We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn tasty”
Review of Sorce

Sorce
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty darn tasty”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Since we stayed at the W for 8 days, we ate at Sorce numerous times. I would say with the exception of one off day, where a dish I had previously ordered was a bit of a mess, the food was pretty tasty. It is a resort restaurant on a small island so naturally the prices are a bit more expensive, but still on par with what you'd expect.

The best part of our meals at Sorce was Nenan, an awesome server, who made each experience awesome. If you save room for dessert, do yourself a favor and order the passion fruit sponge cake. It's magic on a plate and the shining star of the whole menu. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    31
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decidedly mediocre”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There is no compelling reason for you to eat here. Even if you are staying at the W and are 20 seconds from the restaurant, do not waste your time. The tuna poke was the most bland thing we've eaten in the last 2 years, and the entrees were uninspired. It was truly a disappointing way to spend a bunch of money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Javal is the best!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The food and dinner service at Sorce was great. But what really made our nights there special was our waiter Javal. We were here on our honeymoon and he was the only person at this resort who was interested in making us feel special on our honeymoon!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the W and had breakfast at Sorce and it was a horrible experience. The service was SO slow and that is the worst because you just want to be on the beach and the food wasn't good. I had eggs Benedict and my boyfriend had the mexican type dish and he didn't like it. The potatoes with my eggs benedict tasted stale. The experience was so bad we never wanted to try it for dinner. However, I did come back for breakfast because I just wanted a fresh fruit plate and I figured it couldn't be bad and it was TERRIBLE. Also, they took forever just to give me a menu and water. The fruit was not fresh and tasted horrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get full off the view!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I were really disappointed with Sorce because this is our 2nd time at the W. The first time we visited in 2012 and our favorite activity every morning was breakfast by the sea. They had homemade jam then served with your fresh croissant order and the coffee was brewed through a French press. There was something so comforting and home away from home about that experience and they even offered morning papers such as the New York Times. This time it has been replaced with a continental breakfast buffet and everything felt very manufactured. The food is best described as hotel now but the view is still beautiful. If you don't feel like driving out, eat the view but expect to pay a lot for it.

P.S. For dinner, make sure you have a reservation or just drive out to Esperanza. Would probably be more worth your time and money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorce also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Sorce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing