We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the best in Martinique”
Review of Hotel Bakoua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bakoua
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Trois-Ilets
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location for the best in Martinique”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Bakoua for our week-long stay on Martinique. The Trois-illets area is a great home-base for exploring the beaches on the island. We stayed in a beach-front room which was nicely appointed, although a little on the small side. We enjoyed the little screened-in sitting area outside our room for working and having a drink.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the menus looked good. The beach, although man-made, is nice and there are plenty of chairs around the beach to hang out. My only complaints are that the beach chairs are in need of replacement - they are old and uncomfortable- and the pretty negative-edge pool looks a little tired. We especially liked the little beach hut out on the water - great for grabbing a drink or a great sandwich for lunch.

The staff was very friendly, and helped me with my poor French. Overall, Martinique was a lovely island and we would not hesitate to come back to Hotel Bakoua for our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room - (rooms 25-29) or better yet, ask about the little Vanilla Suite on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    269
    202
    100
    68
See reviews for
132
378
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

There were any number of incidents throughout our week long stay that point to very poor management. A very complacent staff attitude was prevalent throughout. The front desk was remarkably uninformed and unconcerned about answering the most simple requests. I mean something so simple as directions to a nearby restaurant, inquiry about where a shop might be that we could buy a bottle of wine etc. The beach bar which had a great vantage point for sunsets closed each day before 4 pm. The gift shop was vacant but looked like it was being prepped to open for "high" season (we left onDec 17). Our room wasn't made up until late every afternoon I did not expect fresh towels everyday and hung them up most days but when I put them in the tub I expected they would be replaced. They were not.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel probably looks exactly the same as it looked in 1980; the long chairs on the beach witness that period. Service is just miserable, no beach towels if you don't have the right card (which someone was supposed to give you at the reception but didn't), no food if you arrive after 3pm (although 24 hour restaurant is advertised in bold characters at the entrance), no assistance whatsoever. But this is Martinique for you! We strolled the entire island, from the North to the South, from the East to the West. This hotel is a perfect illustration of what we have seen: everything is way too expensive (even compared to Parisian prices), the service is non-existent and no one seems to be bothered by the desolate state of their surroundings.... The highlight of the hotel is the beach which is cute albeit not the nicest one in Martinique. So our advice is: travel to another island or manage well your expectations! (definitely avoid coming for a honeymoon, you will for sure be disappointed)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luca_paccioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trois-Ilets hotels

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Martinique. We know very little French. Hotel Bakoua offered a nice home base for the exploration of the island. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were nice and in a great location. We travelled all over the southern and eastern portions of the island and didn't encounter anything even close to the quality Bakoua offered. It was a safe environment located close to shops and restaurants. There was a ferry to Fort de France, a casino, and a marina in close proximity to the hotel.
The rooms were adequate and clean. The beach was nice and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was always a nice start to the day. I really have no complaints about this hotel. There were no vending machines but there was a mini fridge in the room. With a little planning you could buy drinks and food in one of the shops downtown and stock the fridge with late night snacks.
We didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant mostly due to our desire to explore the island. It did seem a little expensive but I'm sure the quality was very high. The bar was open late even if there were a few people there. The prices at the bar were reasonable and the servers were very attentive.
The new manager met us the first night and was very helpful. The staff seemed to work very hard and long days but seemed cheerful.
If we go back to the island, we will definately stay here again. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSUfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois-Ilets
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carayou Hotel & Spa
Carayou Hotel & Spa
#4 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bambou
Hotel Bambou
#3 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence du Village Creole
Residence du Village Creole
#6 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
120 reviews
3.4 mi away
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fort-de-France
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bakoua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bakoua

Property: Hotel Bakoua
Address: La Pointe du Bout, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Trois-Ilets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Trois-Ilets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bakoua 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast of the island, in the heart of the seaside resort of Trois Ilets, Hotel Bakoua enjoys a privileged location for both business trips and for your leisure stays. Beach with deck chairs, swimming pool, wellness area, bar on stilts are all assets that will make your stay an unforgettable moment in Martinique. Idyllic setting for your vacation or honeymoon, authentic colonial legacy of its past family home will entice you. 2 Restaurants offer the best of Creole gastronomy. Delicious dishes reinvented daily by our chef. 2 Bars, the Gommier and the Coco bar offers a variety of tasty cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bakoua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Trois Ilets
Bakoua Hotel Trois Ilets
Sofitel Trois-Ilets
Trois-Ilets Sofitel
Hotel Bakoua Martinique/Trois-Ilets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing