We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Welcoming Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at theTropical Guest house recently during our first visit to Vieques.My daughter in law had made reservations for their room prior to us, and when I called to inquire about rooms, the process was easy and friendly. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Yolanda who took out a map and made restaurant, beach, and sight seeing suggestions. She also described the roads on the Island to us. We were passengers with my daughter in law and son, so that wasn't a real concern for us!

The Tropical Guest House is not a hotel with many amenities. It is, a comfortable, clean, convenient guest house. It is operated by friendly, lovely, caring people who go out of their way to make you comfortable. The breakfast (not included, but oh, so affordable) was delicious.

The owners care about Vieques, their property, and most importantly, the comfort and good time enjoyed by their guests. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeSpringfieldVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Tropical Guesthouse for 1 night as we were in Vieques for a weekend visit to the biobay. Although Maria was not around, Carla and Yolanda were very friendly, gracious and welcoming. This is great value for money - for $69 a night (in high season!), we got a basic, clean room with nice welcoming touches like the towels folded in the shape of animals, good coffee and fruits every morning in the lobby downstairs. The only thing I wish the rooms could improve on was that the shower was not hot and the water pressure was a little weak.

What really sealed the deal for me was when we arranged for a massage therapist to come to the guesthouse and they allowed us to have the massage set up downstairs in one of the empty rooms facing the soothing backyard as our upstairs room was small and did not have a view. This is a great place for visitors on a budget - love the service!

Room Tip: The larger family rooms on the first floor facing the backyard are nice, as the backyard has trees a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had never been to Vieques before and had a million questions regarding the logistics. Joe, Maria, Carla, and Yolanda answered all the questions which resulted in a stress free visit. They helped with taxis, excursions, etc. We have traveled extensively and have never encountered such a caring, helpful staff as we did at the Tropical Guest House. The guest house is charming and quaint, and service is very personalized. Don't forget to check out the gift shop which has VERY reasonably priced goods. Example, forgot or need more sunscreen? You can buy a 2 ounce tube for $2. Some helpful hints (which the staff of the Tropical Guest House will be more than happy to help you with): If you are going for nightlife/dinner and the bio bay tour, you do not need a car and the fare for the taxi to go from Isabela II (where the Tropical Guest House is located) to Esperanza (where the bio bays tours depart from) was $5 per person. Also, when you arrive in Vieques, ask at the ferry terminal about purchasing tickets for the return ferry. They may sell them to you. We were able to purchase them for the return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the guest house recently for a bio bay tour. The guest house was easily accesible from the passenger ferry as wel as from our jeep rental place. Now keep in mind this is not a hotel but a guest house so please manage your expecations in terms of room amenities. The staff at the guest house were friendly. We got to speak and share with the owners who are just a delightful couple. Their staff recommeded us places to eat lunch and dinner.

The rooms are very simple but comfortable enough for one night. We had no noise problems besides the roosters and no one can really take care of those.

I highly recommend eating breakfast at the house. The price was extremely reasonable and the foor was just really well cooked.

I cannot stress enough how friendly the staff was. This is not an average stay but a real adventure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank favioladg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a wedding relatively nearby from 29 Dec to 31 Dec. Karla, Maria, and Jose run this place like a true guest house should be run. A drink to greet you, even if its before check-in time, settling you in to your comfort, assistance with rental cars, taxis, etc. Our experience could not have been better.

We hope Jose and Maria keep this property, we would return on our next return to Vieques in a heartbeat. The ambiance at the property is that of a tropical neighborhood, not a high-end all-inclusive resort. Out and about after hours in Isabel II, the walk back to the property is pretty dark. This means your sky view includes penty of stars. You may see a few neighborhood dogs too, and they were very quiet. The guest house is very close to Ft Conde Mirasol.

As Vieques turns from boutique destination to a more well-rounded family destination that caters to not just North Americans ( it felt like our time there was one where we'd run into many New Yorkers ), I hope Tropical Guest House continues under the same ownership and expands to include meeting incoming guests at the dock with previous communication.

Breakfast here was delicious and very filling. Given the prices at most restaurants on the island, its a no-brainer, and freshly made to boot. We tried the french toast, eggs, pancakes, and a few juices. The coffee was excellent.

Great place to stay.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Willie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

As the name suggests, this is a guest house. The place is not a luxurious resort, but a simple place where you will be greeted with smile and love. Joe and Maria who run the place are always happy to accomodate you in any way possible. We arrived via ferry and called Maria for directions. To our surprise, she asked Joe to pick us up. We were greeted with a cold beer that was not even charged. They gave us all the local info and also arranged the taxis for us. Next day when we were leaving, Joe even volunteered to drop us to our destination.

The rooms are basic so dont expect much there. But those are kept clean and are comfortable. For the price they charge, it is value for money.The breakfast is not included in the stay, but they serve the homemade breakfast at just $4 per person.

We had a wonderful time in Vieques thanks for Joe/Maria.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I can't say enough about this place. When we first arrived, we met Maria, then Joe, then Yolanda who was on her way out the door from working there that day. Joe poured us all some cocktails while we registered. Talk about hospitality! Maria and Joe are just great and genuine people who want their guests to have a kickass experience. And we REALLY did. The room was great and SUCH a value! We had a view of lush green trees and the bright blue sky. It was AC'd. I forgot my passport and a bunch of crap in the nightstand (unbelievable) when leaving and Yolanda found us in the ferry line and handed it over!!! Kidding me? These people and the hotel are TOPS! Such a cute place. the shop there is great, too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
14.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
387 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Guest House

Address: E41 Calle Apolonia Gittings, 00765-3704, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £62 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Guest House is conveniently located in Isabel Segunda, on the north side of the island. We are walking distance to the ferry, the historical fort/museum, restaurants, and everything "town" has to offer. The beautiful beaches are only a few minutes drive away. Our 15-room guesthouse includes single and double rooms, as well as studios with small refrigerators. Studios can accommodate larger families and groups. All rooms in the guest house have private baths, A/C and TV. Relax in the TGH lounge. Free Wi-Fi internet available. One night stays are welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tropical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guest House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing