We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Beach

Grantville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was skeptical from the reviews about how difficult this hike would be. It turned out that only two places were a little steep but there were ropes to hold onto in those areas. We walked at a rather slow pace taking pictures along the way and it only took us 30 minutes. We also both had backpacks loaded with water, snorkel equipment, life jackets, camera, binoculars, towels and snacks. We're only in average shape and we're in our mid 50's but we certainly didn't find this hike to be to difficult.

It was very beautiful in that it was very secluded and a longer stretch of sand than some of the other beaches on the island. The water seemed more blue, also, I guess due to the whiter sand. The snorkeling was ok but not as good as Bunkum Beach. I think if you swim out pretty far it could have been better because there was a boat with divers way out.

We found plenty of shade under the trees along the edge of the beach. Even rocks to sit on. There are no facilities.

One other couple showed up while we were there.

My goal was to see all the beaches, so it was worth the hike.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank PLnDBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Do It!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was a nice hike to the beach. It did take us 25 minutes each way. Coming back seemed harder than going as it is steeper on the beach side. The white sand beach was nice and well worth the hike. This was one of my best days here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Totally isolated beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent all the surface intervals from our diving with Scuba Montserrat on this beach. We never saw another soul in 5 days. There are very cool turtle nest there, we saw fresh tracks almost every day. Please respect the turtles!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
446 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SNORKELLING ! But unless you are a sherpa....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

.....you better take a boat to get there. I've seen a few write ups saying that people walked over the "hill" in 30 minutes to get there. Only if you are a sherpa or a young Sir Edmund Hillary did you get there in 30 minutes. It's is a steep climb and would probably make me at least an hour to navigate and probably 2 to do it safely; and I would probably be way to exhausted to enjoy the beach itself.

We arranged a snorkeling tour of the bay/beach with Scuba Montserrat and highly recommend their services. Very reasonable, knowledgeable and personable. Even if you do not use them, at the very least I recommend that you arrange a boat to take you to the beach.

Once you are there, the snorkeling in the area is excellent ! We saw tons of fish and corals that we did not see during out two weeks in Antigua and the snorkeling is much better than other locations we visited in Montserrat as well. The surf is calm and very good for all ages and experience levels.

I do HIGHLY recommend you pack a snack and drinks as there are no facilities on the beach....and likely no other people. The only other people we saw was a young couple that asked if they could get a boat ride back with us since they did not have it in them to traverse the "hill" again. You may also want to bring some sort of shade device (beach umbrella, portable pavilion etc) as the only shade is under manzania (sp?) trees.....known for their caustic sap and apples.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely, secluded beach. We went there by kayak, rather than hiking. Got pummeled in the surf, had to swim to retrieve the kayak, but that's another story. Loved the beach in spite of the kayak debacle. The water trip around the head is also very pretty.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rendezvous Beach also viewed

 

Been to Rendezvous Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing