suite. At night, we could lounge in the hammocks and barbeque on the patio area. The beach is calm and shallow - great for young children - and other beaches on the island are within short driving distances. This was a peaceful, beautiful, and secluded place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at Ababor after spending a week in St. Croix. The lower apartment was very cute and roomy enough for two people. It sits just off from a beach that would be great for children, but definitely not the most beautiful on the island. The only downside is the location...its close to the road(which seemed to have a lot of traffic during our stay) and the neighboring houses are under construction. Also, although the beach in front of Ababor is clean, a short walk on the beach to the west will lead to to another beach cluttered with trash and rusted automobile parts...not very charming and slightly disappointing. On the upside, Ababor is close to Isabel II, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The property is well maintained and the outdoor shower is great for washing off the sand and salt that accumlated after a day at the beach. In summary, if you're looking for resort life (ie the sound of waves lulling you to sleep, swimming pools, on-premise dining and maid sevice) this is not the place for you. If you want a cute, clean, comfortable place to return to after a day of exploring the island this is it! We will surely stay Ababor again when we return to Viques.

Other info about the island... we found that many restaurants are only open on the weekends (this could be due to traveling at the tail end of the off season). We absolutely loved the biobay tour and snorkeling at Mosquito Pier was great for a beginner snorkeler...the number of starfish is amazing!! We aslo loved the fact that every single beach on Vieques is different...it is definitely worth checking out all of them! Happy traveling!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JessicaBTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.6 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
457 reviews
14.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
390 reviews
18 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Guest House
Tropical Guest House
#3 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ababor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ababor Suites

Address: Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £104 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ababor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites are a retreat into your Caribbean beachfront escape. Your quiet beach exploration vacation is waiting for you at Bastimento Beach. Listen to the waves or the sounds of the palm or bamboo trees swaying with the wind. Rest on the hammock on your private balcony or in the gazebo. Watch the waves or the local fishing boats go by. Observe the wild horses pass by. Unwind on your beach chair while the tropical waters bathe your feet. Explore in the provided kayaks or floating boards. At night, enjoy watching as many stars as you have probably never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ababor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ababor Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing