We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location,beautiful view,nice owner.”
Review of Flamboyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamboyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went to Puerto Rico for my birthday with my boyfriend,he planed the whole trip.Thanks to him we spend 2 amazing days in Vieques Island.
Beautiful sunsets,restaurant downstairs,beach right across the street,grocery 10 min walk,complimentary coffee in the morning, what else do you need!
Donna(the owner) is very friendly and helpful.

Thank you,Donna
Maya and Siamak (Chicago)

Room Tip: Room #1 the best,has the biggest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya_Ko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice accommodations upstairs from a restaurant/bar. Our room had a balcony with seating. Good coffee & fresh continental-style breakfast in the morning. Free parking in back. A short walk to many places.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I went to Puerto Rico for the first time with my husband, and we decided to take a day trip to Culebra. We missed the ferry so we took the next one to Vieques instead. We got a shuttle ride to the town of Esperanza at Sunbay Beach nature preserve. It was already 3:00 p.m. when we got settled in and already had to turn around at 5:00 pm. I was tired and was looking forward to a leisurely day at the beach so I went to the cantina and asked about hotels in the area. I was told to call Duffy's restaurant and ask about available rooms. I was greeted in English by a waitress who handed the phone to Donna, who owns the Flamboyan hotel above Duffy's. I asked if she had a room, she confirmed and said she could take my credit card over the phone. She said she would leave the receipt in the room and left me keys in a convenient location. After swimming, I walked from Sunbay to Esperanza along the beach, and settled into a lovely and clean room with private bath, a balcony, and AC. Our view overlooked the ocean, and frankly this simple room was a lot nicer than our "resort" hotel room at the Wyndham Rio Mar near San Juan. We ate a fabulous dinner at Duffy's and then danced at a local bar. The music played loudly until 3:00 am, but it didn't bother us since it was a Saturday night after all. We had coffee in the morning, and Donna let us store our stuff at the hotel after we checked out so we could continue exploring. Cost for 2 adults, one night was $90 before tax. Great deal, awesome view, and convenient all around. We will be going back to the Flamboyan again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This time, we stayed here for four days. We enjoyed ourselves and slept great. We used the place as a hub for us to venture out all over the island. The view from our room is fantastic! The guest house provided beach gear, so you do not have to worry about bringing any.

Donna was a pleasure as always.

Room Tip: Room one is the best room to stay in. It has the largest balcony. The room had everything that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my first trip to Puerto Rico and we stayed the whole time on Vieques at the Flamboyan Guest House. The room was small but very clean and comfortable with a balcony that was perfect for breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. Looking out onto the Caribbean, the sound of the waves, ocean breezes, easy walk to spectacularly gorgeous Sun Bay beach, it was perfect. Right in the center of things in Esperanza.
Donna, the owner, was super nice and full of info. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at Flamboyan for 2 nights end of March. Both of our rooms were clean and comfortable. The location cannot be beat. Donna, the owner, is fabulous. the view...perfect.

I would highly recommend this little escape for anyone who is not HIGH Maintenance...it is perfect for those who love the laid back island life in a clean comfortable setting.

HINT....FLY OVER way more reliable then the ferry and FAST...what a pretty flight too. my vacation time is precious...I do not want to waste a minute on anything unreliable as the ferry service has a reputation for.

Room Tip: we loved the front rooms facing the ocean...nothing like waking up to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A long overdue review! My husband and I stayed at the Flamboyan in December for a few days and spend Christmas eve there.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right on the Malecon! Ideal for quick and easy access to the beach (sun bay), restaurants, 2 grocery stores (less than 5 minutes walk).

If you choose a room with a balcony (I believe only 1 or 2 rooms dont offer a balcony), you will have a gorgeous view of the Malecon and sea. Sunsets are great from there.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and there was ample space for storage. Bed was very comfy and we felt at home. Great balcony with a table, chairs. perfect for people watching, enjoying a drink and listening to music from cars nearby.

The bathroom was spotless, clean and had great water pressure. Plenty of towels to use, also beach towels, beach bag in the room. You can find lots of beauty products, shampoos , creams, etc left by other customers.

The owner is very friendly and helpful. Her son owns the restaurant downstairs "Duffy's", great service and food there too. Definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D, Owner at Flamboyan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for the thoughtful review and recommendation. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
3.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamboyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyan

Address: 140 Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, 00765-4005, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are commited to service and the comfort of our guests. Large terraces overlooking sparkling Caribbean waters offer fabulous sunset views. Our rooms are spacious, air-conditioned, and designed with a Caribbean touch. We will help you choose from a variety of adventures: kayaking diving, hiking, horseback riding and of course a trip to the world famous bio-lumenescent bay. With dozens of perfect beaches, you can try a different one every day. Design your vacation to be as active or peaceful as you wish. We are located on the Malecon in Esperanza above Duffy's Bar and Restaurant serving local seafood and specialty cocktails. We are steps away from a variey of excellent restaurants and gift shopping. Come join us. You will love Vieques! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flamboyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamboyan Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing