We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montserrat's hidden gem!”
Review of Ponts Beach View

Ponts Beach View
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is by far the coolest beach bar we have ever visited. The owner John is a fantastic host and chef. The food was excellent but we would have happily paid the bill if there was no food! You need to visit this place just for its location and atmosphere. We were served drinks on the deck overlooking Little Bay at sunset whilst watching the Frigate birds flying around the harbour.
It is a little difficult to find but that's all part of the experience. When you arrive in the car park walk to the left of the restaurant sign between the two trees to enter this almost cave like dining area. It really is idyllic.
I hope the authorities don't force John to sell as it really would be a tragic loss but in the meantime if you are in Montserrat, search it out and you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have just returned from a week in Montserrat, the unspoilt gem of the Caribbean. Unspoilt in the way that it is exactly what the islands were like 40 years ago. The people are extremely welcoming and friendly, there are no hotels any more as the only hotel was destroyed by the volcanic eruption over 18 years ago. There are no fancy nightclubs, no expensive flashy restaurants and no screaming package tour Russians. I have never enjoyed such a relaxing, stress less break in my life. OK, you don't go to Montserrat if gourmet dining is your daily choice nor do you go if 5 star bars and spotless beaches with luxury yachts moored off shore is your idea of bliss but if you love a drink or three in a small wooden beach bar and a spicy barbecue with locals who seem willing to accept you without fuss, this place could be the answer to your dreams. Pont's is the perfect hideaway to eat drink and while away the afternoon. John Ponteen is the most welcoming host, he built his small cafe from scratch about 20 years ago. It overlooks the small beach near where they plan to build a new harbour to replace the one destroyed in Plymouth.
It is simply decorated with whatever he could find lying on the beach below. It isn't easy to find but once you get there it is paradise unfurled.
The choice of food is limited, simple but perfectly cooked. If like me you enjoy red wine with almost all food make sure you get him to stock enough. We tried almost all the small cafés and restaurants on the island and agreed in the end that Pont's was our favourite. We can't wait to get back there next year.
Now one concern we picked up during our stay was the rumour that they planned to build a fairly large hotel close to the beach and the island authorities were intent on buying out John and forcing the cafe to close. Should this be the case it would be a criminal act. Small indigenous cafés like Pont's in places like Montserrat give the place the character so much enjoyed by visitors. Do away with them and you turn the place into a plastic hell of artificial thatched bars like anywhere else in the world. Leave him alone, he is worth much more to the attraction of the island than any gaudy beach bar complex or modern concrete hotel!

4  Thank Panda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is definately hidden. It is somewhat hard to find but you definately will want to find it! John Ponteen is the owner of this unique restaurant. He is an excellent cook. Try the lemonade and coconut chips while you wait for him to cook your dinner. Hang out before and after dinner on the deck built out over the shore overlooking Little Bay, part of the new island capital complex. We went to the Sunday BBQ...no reservations needed. He cooks the BBQ over an open wood fire using charred wood that he collects from areas burned by the volcano. You have to check out the bathroom!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PLnDBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Idyllic beach front setting. This is a place that you might miss at first. But once you walk through the plant lined entrance you are met by its friendly host and owner, John. John is an amazing cook and I would highly recommend his baby back ribs. They melt in your mouth. John offers lunch daily, and dinners are by reservation. On Sunday there is a BBQ that is very popular with visitors and locals. You can go onto the deck for a drink while you wait for your meal. The view from the deck can only be described as a million dollar view. We highly recommend you visit this very special gem. Tell John that Ross and Lorna Dunsmore said hello!

Thank LornaDusmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a "must-see" place in Little Bay. John Ponteen is such a nice gentleman and serves up a nice meal. His unique little restaurant sits on the water where you can sit on the deck and enjoy some drinks as he prepares your meal for you. You will know when it is ready because he will come out to the deck and escort you in to your table. The restaurant is tucked in the side of the cliff with plants in and around the entire building with so many different sea items throughout. I have never seen a place like this before!! It was very nice and relaxing and the food was very good. If you go to Montserrat and you don't make it to this spot, you missed out! Thanks again John for a lovely time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KJTripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponts Beach View also viewed

Montserrat, Caribbean
Olveston, Montserrat
 
Montserrat, Caribbean
Olveston, Montserrat
 

Been to Ponts Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing