We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average budget hotel, a bit of climbing from the town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karibea Squash Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Croatia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average budget hotel, a bit of climbing from the town centre”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Budget hotel with basic features. The bathroom and the restaurant (breakfast) were not too clean. We had to ask twice for the third towel in the triple room (?!). Most of the staff seem to have a problem with any language but French. Be careful when asking for any instructions or services as they look as if they understand and later you discover that they gave you totally wrong instructions.
The hotel is uphill from the town centre, so prepare yourself to a bit of climbing after your shopping experience. Prices in Fort-de-France are at the same level as in mainland France, so there are no bargains at all, not even at the market place. All shops and souvenirs are similar and definitely too expensive for the level of service they offer. Taxis are rather expensive, too. The only "musts" are rum and spices, and these can be bought at the local shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    48
    48
    44
    14
See reviews for
10
43
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Coming to Martinique in early January was always going to be a trial as it is the island's busiest time, so we were surprised to be able to book here and at a slight discount. Fort de France does not have many hotels which makes it more of a challenge and the reports were mixed and varied. We arrived on the Express des Iles from Castries, St Lucia and quickly found a taxi which wound its way out of town giving us the initial impression we were going to be a long way from the centre. In the event we found we were only 15 minutes walk from the centre and the ferries to the beaches on the south side of the bay. The hotel was clean and the room bigger than one usually expect in France. It had a nice view over the bay. The restaurant was covered but outdoors where your inclusive breakfast was provided on a buffet basis and a pleasant variety to suit all. Off this was the bar and the small swimming pool. The staff were all very helpful and spoke English when some of my French failed.

Room Tip: Get a room facing south to enjoy the morning sun. You will need a taxi to and from the hotel when ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wladyslawowo, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After booking a cheap last minute getaway to the Evripides in June 2012, we decided to have a read of the hotel reviews before travelling and straight away started worrying that we had made a big mistake and that it was going to be awful!! The journey from the airport to the hotel made our fears worse as we were the last and only ones to be dropped off there and when we got off the coach, we couldn't see any other people around despite it being two o'clock in the afternoon and gloriously hot. After checking in we made our way to our room and we were pleasantly surprised. It was large, clean and the views. There was a new toilet roll everyday, which we weren't charged for again despite what previous reviews have said. Our sheets were changed twice and the towels three times during our one week stay and the room was cleaned daily.The staff at the hotel were overall quite pleasant but they didn't bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. Don't get me wrong they were very friendly when they were speaking to you but considering how quiet it was at the hotel (not many guests at all) you would think they would be trying to encourage you to stay at the bar to spend your money but they made no efforts to create an atmosphere ...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We just spent two nights at the hotel during a last minute trip to Martinique for Carnival. As we arrived by ferry from St Lucia, we walked off the boat and into the parade, making it impossible to get a taxi to the hotel. It is a bit of a hike from the downtown, but we were warmly greeted and the room was nice.
We were tired and hungry and decided to have dinner in their restaurant. The prices were on the high side, but given the option of walking all the way back to town to eat we decided to give it a try. They were out of everything on the menu we tried to order and they just didn't seem to give a darn. We left and went back to the receptionist who graciously offered to order a pizza for us. We did and cancelled the breakfast option we had taken given the attitude in the restaurant.
Also because it was Carnival our booked return ferry to St Lucia was cancelled forcing us to return a day early. The hotel was fine about it, no cancellation fee or problems with booking out early to get a ferry back. BUT trying to get Expedia to cancel and refund us for the extra night we could not use has been so painful and ridiculous to the point of sheer exasperation. One song and dance after another, even after informing them as soon as we found out the ferry return change. The won't help you via email, one has to call them direct and let me tell you long distance calls from the caribbean ain't cheap!
Yes I should have booked direct with the hotel and would of if I could have called them direct, but the phone lines down here aren't always working so booked it online. I will NEVER book anything with Expedia again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maple_Lane_Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2005

Stayed here for two nights in June 2004. It's a convenient location if you have business in Fort de France. and the room rates are reasonable...but the hotel is cheaply constructed with bits of trim missing. The windows in our bedroom had warped and no longer shut, making the air conditioning ineffective. Most of the staff were unfriendly and had a poor attitude to customer service. My request for a towel to take to the pool could not be met - they didn't have pool towels and what towels they did have were kept under lock and key and the housekeeper ( who kept the key) was not in the hotel! The hotel seems to have problems with on-line reservations. We booked on line using Opodo who had already debited my credit card for the room charge at time of booking. The hotel tried to charge my credit again and it took a lot of arguing to disuade them, despite having printed vochures and email booking confirmations from Opodo. To my horror, in December 2004, six months after my stay, the hotel has put the room charge through on my credit card and we are still arguing about the refund.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank sjdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort-de-France hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-de-France
0.4 mi away
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fort-de-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fort-de-France
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Bateliere
Hotel La Bateliere
#1 of 1 in Schoelcher
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel
Bayfront Hotel
#7 of 8 in Fort-de-France
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.4 mi away
Centre International de Sejour Martinique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibea Squash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibea Squash Hotel

Property: Karibea Squash Hotel
Address: 3 Boulevard de La Marne, Fort-de-France 97200, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Fort-de-France > Fort-de-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karibea Squash Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karibea Squash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibea Squash Hotel Martinique/Fort-De-France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing