We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half the Cost of Other Caribbean Islands”
Review of Gingerbread Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montserrat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread Hill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My boyfriend and I loved Gingerbread Hill and the Heavenly Suite. We stayed in the Heavenly Suite for eight nights in late February/early March 2011. On other Caribbean islands, we would and have paid more than twice as much for the equivalent of the bedroom, the bathroom and the view at the Heavenly Suite. At Gingerbread Hill, we even got a full kitchen (something we’ve never had before) and a living room. The view from the balcony was amazing. The personal touches throughout the Heavenly Suite made me feel like I was at the home of a friend who really knew how to take care of visitors. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from the balcony and the stars from the sun deck. The people on the island were consistently friendly, helpful and chatty. Sunny’s tour was great! For the first time on a Caribbean trip, we ended up spending more on our flights (to Antigua from the U.S. and then on FlyMontserrat for 20 minutes) than we did on accomodations and food in nine days on the island. Gingerbread Hill is the kind of place I can see myself coming back to over and over again. One final note, we had a look around the 2-bedroom unit underneath ours and it was really nice, too. In addition to the 2 bedrooms, that unit had 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, a living room, a covered porch, and an awesome view) for the same price. We were a little envious of the covered porch since the sun drove us inside every day around 2:00pm up in the Heavenly Suite. I can imagine coming back to Gingerbread Hill and taking up all the units with my family for an amazing, island vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clovis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2011

Gingerbread Hill " is located on the top of the hill and the view is stunning.
We have rented different villas in Montserrat in prior years , but none of them had the view comparable to Gingerbread Hill. Both Heavenly Suite and The Villa are tastefully decorated and the attention is given to all the details. Owners are wonderful and you can have fresh eggs from their chickens .
Tour with Sunny was the highlight of our stay. It was customized tour for two of us.
Sunny spent with us almost all day to cover all we wanted to see.
We travel all over the world , but Montserrat and Gingerbread Hill is a very special place.

Thanks David, Clover and Sunny for making it possible

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in the Heavenly Suite and wished it could have been longer. Gingerbread Hill really is the closest thing to heaven on earth. I had high expectation of Gingerbread Hill before arriving. Gingerbread Hill exceeded my expectations. The views were magnificant. The apartment is large and comfortable. The shower had boiling hot water. It is so peaceful at night and was nice to be woken up by the sound of crowing roosters. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable about the island. We even ordered homemade cinnamon buns from their daughter-in-law and these were a wonderful treat for our morning breakfast. All in all I would recommend Gingerbread Hill to anyone that enjoys the wonders of nature and Montserrat is a great island for rest and relaxation. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Montserrat is a very special island with stunning views, good weather and warm people.
All of these features are manifested no more strongly on the island than at Gingerbread Hill.
For those of us fortunate enough to have stayed at Gingerbread Hill and enjoyed the ambience,
views and, abve all, the super hospitality and friendliness of the Lea family, we are indeed blessed.
I cannot think of a better place to be.
Thank you Clover, David, Noah, Jesse and Sunny for the life altering experience

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank XYZ231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

All the recent posters have nailed it so no sense in repeating the obvious! Great people, great location, great tours (Sun & Green Monkey-Plymouth Tour), great Island, great value!

Clover and family could not have been more friendly and accommodating, each and everyone of them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjgalusha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

There are no fresh mangoes and oranges, or chickens laying eggs and the hot water doesn't really work, but none of that matters. It made for a very nice long weekend.

We arrived in March for a long weekend and stayed in the Heavenly Suite. It was very nice and as advertised for the most part. As others have noted, it can be a bit loud, from the club or whatever it is just over the hill playing music into the night or the roosters and baby goats making noise all day, but it really doesn't detract from the experience at all. The accommodations were spacious and clean with beautiful views of the island

The Clovers were very friendly and helpful at times, at other times they seemed to be too busy to help you with some questions, but it was understandable as there was a lot going on at the time. More often than not they were very friendly and offered us rides to the store on occasion and if they were heading into town were more than willing to drive you in and drop you off. Hiking down to Bunkum Bay Beach wasn't very far at all and it was beautiful with the most colorful rocky beach you've ever seen. There's a local market (King's) and a small eatery (People's place) nearby that are more than adequate.

It was a great trip and Montserrat itself is absolutely gorgeous. A few tips: Definitely take the island tour with their son Sonny, he's a great guy, an excellent tour guide and will literally take you everywhere it is legal to go at the time. Know the current exchange rate at all times, Montserrat is a bit impoverished and about half the people will be constantly trying to nickle and dime you for everything. When paying in US currency everyone will tell you the EC dollar is doing great, so that you should pay them more US than you would think, but when paying in EC, all of a sudden the EC dollar is doing poorly and you'll need to pay even more, so know your exchange rate and do the math yourself. I don't think it was intentionally deceitful on anyone's part, but it was uncanny how it always seemed to sway in their favor. Sonny, Gourmet Garden's restaurant and the Green Monkey were about the only exceptions to this we found.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twoflewover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover L, Owner at Gingerbread Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hmmm....This is the first I've ever heard about people nickel and diming anyone or ripping anyone off in the currency exchange. We've never had anyone else experience that here. (And we have not personally experienced this is the 36 years we've lived here.)

Regarding the noise level, that club one ridge over, is no longer in business, so loud music is not usually heard in the distance unless now nd then during a festival time or if someone is having a party! ;-) (March is when we have our huge St Patrick's Week celebration. It is a VERY busy and interesting time here!)

So very sorry if we seemed too busy at times to take care of you properly. Thanks for the tip! We'll be more careful to try to not act so busy even if we are! We want our guests to feel loved and welcome.

Regarding mangoes, they are only available in mango season, which is usually June and July, but sometimtes comes early or late. We have LOADS of mango trees, but if it's not mango time,..you won't be able to eat any. ;-) Regarding citrus trees, they are usually bearing around Christmas time, but the lime trees bear more often. Regarding eggs, we always have them, except for once in a while when the Girls go on strike,in which case, there will be no eggs,or very few, for several days to a week.

THank you for your feedback. We appreciate it as we need to know how to improve the GIngerbread Hill experience!

Blessings,

Clover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Just back from seven weeks at Gingerbread Hill. We stayed in the Villa, a wonderful apartment with a large open area under roof, protected from sun and rain. We had all our meals there, spent time reading or just enjoying the view and the subtropical breeze sitting on the swing.

The Villa is Feng Shui perfect. The view over the sea felt just right all through the day as the sun moved to the west. The sunsets were spectacular. David told me that before he built the house he spent time climbing ladders and trees to find the perfect location for the house. (The Heavenly Suite on the top floor has the most spectacular view but we preferred the Villa where we felt truly grounded with the roosters and goats roaming around.)

Some younger guests were great hikers and roamed all over the island on foot and occasionally by minibus. If you walk along the road (no sidewalks) you are likely to be offered a ride. We are an elderly couple and were grateful to have a car.

We found four or five restaurants that were very good, even excellent (Olveston, Tina's). People are truly friendly and enjoy a chat with strangers. Montserrat is definitely different.

The gardens were dry from lack of rain but even so we picked divine grapefruit, oranges, and mangos. Clover sold us great eggs (when the hens cooperated) and her daughter-in-law makes a perfect granola and great pies.

We stayed for seven weeks and wished it could have been longer. It was long enough to experience the volcano's various moods. On some days the ash fall could be troublesome but as ash covered flowers the hummingbirds flocked to our bird feeder in large numbers, keeping us company the whole day.

There is so much more we would like to tell you, but other reviewers have covered most of the points. Gingerbread Hill is for nature lovers, for savoring the quiet nights in cool trade winds.

It is for energetic 30 something who are great hikers and for 70+ who savor a slower pace. We came for Peace and found Serenity too.

Thank you Clover and David

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GKSMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gingerbread Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Hill

Address: Virgin Island Road | P.O. Box 246, MSR1330, Montserrat
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Montserrat
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montserrat
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gingerbread Hill is a breezy 900 feet above sea level: 3+ tropical acres with a lovely swimming pool, gardens, and spectacular views of both the Caribbean Sea and the lush mountain rain forests! It is owned and operated by the Lea family (aka The FamiLea) with four self-catering guest lodgings, ranging from simple to sublime - something for everyone! Rates range from $us50 to $us175 per night plus 7% gov tax. The Heavenly Suite and the Two Bedroom Villa are complete apartments with all the comforts of home. Airport and ferry transfers are complimentary (except earliest AM ones.) We personally meet you upon arrival and help you with everything you'll need, including obtaining local driver's license, rental vehicle, and even a grocery and cooked food stop on the way home. We're happy to help you arrange island tours, diving, hiking, and any other activity you'd like to do. We live on the property too, just up the driveway, so we're available to assist you as needed. There are several small restaurants, within easy walking distance,including our own non-profit Hilltop Coffee House,which is also a museum, gallery and visitor's centre - just up the hill. It is the place we use for meetings or small conferences, off-hours (afternoons and evenings.) Webinar capable. WiFi hot spot. We have our own free range (in their designated space) laying hens who give us lovely brown eggs, and we have homegrown fruits,herbs & veggies available according to season. The Two Bedroom Villa and the Heavenly Suite have been recently renovated with new furniture, and much more. Our very newest addition is a lovely swimming pool,completed July 2017! We (David, Clover and Sunny) came to Montserrat in 1980, fell in love with it, and have called it home ever since. The number of Leas presently living on island is 8, including Sun's wife and three children, with more Leas scattered abroad. David has produced, among other things, the comprehensive DVD documentary series, "The Price of Paradise," which covers, in real time, the eruption of Montserrat's Soufriere Hills volcano, and he's written a book about it. Clover is also a writer, musician and artist. These items and many others are available at their non-profit centre, the Hilltop Coffee House, just a short walk up the ridge from Gingerbread Hill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Hill Montserrat, Caribbean
Gingerbread Hill Hotel Montserrat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing