We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, run by a very nice family!”
Review of Gingerbread Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montserrat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread Hill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed there a month back, and highly recommend it. It's affordable, clean, safe, and on a beautiful property! The owners are very accommodating, from picking you up at the airport, to arranging a very involved tour (hosted by their Son, Sun). The tour is a must, and Monserrat is a great place to visit. I highly recommend staying there. The options are from budget accommodations to villa accommodations. Very affordable too.

Steve from NYC

Room Tip: Depends on your budget. All options are the best they could be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertram750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

It is owned by Clover and David Lea, long-time residents of Montserrat. They have 4 suites on offer. I`ll try not to blather on too much about the accoutrements of the ones we stayed at (1 week in the Villa, 1 week in the Heavenly Suite) as there is a comprehensive 10 minute video of all the suites on their website (http://www.volcano-island.com/) showing you all the suites from top to bottom. They also have a notebook in each of the suites with general info regarding Gingerbread Hill, and the island in general, which is a great help. You absolutely have to try the cinnamon buns Clover`s daughter Kristina makes.. Such a treat after a long day of hiking! She also does breads and cookies. There are fresh eggs to be had from their very own chickens, papaya was just coming in when we were there (Feb 15-29), but no mangoes (not in season, unfortunately), and of course plenty of coconuts! You have to boil water on the gas stoves for cooking and cleaning, but there is plenty of hot water in the showers. The kitchens in the Villa and Heavenly suites are very nice, and have all the small appliances you might need (blender, toaster, microwave, coffeemaker), and almost every conceivable utensil (no ice cream scoop, though LOL). There`s no worries about the tap water. Montserrat has the best drinking water of most of the islands of the Caribbean (much better than Antigua, for example), and even export it!. I brought a UV steri-pen just in case, but we soon got over that, and had no problems of any sort, nor have any other guests, according to Clover. No issues from drinking water or ice at any of the restaurants, either. Awesome views from the Villa and Heavenly Suite decks (a panoramic view from the upper deck of the Heavenly Suite). Plenty of novels, magazines, etc from past guests to read, and DVD`s (the tv in the Heavenly Suite is pretty small though, and the dvd player is finicky, not that you`ll be spending much time watching TV). It was quite windy the second week we were there, as it`s pretty much the highest point in the neighborhood. But it kept things nice and cool. There were no mosquitoes anywhere, even when we went hiking in the deep forest, which was nice.. It might be a different story in the wetter months, though. There`s a mosquito net in one of the closets, and most of the windows have screens. If you`re lucky Jade, the Lea`s pet parrot, will fly by for a visit (we were lucky, and fed him a banana). Maid service on Saturdays. They have 2 vehicles you can rent from them, and you can rent bikes as well, but I wouldn’t recommend it for travelling the main road. It’s very steep in places, and narrow, making it pretty dangerous when you add oncoming traffic to the mix. If you`re only on the island for a few days definitely get the tour from Sunny, David`s son, for $55 per person. If you`ll be renting a car, and will be there for a week or more, you`ll pretty much get to see the same things just puttering around yourself.. Sunny does have plenty of information on everything you see, though.. There was no noise at night besides the roosters (why are they crowing at 1 am?) and goats, and you get used to that, quick (and there`s ear plugs, if you don`t). Clover and David were the perfect hosts.. Never intruding, but never more than a phone call away, and always ready to help. Clover was able to organise a hike for me through a friend of hers, for example. My adapter to my camera didn't work and they allowed me to plug it into the USB slot on their comuter in their house, for another (and email our kids back home). We really should have brought a laptop, which reminds me, all the suites have wi-fi..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doug z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I had the good fortune of being David and Clover's guest in the "Villa" at Gingerbread Hill in St. Peters, Montserrat for eleven days in July 2011. I could write a long detailed review here however, believing that a video is worth 10,000 words, I suggest that you search "Gingerbread Hill" on YouTube. What you'll see and hear is exactly what you can expect from these accommodations--including the parrot and the mangos.

Montserrat is a truly unbelievable place in its history, geology, genuine culture and beauty. If you are debating whether to go or not, just go. I can't recommend the location and the excellent accommodations at Gingerbread Hill more highly.

Paul from Toronto

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for five nights in March with our seven year old son in the two bedroom middle level of the self-catering guesthouse which is open, airy and clean and has a staggering view of the coast and its gorgeous sunsets. One of their pet parrots sometimes joined us to watch it and sat on my shoulder. The Lea family are fascinating and eccentric hosts who wander around on their rolling hilltop property (where both their home and the guesthouse are located) on the beautiful but melancholy island of Montserrat and engage in a bewildering array of disparate activities. They make natural soaps, they tame birds, they film and narrate the ongoing history of the effects of the volcanic eruptions on the island, they write, perform and record music, they offer tours of the island in their charmingly dilapidated car. A stay on Gingerbread Hill is relaxed and informal to say the least. We toured all accessible areas of Montserrat with Sunny who answered all our questions, hour after hour. Getting to Montserrat is not cheap but Gingerbread Hill is outstandingly good value for the Caribbean once you are there. We did enjoy the beaches and the beautiful pristine water as well but Montserrat is MUCH more interesting and informative than the average island visit.

Room Tip: Take the top or the middle levels of the guesthouse for unforgettable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank seilenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We only had 2 nights at Gingerbread Hill - we could have spent a lot longer.
The accommodation is split into 3 (over 3 levels.) We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa (middle level) with our 2 children (Aged 9 & 6) The Villa is comfortable and spacious with all the things you need.
The pictures really don't show just how breath taking the views are. We had clear views over to Rhonda and Nevis with beautiful sunsets.
The children loved the porch swing and the wrap around verandah. We even had a little chameleon behind the picture outside.
On our second day we took the island tour with Sunny and Kristina which was probably the highlight of our stay as we saw so many things that we would have missed.
At Gingerbread Hill you have the best of both types of accomodation - the independance of a self-catering, with the Lea family as the best hosts. Clover picked us up from the airport, gave us lifts to restaurants and the store. The Lea's were very helpful without being intrusive and you genuinely feel as if nothing is too much trouble.
Montserrat is a stunning place to visit even if you are not interested in Volcano's!
The people we met - without exception were very friendly and helpful.
We can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrieshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My boyfriend and I loved Gingerbread Hill and the Heavenly Suite. We stayed in the Heavenly Suite for eight nights in late February/early March 2011. On other Caribbean islands, we would and have paid more than twice as much for the equivalent of the bedroom, the bathroom and the view at the Heavenly Suite. At Gingerbread Hill, we even got a full kitchen (something we’ve never had before) and a living room. The view from the balcony was amazing. The personal touches throughout the Heavenly Suite made me feel like I was at the home of a friend who really knew how to take care of visitors. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from the balcony and the stars from the sun deck. The people on the island were consistently friendly, helpful and chatty. Sunny’s tour was great! For the first time on a Caribbean trip, we ended up spending more on our flights (to Antigua from the U.S. and then on FlyMontserrat for 20 minutes) than we did on accomodations and food in nine days on the island. Gingerbread Hill is the kind of place I can see myself coming back to over and over again. One final note, we had a look around the 2-bedroom unit underneath ours and it was really nice, too. In addition to the 2 bedrooms, that unit had 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, a living room, a covered porch, and an awesome view) for the same price. We were a little envious of the covered porch since the sun drove us inside every day around 2:00pm up in the Heavenly Suite. I can imagine coming back to Gingerbread Hill and taking up all the units with my family for an amazing, island vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clovis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Gingerbread Hill " is located on the top of the hill and the view is stunning.
We have rented different villas in Montserrat in prior years , but none of them had the view comparable to Gingerbread Hill. Both Heavenly Suite and The Villa are tastefully decorated and the attention is given to all the details. Owners are wonderful and you can have fresh eggs from their chickens .
Tour with Sunny was the highlight of our stay. It was customized tour for two of us.
Sunny spent with us almost all day to cover all we wanted to see.
We travel all over the world , but Montserrat and Gingerbread Hill is a very special place.

Thanks David, Clover and Sunny for making it possible

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gingerbread Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Hill

Address: Virgin Island Road | P.O. Box 246, MSR1330, Montserrat
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Montserrat
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montserrat
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gingerbread Hill is a breezy 900 feet above sea level: 3+ tropical acres with a lovely swimming pool, gardens, and spectacular views of both the Caribbean Sea and the lush mountain rain forests! It is owned and operated by the Lea family (aka The FamiLea) with four self-catering guest lodgings, ranging from simple to sublime - something for everyone! Rates range from $us50 to $us175 per night plus 7% gov tax. The Heavenly Suite and the Two Bedroom Villa are complete apartments with all the comforts of home. Airport and ferry transfers are complimentary (except earliest AM ones.) We personally meet you upon arrival and help you with everything you'll need, including obtaining local driver's license, rental vehicle, and even a grocery and cooked food stop on the way home. We're happy to help you arrange island tours, diving, hiking, and any other activity you'd like to do. We live on the property too, just up the driveway, so we're available to assist you as needed. There are several small restaurants, within easy walking distance,including our own non-profit Hilltop Coffee House,which is also a museum, gallery and visitor's centre - just up the hill. It is the place we use for meetings or small conferences, off-hours (afternoons and evenings.) Webinar capable. WiFi hot spot. We have our own free range (in their designated space) laying hens who give us lovely brown eggs, and we have homegrown fruits,herbs & veggies available according to season. The Two Bedroom Villa and the Heavenly Suite have been recently renovated with new furniture, and much more. Our very newest addition is a lovely swimming pool,completed July 2017! We (David, Clover and Sunny) came to Montserrat in 1980, fell in love with it, and have called it home ever since. The number of Leas presently living on island is 8, including Sun's wife and three children, with more Leas scattered abroad. David has produced, among other things, the comprehensive DVD documentary series, "The Price of Paradise," which covers, in real time, the eruption of Montserrat's Soufriere Hills volcano, and he's written a book about it. Clover is also a writer, musician and artist. These items and many others are available at their non-profit centre, the Hilltop Coffee House, just a short walk up the ridge from Gingerbread Hill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Hill Montserrat, Caribbean
Gingerbread Hill Hotel Montserrat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing