We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, clean facility...I'd return.”
Review of The Cottage Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice location, clean facility...I'd return.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Located pretty much on top of the island, and near the central business area of Windwardside, The Cottage Club provides some clean and comfortable accomodations. the cottages are quite large, as far as rooms go...sleeping area separated from kitchen/dining area; both sides open and welcoming. Yes, a full kitchen if you want to fix meals and eat in, but i found it more inviting to have a light breakfast then choose one of the local resturants nearby...stayed there a week and never ate at the same restuarant twice because of the variety of selections from casual to fine dining.

Was there in December, so the pool was not busy as water was naturally heated and cold at the time...no problem, wasn't there for the swimming, but a nice place to relax and enjoy the views nonetheless.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the cottages (as opposed to the main building). Cottage 6 is nearest the pool, and can ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
55
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Normally we go for cheaper places, but there are not so much options on Saba. But I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised. You don't get a room, but a small house with a kitchen, balcony, decent bathroom, good beds, an amazing view and a short walk to the shops and restaurants/bars.
Reservation was by mail, but we got a reply really quick.
At arrival we received a drink and the key to the cottage. Breakfast is not included and cost $11,50, but because we had our own kitchen we just bought things at the supermarket. There is free wifi acces in the reception area and you can get free coffee and tea with it.
There is a pool with quite a few beds and a scenic few, ask the reception for the free pooltowel.
I think this was a very good place to stay and worth it's money (incl. taxes and fees $140 a night).

Room Tip: Cottage 1 and 2 have a full view without any other houses or cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Cottage Club for a week and enjoyed our stay but it didn’t quite live up to our expectations given the reviews.

The cottage was nice and large with a balcony for enjoying the great view. They also include a kitchen with all the tools you’d need to cook for yourself but we just ate cereal for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch so we didn’t really put it to the test. The room definitely showed its age, and the wear and tear that ridiculously high humidity can take on a place. The screens on the windows were loose in spots, which sometimes let in bugs (not that this was a big issue given the minimal quantity of mosquitos on the island) and the particleboard cabinets were starting to disintegrate in spots from the humidity. Don’t get me wrong, the rooms were perfectly fine for our purposes, but like many places on the island (from what we heard) they definitely show their age.

Many of the reviews indicate that the host (May in our case) was super friendly and helpful but we didn’t see that at all. She would do things like dinner reservations if we asked but conversations were pretty much pure business and far from friendly. She even made a comment when we first arrived about how we were putting her out by showing up after the office normally closed even though we were just 15-30 minutes after official closing time, and we saw other people arriving hours later that day anyways.

The location was very nice, close to most everything in Windwardside but still slightly off the main road. The view was awesome with a nice view down to the ocean and a view of Mt. Scenery (when it wasn’t cloudy).

All in all, a nice place to stay, but if we went back we’d probably try staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I spent 7 days at The Cottage Club. First impressions was that it was a bit rustic as we had just come from an ultra modern hotel in Grand Case, St Martin. However for the price that we paid we couldn't complain and the cottage was spacious room withl a good sized kitchen. Extraordinary views from the balcony down over the hills to the ocean. We were looking for exactly this type of stay, inexpensive self-catering in an awesome location. Just two blocks to shops and restaurants in Windwardside, The Cottage Club is perfectly located. We hiked 5 out of the 7 days we were there and this was the perfect starting point for all of the trails.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just returned from a week at the Cottage Club. Big room, very clean with comfortable beds (not too soft) and a beautiful view. And a short walk to the restaurants in Windwardside. Loved the pool and the free wifi too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a very good time at the cottage, it was quiet, clean and there is a very good view on the sea and on the volcano. The swimming pool was clean and it's a nice place near forest. The cottage (number one) was big and very good equipped, you can cook... So very good price quality ratio !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! one charming place

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinelastar973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mussoorie, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The staff at The Cottage Club was remarkably helpful, providing information about the various options around Saba, from restaurants to shopping. Our rooms weren't quite ready when we checked in, so we sat in the reception lobby, enjoyed the free WiFi and welcome drinks, and then dropped our bags off once the rooms were ready. Since then, any questions we had or any issues (such as slow drains) were promptly attended to, and the staff maintained their excellent attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
33 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Club

Property: The Cottage Club
Address: Gray Bush Street, Windwardside 1234 AB, Saba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, tranquility and comfortable amenities combined with attentive and charming service are an integral part of your stay at The Cottage Club. Conveniently situated to the activities of Windwardside Village, yet seemly miles from civilization, this lovely collection of Saban cottages and the central Great House, surrounded by lush palm-filled tropical gardens, provide a low-key estate like setting. The compound gives you the privacy and convenience of staying in a private villa with the helpful service of a hotel. The uninterrupted views are breathtaking, encompassing wide expanses of the Caribbean Sea as well as the magnificent Mount Scenery. A tropical pool sits serenely at the edge of a cliff. Whether you are here to dive, hike or simply get away from the frantic pace of urban life, The Cottage Club Hotel is an oasis that awaits you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Club Hotel Windwardside
The Cottage Club Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing