We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review”
Review of Bistro del Mare - CLOSED

Bistro del Mare
Price range: US$18 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Imagine breathtaking panoramic views, picture perfect sunsets and cool breezes complimented only the by the sounds of surf, soft jazz and exceptional Northern Italian cuisine with a Caribbean flair. We utilize locally grown produce, a wide variety of fresh fish and seafood and work with a network of purveyors who provide us with only the finest foods in the world. Reasonably priced & notable selection of international wines, Join us for A Taste of Thai every Monday and be sure to inquire about other specialty nights. Bistro del Mare has the most extensive bar on Saba and without question the best view. Best known for our martinis and specialty drinks. You won't want to miss sipping a cocktail while watching the sun slip into the Caribbean. Lunch is served daily (except Sunday) from 11:30-3.
Trumbull, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was with group visiting Saba in February. We had dinners scheduled at several restaurants on the Windward side of the island. All but Shearwater were awesome. Food and service were excellent. The last night we went to Shearwater for dinner. The service was terrible and the staff was not above board in their bar service. Someone in our group ordered a beverage from the bar. When it came a whole bottle was presented to him. He wanted only a glass and was not told before hand that it only came as a full bottle. Also water was ordered and no choice was given.
The staff just brought out bottles, without explaining beforehand that there was a charge for the water. Although the food was good it took over an hour between salad and entree. Another 45 minutes before dessert. The service was awful. I will never go back there.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years Eve Dinner”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent preparation and service with a breathtaking mountainside view of the ocean and the sunset. Prime rib was mouthwatering. Will be back on our next trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Saba”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had the opportunity to dine at Bistro del Mare for two dinners and breakfast for several mornings as a guest at the hotel. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a dinner one evening of steak and grouper with a wonderful side dish of fresh mushroom risotto. We also enjoyed Thai night with very good portions of curry chicken and shrimp with a nice selection of sushi rolls as well.

As part of our Sea Saba package, we were treated to breakfast each morning of eggs prepared to order, meats, cheese, fruits, juice and coffee. Just the right amount of fare to prepare for our daily diving expeditions.

One must remember that dining in Saba is limited and reservations in advance are a must and a courtesy. Everything on the island arrives by boat or plane, so take advantage of specials and chef recommendations. Wine list, cocktails and after dinner selections from the bar are excellent and well done.

As others have mentioned, Shearwater and Bistro del Mare are situated on top of Booby Hill. The driveway up is steep and only a few of the island's most seasoned taxi drivers will attempt it. I would recommend calling upon Garvis for a taxi. He is a delightful person to chat with and has mastered the drive up to this wonderful restaurant in any weather.

Bistro del Mare as well as Shearwater Resort are a must try if traveling to Saba. Dinner and the stunning view are wonderful and shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food, Awesome View and Extremely Impressive Beer List”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was the only restaurant we ate at twice for dinner and they were our best meals in Windwardside.

If you’re walking to the restaurant from elsewhere in Windwardside the incline near the hotel/restaurant was by far the steepest we encountered on the island, but it’s short enough it’s manageable and amusing. The hotel has a great view and we enjoyed some beers out by the pool before dinner each time.

I’m a beer geek and their beer list would’ve been impressive for a restaurant in a major city on the mainland, much less on a tiny island where all the other restaurants just had a few options. They had beer from all over the world including such hard to find beers as Cantillon Gueze and Westy (which technically they shouldn’t be selling since it’s just sold at the monastery and the monks don’t approve of reselling). Prices were all over the place with some beer reasonably priced and others having a ridiculous markup. Other beer strangeness was the fact that the menu listed appropriate serving temperatures for various beer styles but their beers were actually kept at room temperature and just shoved in the ice bin to cool down when you ordered them. Last but not least much of the beer was kept out on a shelf by the main window/door in direct sunlight which anyone with that sort of selection should know is not a great idea.

The food was excellent, the first night we had a grilled romaine salad for an appetizer and it was so good my wife basically ordered it again the second time as a main course. The food was both inventive and very well prepared. The atmosphere was very nice as well. All in all a great restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, unbeatable view”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We just spent a week at Shearwater and ate several meals at Bistro del Mare during that time. The food was always very good and the view from the deck is the best on Saba. They easily have the best beer selection on the island with 150 or so beers from around the world, the wine selection is extensive, and the friendly staff is very helpful. No matter where you stay on the island you should make at least one trip to Bistro del Mare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro del Mare also viewed

Windwardside, Saba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing