We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dinning at its Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning at its Very Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We're not tourist and we've never had the pleasure of staying in Queen's Gardens Resort. Karen and I have a second home on Saba and have been visiting the island for over 30 years. We have had the sincere pleasure of spending several evenings dinning at Queen's Gardens Restaurant. Oh what an enjoyable pleasure that is! Queens Gardens Restaurant has this uniquely beautiful table securely located between two very large mango trees. It's called the "birds nest" and it is hands down the most romantic dinning table offering incredible cuisine that we've ever experienced. The ocean and village views are beyond spectacular. Karen and always arrive early and enjoy a relaxing glass of wine while enjoying a beautiful sunset. By the way, the "birds nest" is increasingly popular so reservations for this table are recommended if not essential.

A visit to Saba is all about being with nature and Queen's Gardens atmosphere is a tasteful marriage of a secondary rain forest and old Caribbean style with a bit of Dutch flair (Saba is a Dutch island after all). The restaurant and resort are nestled among lush tropical plants providing a soothing comfortable casual native atmosphere. What more could one ask for? Well...there's also the gourmet food and friendly knowledgeable staff too.

The moment we step out of our taxi, owner Claire is there to welcome us...and we barely know her! After being escorted to our table, the fun really begins as we enjoy a consistently exquisite meal that is more than impressive to a dining "foodies". You are guided through your meal by friendly professionals who add to your enjoyable evening. We even look forward to seeing them. It's just like being with good friends again.

We usually manage to visit Saba twice a year and with each visit we look for a reason to return to Queens Gardens Restaurant and the "birds nest". Karen and I are running out of anniversary excuses so perhaps we should return just because we want to. No doubt about it...we want to!

Room Tip: On two of our visits to the restaurant they offered really talented off-island live entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
171
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Saba island as a whole is a beautiful place. The natural beauty of the island is out of this world. Staying at Queen's Garden made it that much more special. The hotel rooms are specious, clean and come with excellent view. Added to all this is a Jacussi tub facing the ocean. The only word to describe it WOW!

The food at the restaurant has to be 5 star! everything we touched was well made and delicious!!!
The couple that own the place are very hospitable. One night i could not get a taxi to drive me to town, the owner of the place drove me!!! That is top service!
I am definitely heading back there.

The new SPA will be available by the end of 2013.

Room Tip: Reserve a sitting on the treehouse for one of your dinners...you will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I am giving 4 stars due to one issue which was later resolved else this place would get 5 stars. I will talk about the pros first.
The hotel has one of the best views on the island. The hotel staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant on the property was just delicious. Its pricey but we preferred eating there because we really loved the food and it was convenient after all day of hiking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are hiking trails which start very close from the hotel and one of them starting right across from the entrance of the hotel. The town of bottom is walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are well maintained, large and all have a beautiful view except for one. This is where the hotel lost one star from me :).

We had booked 3 same rooms with Queen's Garden but for some reason there was miscommunincation and due to that me and my partner ended up in suite 5 which apparently is the only room which is smaller than other rooms, doesn't have a Jacuzzi and doesn't have a view. When we brought this up to the owner initially the response i got was "its just your luck". Which kind of annoyed me since we had all paid the same amount for the rooms. After couple of emails and sending the original communication to the owners they finally agreed to give us a discount since there was no other room available. We really would have liked another room instead of the discount.
But other than that this is the best place to stay in Saba hands down. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: if you care about the view than please make sure you are not in suite #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A beautiful resort on the very small and charming island of Saba. The staff could not have been more helpful or kind. Beautiful room with amazing views. Sipping coffee while soaking in the Jacuzzi in the morning was the a grand way to start the day. The hiking trails were plentiful and fun. Diving with Sea Saba was amazing. Also, the coordination between the Sea Saba and the resort made our vacation seamless and easy. Spent the day underwater and returned to our glorious resort/room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlcPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breukelen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

There are just not enough superlatives for this charming mini-resort. Everything about it is right: the location, the view, the suites, the in-room jacuzzi which is more like a mini swimming pool, the food and above all the staff. Everybody is busy all day long to make you feel comfortable and wellcome.
After a day diving (with Saba Deep) it is just wonderful to relax in your own private jacuzzi. And once the new wellness centre wil be ready, there will be nothing left to wish for. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful hotel I have ever been to. I have travelled a lot so I can know.
We loved the private jacuzi with a fantastic view of the caribbean sea and the tropical rainforest. The food is exceptional with a wide range of dishes from the local and french cuisine.
I traveled with my family, we loved the diving (my daughter), and the hikes on the trails through the rainforrest. The service was impecable, personal and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

It is so quite and peaceful, one might think the world has ended. The staff and food are outsanding and the rooms are huge. There are only 2 things to do on Saba, dive and hike. I'm too fat and lazy to hike but the diving is fantastic with amazingly clear waters with tons of marine life.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrenlikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Bottom
19.9 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
20.1 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Address: Troy Hill Drive 1, The Bottom, Saba (Formerly Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Saba > The Bottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Bottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa is a luxurious all suite hotel located on the island of Saba, which is part of the Caribbean Netherlands. The resort is built on one of mount scenery's hills, Troy Hill, and is nestled among tropical forests and its lush gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea. This panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea makes the resort a special intimate place to spend a relaxing holiday. The altitude of 1200 feet and the fresh trade winds guarantee an extremely pleasant climate year around. The hotel features a full service on site restaurant and full service spa equipped with Finnish Sauna, Turkish Steam Room, Herbal Facial Aroma Pots, etc. Offering full body massages, facials, manicures and pedicures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Gardens Resort - Hampshire Classic Hotel Saba
Queens Gardens Hotel
Queens Garden Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing