We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Settling, management sub-par”
Review of Evamer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evamer
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Settling, management sub-par”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a nice stay at Evamer in August 2012. What a fabulous setting right on the ocean. The beach there is beautiful and we enjoyed walking there each morning and searching for sea glass, of which we collected quite a bit. The property appears very modest from the road, but once you set inside the security of its gates, you see the grounds including beautiful palms and flowering plants, along with a small pool, all set right on the edge of the ocean, with views of bots coming into the harbor at the town of Isabella II. This is probably one of the nicest settings on the island and was the starting point for our many great adventures we experienced on Viequez, including lots of beach time, snorkeling, the bio bay, horseback riding, and exploring.

Thew property includes a main residence, several separate rooms and cottages. We stayed in a cottage, which was smallish but very adequate for two. With the kitchenette we were able to prepare breakfast each day which we then enjoyed on our porch which had a view of the grounds, pool and ocean-very relaxing. The room itself was comfortable and well decorated, with cool AC which was nice for those warmer times at night, and lots of windows for taking advantage of the breezes. In many ways, we had a wonderful stay, but several minor and not-so-minor issues changed that impression and left the entire experience short of what it could have been.

As someone else pointed out, the kitchen had no spices or other housekeeping items whatsoever which we expected, not even salt and pepper, a minor inconvenience.

Getting problems fixed in a timely fashion was an issue.

We had no hot water in the bathroom sink throughout our visit (well over a week). We alerted the manager, Eva (who says she is the owner), on our first day of this problem which her handyman fixed by unhooking other plumbing and flooding the bathroom. And after this "fix", we had no hot water to the shower or the rest of the cottage either. So, yes, it was cold showers and boiling our water for 2 days. After waiting for her promised fix to the sink (which never came) we asked that the hot water to the shower be fixed at least, so we could take showers. Finally, this was taken care of on the third day. However, we never had hot water to the bathroom sink at any time. We were not offered access to any other rooms to shower, though this would seem to have been a reasonable fix as rooms were available.

We tried to use the adjacent hot tub but it did not work (never got hot).

Reading reviews, you hear about the great impression Mark, the previous manager, made on guests and their satisfaction with their stay. Well, he no longer works here and management of the details which make a place run smoothly appears to have suffered.

The current manager says her daughter handles all the business arrangements, including rates and payments. She used that as an excuse for not offering us any sort of accommodating for the inconvenience of having no hot water for 2-3 days. Yet we only dealt with her, financially and otherwise both in person and via email.

Overall, this is a wonderful property, in an amazing setting. The management side, however, had some very rough edges and was a concern. For our next trip, I plan to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: the best rooms overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montecfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Evamer for 4 nights and it was truly paradise.

The owners are incredible. They want to ensure you have a great time and are easy to contact via email or phone. Eva and Miguel were kind enough to even pick us up from the airport and bring us to Maritza's to rent our car!

We stayed at El Cottage and it was absolutely perfect. It has air conditioning, which we would use at night, but the rest of the time we left the screened shutters open and relaxed to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. I loved throwing open the double doors to our cottage and gazing out at the ocean. The owners provide coolers, an umbrella, beach chairs, and towels. There is a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, and utensils so that you can take home leftovers or prepare little meals if you want to.

The property has an infinity pool that allows you to look out at the ocean while you're swimming. We loved going to the beaches during the day, then coming back for a swim in the pool before getting ready to go out for dinner for the night. I can say that it was truly one of the most peaceful, romantic places we have ever stayed.

The location is great. You have a key that lets you access Seaglass Beach. We snorkeled there the last day and saw the most fish there. The drive into Isabel Segunda is about 5 minutes-so easy-and down to the Wildlife beaches it was about 10-15 minutes.

Like everyone else said, you hate for the secret to get out but it is such a perfect piece of paradise that you can't keep it to yourself!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravellingHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

On one of several trips to the island I stayed here with family. We were picked up at the airport by the property manager. Our rooms were amazing. Clean, spacious, and island feeling. The property is just breath taking. The ocean out front is great for pictures and strolling. The pool is a nice place to relax at sunset. I seriously wish I could give up my life in the states and live here!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had such a wonderful experience during our first visit to the island and Marc at Evamer was a huge help! We stayed in El Cottage, and enjoyed the fabulous view as well as the property. It was a very peaceful trip, though there were only a couple of other people there at the same time. Although the beach was too rough for swimming, we enjoyed walking and looking for shells and seaglass, and hearing the waves at night was very relaxing. Paco, the resident cat, was such a joy to have around and made it feel like home to us! The resident dog was not there the week we stayed, but the neighbor's dog followed us everywhere- he was a very sweet, young dog just wanting attention. There were some very minor things that could have used fixing or freshening up (as a few others have mentioned), but they all become part of the charm and you quickly fall into the ease of island life here. Can't wait until we can return!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed El Cottage, and the hammock on the porch especially!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKatOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Thank you Marc, for your hospitality. My husband and I loved the property. We were looking for a non resort type atmosphere and got exactly what we wanted. If you want a relaxing no stress atmosphere this is the place. The property is on Seaglass Beach (which still has more seaglass than you can imagine). The water on that side of the island is a little rough and there was a lot of wind. The cottages are quaint and have everything you need. The grounds have beautiful trees and flowering tropical plants. Marc had lots of recommendations and was spot on with everything. He was a fabulous host. Eva is lucky to have him. Can't wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Miracoco.....best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife & I had a great time at Evamer. We originally wanted to stay at another place in town, but it was sold out the days we were on Vieques. Evamer was out second choice. There are a few things around the property that need fixing up (the walkway to our condo was missing a few bricks, things like that) I don't want to overstate them, as they were minor inconveniences. Marc was an amazing host. He picked us up at the airport, made sure our time at Evamer was trouble free and offered lots of recommendations on places to go, eat and see. He's a super nice guy who turned a good place into a great one. If/when we make it back to Vieques, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here the week before Christmas and because it happened to be a slow week, we were upgraded to miracoco when we got there. This was a gorgeous place overlooking the water. Unfortunately we couldn't use the beach because the wind and waves were too rough while we were there. Our room was beautiful with a great balcony and it was great to stay somewhere off the beaten track. Marc, the manager, was very cool and helpful, sitting down with us at check-in and circling on a map all the great places to see and recommend restaurants and activities we should check out while there. Great place, great experience, would definitely return. We also stayed at hix island house which was very different but also great. We were glad that we were able to check out both places.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boynehausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
1.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evamer

Property: Evamer
Address: | Monte Santo Playa, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach on the north shore of Vieques, EvaMer has incredible views of the beach and ocean along with Culebra and the main island in the background. It is just 5 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from Isabella Segunda, the main town. Our rooms offer king beds, AC, cable TV, kitchenettes, private bathrooms, private patios and all come with beach chairs, towels and coolers. Assistance with car rental available as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evamer Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing