We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great experience -- thanks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Saba Advanced Dive Center

Sea Saba Advanced Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Sea Saba, we recognize that choosing the right dive operation can make the difference between a good dive trip and an extraordinary diving experience. Great boats, attentive service and professionalism are the final touches; the core is making the most of each underwater experience.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a great experience -- thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I just got certified as an open water diver with Sea Saba last week and had a great time!

Caroline was my instructor and she made everything fun. I was able to complete my four open water checkoff dives and also added a fifth dive just for kicks. The coral is very healthy and we saw a great variety of sea life, including turtles, eels, worms, shark, a seahorse, and a squid (which was awesome!). I'm probably forgetting something too.

Besides the fun I had with Sea Saba, I would really recommend travel to the island in general as well. Everywhere you go, people are friendly and the island feels incredibly safe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    19
    6
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dive operator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just finished a dive trip with Sea Saba and it was a great experience. They took care of everything including hotel arrangements, transportation, and dinner reservations. The dive boats were first class. Everything was well organized and ran on time. all of the staff were great and enjoyed what they were doing. I was impressed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris,Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great PADI instruction for a newbie!...Fish IDs for crew to boot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We took our adult sons(certified on Saba aged 12/13 AOW-jr ) and a newbie non-diver girlfriend to Saba for ANOTHER visit....what a great call....the newbie was a confident OW Diver by the end of the trip.....instruction was top notch tailored to her comfort level....leading to a "enthusiastic" new diver who can't wait return!...no surprises at all....knew that in advance!

also something impressive about SEASABA was the training that the crew were receiving from a REEF fish ID expert/trainer while we were there....small things that will make all future dives better for all comers!...I's say "IT"S MORE ABOUT THE ATTITUDE" of continuing improvement of crew skills and making the trip for guests something unique and special!

we stayed at IRIS HOUSE .......cool "old-modern" Saba house w/ private great pool(used for Stephs OW class)...amazing view on main Windwardside drag....just enough kitchen.....great breezes(no a/c needed)..beds great....5 minutes from the morning bakery!......

we will be returning again.....and again!

TnT

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greenday61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“And the Group would Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This dive center did an excellent job of meeting the needs of our group. The crew on our boat was helpful, knowledgeable, and made the boat rides fun. They allowed us to choose dive sites, although we usually deferred to their expertise, and made sure that we were well taken care of. The tanks were on the boat, our gear was set up each day, and they changed it over to the new tanks between dives. At the end of the day, they rinsed gear and packed it away into mesh bags they furnished, and we left it on the boat.
Before diving began we had a briefing with the dive shop, which came to our hotel, and they told us what to expect. They picked up our diving equipment the following morning, and returned it to the hotel on our last day. All we had to do was get it dry and packed.
Our week of diving was set up ahead, but they were flexible to allow some changes, and they set up a Dine Around Saba for us, which was the 'deal of the century'! We visited a different restaurant each evening, all excellent, and did not have to worry about getting reservations for a group of 11. I would encourage all travelers going to look into that, even if you are not part of a group.
Great experience, excellent diving, 16 in the week, and the group said they would all return and do it again, and maybe add some time off to enjoy all that Saba has to offer, other than the diving. It is a beautiful island!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BonDiver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best dive shop yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We dove with Sea Saba Advanced Dive Center the second week of March 2014 and were extremely pleased and impressed with the shop. The were very organized and met us every morning when the van stopped at the shop for a head count. One of the employees would ask us if we needed any dinner reservations and they would make them for us. The dive boats were well maintained and large; however, we never had more than 10 divers on board at a time. The captains and DMs were all professional and fun. Safety is a huge issue with Sea Saba and the dive briefings were thorough and informative. Because we were diving in a marine park, a DM was with us at all times. All DMs were wonderful in IDing fish for us and taking us to sites that were appropriate for the conditions. We absolutely loved all of the professionalism and great care Sea Saba provided us on this trip. We'll definitely use them again. This was the BEST dive shop we've ever used!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank islanddream59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Saba Advanced Dive Center also viewed

 

Been to Sea Saba Advanced Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing