We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff and owners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best staff and owners!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed one night at the tropical guest house. We arrived early and they opened up and let us into our room to drop off our stuff. They made excellent recommendations for places to visit around the island for the the bio-bay tour. We joined the owners in their lounge/breakfast area after returning from our trips around the island. They were so warm and friendly. Great people to visit with. The rooms are just perfect for people spending the day roaming the beaches looking for an inviting place to crash at the end of the day without a big price and lots of fluff. We had breakfast there the next day and it was delicious. Fresh coffee, fresh fruit, homemade pancakes with cinnamon (amazing). I cannot say enough about how awesome this place is.

Room Tip: Have breakfast with them and grab a drink at night in the breakfast lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWhitneyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    50
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
98
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

As soon as we walked at the Tropical Guest House we were received like we were long time friends! Immediately felt comfortable and welcome. Everything was great. As far as the check in, Yolanda treated us very nice and Carla got us a really cold glass of water. Both were very friendly and informative. On the way to our room we met Ada, which was carrying a lot of cleaning supplies ( seemed odd since normally at the hotels we'd stayed, housekeepers use a housekeeping cart which they can move around more easily). We got to our room, and Yolanda opened it for us and all I saw was blue!... The floor (with no tiles) was a blueish/grey color, the blanket was blue, the walls were blue, the curtains were blue!!! Everything seemed blue and dark!! Even the lamp in the corner wasn't bright enough to brighten the room. The ceiling was what probably caught my eyes more... It was in such a bad condition that I was afraid it would fall on me! Getting over the fact of the color and the ceiling, we checked the room and it was very cleaned and smelled really good! That was a plus sign.

We drop our bags and headed to explore before our tour. The island itself is a beautiful diamond!! The beaches were super clean and calm, the people were very social and the Bio Bay was the most amazing experience we ever had. We highly recommend that tour if you go to Vieques. 

At the end of our tour we drove back to the guest house and were crazy to hit the bed!! We took a nice shower and when we got to the bed... Oh that bed!! It was so hard!! I understand they don't have a pool, it's a place to just drop your stuff, go out and sleep. But if it IS FOR SLEEPING there should be a very comfortable bed or at least one that you don't feel the springs!! We tried to sleep, but it was worthless!! Thanks God it was only for one night! We couldn't handle two!!!!!

Too bad we left the island at 6:30 am. There was no one we could talk to or any type of suggestion box where we could relay our experience. Well, we guess we'll be back to Vieques since we want to enjoy more of that paradiasic island. Not sure we'll stay at the same place though.....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Yolanda was extremely helpful, friendly and accomodating. She showed us everything on our map so we never got lost! The place looks exactly like the picture on their website. We had some trouble finding it, the road to it is narrow and easily missed in busy traffic. The room was old, but clean and the air conditioner worked well. There was a tiny tv in the room that you really couldn't see well, but I did not go to Isle of Vieques for TV! The bed was sooo very uncomfortable. It made awful noise anytime you moved (hate to think what the people next door heard and were thinking!) It was pushed up to one wall so was very hard to get in/out of if you were the one on the inside. The guest house was in a great central location--close to the ferry and the beaches did not take long to reach. Very quiet neighborhood. Even with the bed being uncomfortable, it was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at theTropical Guest house recently during our first visit to Vieques.My daughter in law had made reservations for their room prior to us, and when I called to inquire about rooms, the process was easy and friendly. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Yolanda who took out a map and made restaurant, beach, and sight seeing suggestions. She also described the roads on the Island to us. We were passengers with my daughter in law and son, so that wasn't a real concern for us!

The Tropical Guest House is not a hotel with many amenities. It is, a comfortable, clean, convenient guest house. It is operated by friendly, lovely, caring people who go out of their way to make you comfortable. The breakfast (not included, but oh, so affordable) was delicious.

The owners care about Vieques, their property, and most importantly, the comfort and good time enjoyed by their guests. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeSpringfieldVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Tropical Guesthouse for 1 night as we were in Vieques for a weekend visit to the biobay. Although Maria was not around, Carla and Yolanda were very friendly, gracious and welcoming. This is great value for money - for $69 a night (in high season!), we got a basic, clean room with nice welcoming touches like the towels folded in the shape of animals, good coffee and fruits every morning in the lobby downstairs. The only thing I wish the rooms could improve on was that the shower was not hot and the water pressure was a little weak.

What really sealed the deal for me was when we arranged for a massage therapist to come to the guesthouse and they allowed us to have the massage set up downstairs in one of the empty rooms facing the soothing backyard as our upstairs room was small and did not have a view. This is a great place for visitors on a budget - love the service!

Room Tip: The larger family rooms on the first floor facing the backyard are nice, as the backyard has trees a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had never been to Vieques before and had a million questions regarding the logistics. Joe, Maria, Carla, and Yolanda answered all the questions which resulted in a stress free visit. They helped with taxis, excursions, etc. We have traveled extensively and have never encountered such a caring, helpful staff as we did at the Tropical Guest House. The guest house is charming and quaint, and service is very personalized. Don't forget to check out the gift shop which has VERY reasonably priced goods. Example, forgot or need more sunscreen? You can buy a 2 ounce tube for $2. Some helpful hints (which the staff of the Tropical Guest House will be more than happy to help you with): If you are going for nightlife/dinner and the bio bay tour, you do not need a car and the fare for the taxi to go from Isabela II (where the Tropical Guest House is located) to Esperanza (where the bio bays tours depart from) was $5 per person. Also, when you arrive in Vieques, ask at the ferry terminal about purchasing tickets for the return ferry. They may sell them to you. We were able to purchase them for the return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTIMORE
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the guest house recently for a bio bay tour. The guest house was easily accesible from the passenger ferry as wel as from our jeep rental place. Now keep in mind this is not a hotel but a guest house so please manage your expecations in terms of room amenities. The staff at the guest house were friendly. We got to speak and share with the owners who are just a delightful couple. Their staff recommeded us places to eat lunch and dinner.

The rooms are very simple but comfortable enough for one night. We had no noise problems besides the roosters and no one can really take care of those.

I highly recommend eating breakfast at the house. The price was extremely reasonable and the foor was just really well cooked.

I cannot stress enough how friendly the staff was. This is not an average stay but a real adventure.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank favioladg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
450 reviews
4.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Guest House

Property: Tropical Guest House
Address: E41 Calle Apolonia Gittings, 00765-3704, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Guest House is conveniently located in Isabel Segunda, on the north side of the island. We are walking distance to the ferry, the historical fort/museum, restaurants, and everything "town" has to offer. The beautiful beaches are only a few minutes drive away. Our 15-room guesthouse includes single and double rooms, as well as studios with small refrigerators. Studios can accommodate larger families and groups. All rooms in the guest house have private baths, A/C and TV. Relax in the TGH lounge. Free Wi-Fi internet available. One night stays are welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guest House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing