We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gingerbread Hill
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Montserrat
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
82
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly suiteisland tourcoffee housebeautiful placemango cottagegrocery storebreathtaking viewsgreat guyhamsday triptwo bedroom villafell in lovemain floorgreat hostsporch swingthe trade windstook advantage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I had the good fortune of being David and Clover's guest in the "Villa" at Gingerbread Hill in St. Peters, Montserrat for eleven days in July 2011. I could write a long detailed review here however, believing that a video is worth 10,000 words, I suggest that you search "Gingerbread Hill" on YouTube. What you'll see and hear is exactly what you can expect from these accommodations--including the parrot and the mangos.

Montserrat is a truly unbelievable place in its history, geology, genuine culture and beauty. If you are debating whether to go or not, just go. I can't recommend the location and the excellent accommodations at Gingerbread Hill more highly.

Paul from Toronto

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for five nights in March with our seven year old son in the two bedroom middle level of the self-catering guesthouse which is open, airy and clean and has a staggering view of the coast and its gorgeous sunsets. One of their pet parrots sometimes joined us to watch it and sat on my shoulder. The Lea family are fascinating and eccentric hosts who wander around on their rolling hilltop property (where both their home and the guesthouse are located) on the beautiful but melancholy island of Montserrat and engage in a bewildering array of disparate activities. They make natural soaps, they tame birds, they film and narrate the ongoing history of the effects of the volcanic eruptions on the island, they write, perform and record music, they offer tours of the island in their charmingly dilapidated car. A stay on Gingerbread Hill is relaxed and informal to say the least. We toured all accessible areas of Montserrat with Sunny who answered all our questions, hour after hour. Getting to Montserrat is not cheap but Gingerbread Hill is outstandingly good value for the Caribbean once you are there. We did enjoy the beaches and the beautiful pristine water as well but Montserrat is MUCH more interesting and informative than the average island visit.

Room Tip: Take the top or the middle levels of the guesthouse for unforgettable views.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank seilenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We only had 2 nights at Gingerbread Hill - we could have spent a lot longer.
The accommodation is split into 3 (over 3 levels.) We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa (middle level) with our 2 children (Aged 9 & 6) The Villa is comfortable and spacious with all the things you need.
The pictures really don't show just how breath taking the views are. We had clear views over to Rhonda and Nevis with beautiful sunsets.
The children loved the porch swing and the wrap around verandah. We even had a little chameleon behind the picture outside.
On our second day we took the island tour with Sunny and Kristina which was probably the highlight of our stay as we saw so many things that we would have missed.
At Gingerbread Hill you have the best of both types of accomodation - the independance of a self-catering, with the Lea family as the best hosts. Clover picked us up from the airport, gave us lifts to restaurants and the store. The Lea's were very helpful without being intrusive and you genuinely feel as if nothing is too much trouble.
Montserrat is a stunning place to visit even if you are not interested in Volcano's!
The people we met - without exception were very friendly and helpful.
We can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrieshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My boyfriend and I loved Gingerbread Hill and the Heavenly Suite. We stayed in the Heavenly Suite for eight nights in late February/early March 2011. On other Caribbean islands, we would and have paid more than twice as much for the equivalent of the bedroom, the bathroom and the view at the Heavenly Suite. At Gingerbread Hill, we even got a full kitchen (something we’ve never had before) and a living room. The view from the balcony was amazing. The personal touches throughout the Heavenly Suite made me feel like I was at the home of a friend who really knew how to take care of visitors. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from the balcony and the stars from the sun deck. The people on the island were consistently friendly, helpful and chatty. Sunny’s tour was great! For the first time on a Caribbean trip, we ended up spending more on our flights (to Antigua from the U.S. and then on FlyMontserrat for 20 minutes) than we did on accomodations and food in nine days on the island. Gingerbread Hill is the kind of place I can see myself coming back to over and over again. One final note, we had a look around the 2-bedroom unit underneath ours and it was really nice, too. In addition to the 2 bedrooms, that unit had 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, a living room, a covered porch, and an awesome view) for the same price. We were a little envious of the covered porch since the sun drove us inside every day around 2:00pm up in the Heavenly Suite. I can imagine coming back to Gingerbread Hill and taking up all the units with my family for an amazing, island vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clovis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Gingerbread Hill " is located on the top of the hill and the view is stunning.
We have rented different villas in Montserrat in prior years , but none of them had the view comparable to Gingerbread Hill. Both Heavenly Suite and The Villa are tastefully decorated and the attention is given to all the details. Owners are wonderful and you can have fresh eggs from their chickens .
Tour with Sunny was the highlight of our stay. It was customized tour for two of us.
Sunny spent with us almost all day to cover all we wanted to see.
We travel all over the world , but Montserrat and Gingerbread Hill is a very special place.

Thanks David, Clover and Sunny for making it possible

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews