We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Relaxed Eccentricity”
Review of La Suite Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Suite Villa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trois-Ilets
Certificate of Excellence
Barbados
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Relaxed Eccentricity”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

One of the few really good hotels on Martinique, La Suite Villa was a brilliant choice for my family of four. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage which was very well equipped, clean, modern and well designed. Breakfast was included in the rate and that was excellent. Manon dealt with our reservation (and our poor French) and was extremely helpful. The Zandoli Restaurant is very good, but the cuisine is somewhat sophisticated for children - a few choices geared towards kids would be a bonus. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zerobajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    77
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
72
203
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a gorgeous place! La Suite Villa is a destination in itself. Every corner is beautifully appointed, tastefully and with fun. Rooms are smaller in the main building, villas are huge. We stayed in both; we find main building accommodations simply unique. Needless to say, clean and efficiently cleaned every day by the time you return back from the beach (but not sterile, normal tear and wear might show here and there, no disappointment though). Staff is incredible; everybody is friendly, patient to ones poor French and willing to make your stay enjoyable. Anything and everything is done immediately, should you only ask. In reality there is not much to ask for as every need is foreseen and satisfied. Owners are making it a point to make you feel welcome and at home, no expense is spared. Still, there is no feeling of Bed and Breakfast, where you are forced to hide from excessive attention of owners. Quite opposite: the owners are a great couple, educated, smart, funny, a pleasure to be around - somebody whom you would want to be friends with in your everyday life. Management stops at nothing to satisfy any request and help make your stay a real holiday.
The restaurant Le Zandoli is above and beyond any dream. ALL the dishes were outstanding, deserts to die for, presentation exceptional, the chef is easily one of the best on this Earth. And again – there is no “no”. You want foie gras – they will fly it for you from France. Service at the restaurant is impeccable, but not official, rather very personable. Delicious breakfasts and every dinner – an event to look forward to.
Martinique is a beautiful island, with many things to see, nice shopping, wonderful restaurants. A car is a must, but to be honest, we enjoyed La Suite Villa so much that hardly wanted to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arcadianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

There is very little to add to what all the recent reviews say about this hotel, as I agree with almost everything that has been said about the accommodation, the excellent staff and its top quality in-house restaurant. But in some ways it is a triumph of style over substance for which one is charged a very considerable premium. And our room, actually in the hotel rather than outside in a villa, was not the most expensive. Yet despite the high room rates there is a surcharge for any coffee/tea used in the room - cheeky!
A word of warning. The hotel's location at the top of a long and steep hill does mean there are very good views across the bay to Fort de France but, it also means a very strenuous walk to the local beaches. And even if you have a car, parking near the beaches is a nightmare.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel have the better views; the villa accommodation in the grounds less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a diamond - and not in the rough - hotel. It is loaded with modern impressionist art and the design of this hotel and the spaces within are absolutely mind blowing. The restaurant is one of the finest on this island.
If there are any drawbacks, it is not close to any beach. The closes shopping is about a good 20 minute walk down a substantial hill (and up this hill upon return). A car is a must since taxis are very expensive on Martinique.

Room Tip: Rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heitmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at La Suite Villa for six nights over the Christmas holiday. Overall, we were very pleased with our visit, and I would highly recommend La Suite Villa to others contemplating a visit to Martinique. A few particulars:

1. The staff is excellent. Everyone is friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The owners went out of their way to accommodate our travel schedule. They arranged for a car to pick my wife and I up at midnight, and one of the owners was there waiting to greet us upon our arrival to carry our bags to the room and explain the hotel. Furthermore, we had a very early departure flight, and accordingly, the owners took time from their dinner hosting activities (a solid 30 minute, friendly conversation) to check us out early, discuss our stay and arrange for an early breakfast. Whenever an issue arose (whether it was the rental car charging us twice, etc…), the staff were happy to assist.

2. We stayed in a mini-suite in the main complex (La Suite Villa consists of six suites in the main complex and numerous, larger villas on the hill below). The room was small, but adequate. I fear that a six-foot plus individual may feel cramped in the shower and toilet (due to the sloping walls), but it was fine for my wife and I. With that said, the room had very large windows with a million dollar view of Fort-de-France. It was a real pleasure waking up each morning to such a view. The hotel itself is very stylish (bordering on to stylish for my tastes). It is an extremely unique atmoshphere (one that I will not soon forget!)

3. La Suite Villa offers a complimentary breakfast each morning (both cold (bread, pastries, yogurt, cereal, cheese, etc..) and warm (ham, eggs, etc..) foods). It was an excellent start to each day.

4. If you are to visit Martinique, I highly recommend renting a car. Martinique (unlike St. Barts and St. Marten) is an enormous island. It takes you hours to drive from the north to the south of the island. Hence, in order to fully appreciate the island, do rent a car. If you do, La Suite Villa has a convenient, gated parking lot below the villas.

5. La Suite Villa has an excellent restaurant – Le Zandoli. The vast majority of the courses were prepared to near perfection (absent one or two meat dishes), and the desserts were beautiful and delicious. It is very convenient (after a long day at the beach) to simply walk down the stairs to one of the nicest restaurants on the island (and based upon my experience, in the Caribbean). The chef produced works of art (it was a real treat to eat at such a restuarant).

6. In the end, I had only three complaints. First, the safe in our room was broken. We informed the staff, and they said that a technician was required to fix it. Unfortunately, it was never fixed (but it was the holiday season - so I understand). Second (and this is more of a complaint with the island), very little English is spoken. I can only speak a little French (based upon my high school days). Therefore, our language skills were tested (and we have been to St. Barts, St. Marten and France). With that said, a few of the staff spoke very good English, and those who did not were extremely patient with my poor French. We had fun trying to communicate (but at times, it was stressful). Lastly (and I am being picky here), the sheets, while clean, were slightly discolored and stained in certain areas, and the chairs outside our room (on the third floor) were torn and dirty looking. With the amount of money being spent each night, I would typically expect clean/new linens and decent chairs. But again, I am searching for criticisms.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. If we return to Martinique, I am confident we will stay at La Suite Villa and dine at Le Zandoli. The owners and staff really go out of their way to make you feel at home during your stay. I highly recommend La Suite Villa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrepBJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and l, plus two friends, stayed five nights at La Suite Villa at the end of November. We travelled over from St Lucia on the Express des Iles ferry. We rented a villa which consisted of two bedrooms and a central common area with sofa, tv and kitchen. More importantly, it had an outdoor area with a hot-tub which we used every night to chat, drink champagne and gaze at the fabulous views over to Fort de France and the thousands of stars that lit up the sky.
We loved everything about La Suite Villa. The hotel is filled with amazing, crazy art. Paintings, sculptures, furniture, light fittings, even the building itself, all have a signature flair that reflects the unique style of the owners. The staff are very friendly and most speak very good English. They were very gracious about our schooldays French and we had lots of fun turning the clock back to converse with the staff.
The food in the main restaurant was fabulous, the whole restaurant/bar area is beautifully lit and again, has stunning views. The breakfasts were excellent.
The hotel is set on a hill overlooking La Pointe du Bout on the outskirts of Trois Illets. The walk down to La Pointe du Bout is very easy but the walk back is steep and may not suit everyone. The small resort of La Pointe du Bout has lots of good shops and many excellent restaurants. There is a lovely sandy beach and a small marina from which you can catch a ferry to Fort de France costing a few Euros. You can also book boat trips from here and we had an excellent day travelling up to St Pierre which included an encounter with approximately 80 dolphins - great fun.
We went on the ferry to Fort de France and had a wonderful day visiting Le Jardin de Belata, using local transport, and exploring FDF. We had a wonderful four course lunch, including two drinks, for a set price of 9.50 Euros in the upstairs restaurant in the old market. Amazing value and such friendly service.
We hired a car one day to explore the south of the island. The hotel organised it for us and it was an incredible 39 Euros, all in! We visited some charming little resorts with great beaches; Le Marin with its large marina and finally the stunning beach south of Sainte-Anne. The beach was approximately three miles long, palm-fringed, with wonderful white sand which gradually shelved into the warm Caribbean sea.
A few words about Martinique. It is like the south of France but with more palm trees! It is part of France and so attracts European funding. As a result the infrastructure is just like you would find in France. The roads, signage, facilities etc are way in advance of what you typically find elsewhere in the Caribbean and there is far less of the deprivation you find in many Caribbean communities. The population includes lots of mainland French who have gone there to set up businesses or retire there. As a result you will find English is spoken in most shops and restaurants. Elsewhere you need to be able to speak a few words of basic French. I would estimate that 90% of the tourists are from France. The only direct flights from Europe are from Paris. You can fly direct from Canada but from the USA the only flights are American Airlines via Puerto Rico. This means that Martinique is neglected by most Caribbean travellers. It is entirely reliant on the French economy and the French are not noted luxury hotel visitors. This means there are few five and four star hotels on the island. However, La Suite Villa fills that gap exceptionally well and we thoroughly recommend it for a unique Caribbean experience.
Great food, stunning vistas, glorious beaches and French flair.
We are regular visitors to St Lucia, staying at Sugarbeach (Jalousie Plantation) and this addition to our itinerary was such a success we shall definitely be including Martinique as part our travel plans to St Lucia in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PharmaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayeffe, La
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We thought we would try a new spot in Trois Ilets this trip. Previously we have stayed at the Bakoua in the south and St. Aubins on the northeast coast. The La Suite Villa is truly one of the most friendly and accommodating places in which we have stayed . We arrived very late in the evening after a six hour lay-over in Puerto Rico. We were relived to have such a warm welcome at such a late hour from Gilles and Valentine. We were given a tour of our villa, complete with hot tub! An unexpected surprise came in the form of a delicious cheese board from the kitchen. The next morning we delighted to find a beautiful patio, and bar area to enjoy. The mini kitchen has everything one might need for preparing small meals. The beds are comfortable and the A.C. works well. It was so nice to have two toilet areas, and a shower that functioned with lots of hot water. The breakfasts that we were offered were very good even though we tried not to eat too much since there is excellent food everywhere on the island. It is true that they are not located on the beach, but the service and staff are superior. Valentine spent a lot of time with me on day two trying to get my car rental straightened out. Thus we had wheels!! Touring the island is very interesting, and definitely the way to meet people. When we returned we dined in the restaurant and loved our meal which was delicious and very inexpensive by island standards for a top flight meal. It is possible to choose either the two or three course plates, which is helpful for small appetites.
We will definitely return to La Suite Villa on our next stay. Almost forgot my most important comment. EVERYONE helped me to use my French, which is one of the reasons that we visited Martinique. Not to worry about a language barrier here, since many people on the island have at least an adequate command of English. A beautiful, friendly island-we look forward to our next visit and return to the Villa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank southernbelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois-Ilets
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
17.5 mi away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bambou
Hotel Bambou
#3 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence du Village Creole
Residence du Village Creole
#6 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bakoua
Hotel Bakoua
#7 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suite Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite Villa

Property: La Suite Villa
Address: Route du Fort d'Alet | Anse Mitan, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Trois-Ilets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trois-Ilets
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trois-Ilets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Suite Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Suite Villa is Ideally located in 3 Ilets to explore all the richness of Martinique. Our 5-star boutique hotel is incontestable in its design; the view on sea and Fort de France bay will seduce you. Our personalized attention will make you feel right at home. Couples will appreciate the sensuality of our suites, families and friends will enjoy the intimacy and comfort of our villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Suite Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite Villa Hotel Trois-Ilets
La Suite Villa Martinique/Trois-Ilets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing