We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Crooks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scout's Place Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nasty Crooks!”
Reviewed 20 March 2008

I was going to go on a holiday with several friends and made reservations at Scout's Place. Unfortunately, the weather was so awful that the ferries weren't running. I called more than 24 hours in advance to cancel my reservation, which they gladly did, but insisted that they were charging my card anyway! They charged my card the day BEFORE the reservation, immediately after we hung up the phone. The woman was rude and inflexible, insisting that we could fly over here. That's not the point! Our trip was to be cancelled and she charged us anyway! I will never ever try to deal with these people again, and I recommend that no one does!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScoutsPlace, Owner & Managing Director at Scout's Place Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2008
Dear Ladies & Gentleman

The Management of Saba Divers and Scout’s Place Hotel on Saba would like to thank all those who have posted reviews of our service on Trip Advisor, we acknowledge the importance of all criticisms (and praise) quite frankly it’s an excellent forum from which we can obtain feedback on our performance allowing us to adapt to the increasing needs of our valued customers.

In regards to the posting dated: March 20, 2008, we are dismayed to hear that the customer feels that he has been treated unfairly, but unfortunately he seems to have neglected to read our cancellation policy. As in most places and hotels in the world we do have a cancellation policy, it is available online and is attached to all our confirmation emails. We have had a meeting about this matter with our office manager and she does not feel that she was either rude or unfriendly. She informed the customer about alternative passages to Saba to avoid the cancellation fee. The booking was for Good Friday, which is a holiday here and the island hotels was booked to capacity. Therefore we had to apply our cancellation policy towards this customer. As said before, we are very sorry and we have tried to contact the person in question to find an amicable solution for all parties involved… unfortunately we have not been able to properly make contact.

We do not know why the customer decided not to come to Saba (since there were possibilities at hand) and received the call/cancellation from the customer only the day before arrival (which as stated in our cancellation policy incurs a charge of 100% of the booking fee).

We can not accept being referred to as “nasty crooks” but understand everyone is entitled to their opinions, we are happy that most of the posts we receive are positive from well meaning customers. We look forward to more reviews on Trip Advisor, as we mentioned earlier we find it very helpful to receive any feedback we can. We hope to see you soon on the beautiful island of Saba.

Sincerely the Management & Staff of Scout's Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
84
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Scout's Place is a nice establishment in a very convenient location with a great staff.

The rooms are comfortable, have character and open up to spectacular views. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, however. There were what were described as uncharacteristically high winds during our visit which howled through the windows and doors making the room quite loud at times but fatigue due to the day's physical exertions and the clean crisp air always won out and we had no trouble sleeping whatsoever.

The restaurant on site has delicious food and more breathtaking views. The spicy cream of coconut soup was out of this world. All sorts of tantalizing aromas wafted from the kitchen as we passed it on our way to our room.

Staying in Windwardside is very convenient and central. A number of tasty restaurants and interesting shops with arts and crafts are within walking distance, as are banks, the post office and the beautiful little museum. Quaint narrow roads, charming architecture and astounding vistas abound.

The staff at Scout's Place is wonderful. They can arrange for transportation, reservations and anything else one might need. And of course, they are a great source for diving excursions (something I was not able to take advantage of since I do not dive). They are very knowledgeable about the hiking trails and the island in general and are incredibly friendly and accommodating.

Getting to/from Saba can be challenging. Winair is the only "airline" servicing the island. Unreliable does not even begin to describe this "company". It took us twenty-one hours and an uncomped night's stay on St. Maarten to make the twelve minute trip. The Dawn II ferry service from Saba back to St. Maarten on the other hand is reliable but be prepared for a VERY rough ride.

Still, all the hassles, frustration and fatigue we endured getting to the island was worthwhile and Scout's Place is a nice part of this little gem called Saba.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2007

Was at Scout's Place for 3 nights with my husband for his daughter's wedding. Barbara and Wolfgang had everything arranged for the wedding and the guests (10). They were on top of everything from the accommodations, to the food, to the wedding site. Very professional, yet very friendly and personal.
The wedding couple was most pleased with everything. We hiked on Sunday, and the groom checked out the wedding site in the rainforest with Barbara. We had a group dinner Sunday night and Monday morning. The girls made appointments for nails and hair mid-day, and Barbara and Wolfgang took us all up the mountain for the wedding around 3 p.m. It was a spectacular spot in the rainforest. Scout's Place had brought in a small covered gazebo and decorately with native flowers and greenery. They also brought in champagne and a wedding cake for a post ceremony toast. It was a hike to the site over some moderately rough terrain. Most of the group carried their wedding clothes and hiked in with tennis shoes, changing in a nearby house. Wolfgang was the photographer--we are anxiously awaiting the pictures from the wedding in the rainforest!
The island of Saba is a volcanic rainforest island--no beaches. It has wonderful hiking opportunities and is a world reknown scuba diving site. The islanders take it slow and easy. They are vey friendly and welcoming to the tourists. Saba is a small island, 5 square miles, so there are limited attractions and hotels. The architecture of the island cottages is very quaint and relaxing. The flowers and trees are gorgeous. A great place for relaxing and taking it slow and easy.
My husband and I are not divers, but other guests were quite complimentary of the dive shop and it's operations.
One suggestion--take WinnAir flight to/from Saba and avoid the ferry. It's a 15 minute flight, moderately priced and a spectacular landing on one of the shortest landing strips in the world!

  • Liked — Beauty of the island iviews from the hotel and restaurant
  • Disliked — Could have had a better mattress.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2007

My wife stayed for five days at Scouts Place.The main reason for my own interest was the diving.My wife just loves to visit new islands.We were not disappointed.I had read in other reviews about the food not being very good.Well they must have hired a new chef (TJ)because I thougt the food was great.We also ate at two other resturants. The swinging door on Rid &chicken night for ten dollars a plate and The Kitchen resturant which was very good for fresh seafood.I went diving with Saba divers who are part of scouts place.They were a great group to dive with.The diving there was some of the best I have ever experienced.Lots of sea life everything from seahorses to blacktip shark.The dive masters were very good at making me feel comfortable with all the places we dove. (Ive only have limited experience).The island is what I would call one of the best kept secrets in the Caribean.The island is very beatiful and getting around can be an adventure all its own.I highly recemend Scouts Place and the island of Saba.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank diverrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Scout's Place was an unsurpassed value with a low-season special of 7 nights for the price of 5. It has the best location of any lodging on the island, right in the center of the tiny town of Windwardside. It also offers everything we wanted: a clean room with a gorgeous view from its private balcony, refrigerator, cable TV, free breakfast, and free wireless Internet on the grounds (that didn't quite reach our far-flung "cottage" room). The property is compact but attractive with a pool, bar, and restaurant, all with super views of Mt. Scenery, the southeast quadrant of Windwardside, and the sea.

There were few guests and not a hint of problems with noise, unless you don't like the island's ubiquitous singing tree frogs. The hotel staff, including Bettina, Melanie, Jen, and owners Wolfgang & Barbara were very hospitable. They arranged our transportation to and from the airport, diving, and our enriched air training course.

The Saba Divers arm of the Scout's Place team was excellent. Divemasters and boat captains---Bob, Marie, Gersh, Nina, and Joachim---were professional, informative, and fun. Dive briefings were extraordinary and there was a surprising variety of animals, from sea horses and turtles to sea slugs and sharks.

Strolling around town and hiking up and down the rain-forested mountain provided great views and exercise. The shops, including several groceries, were also worth exploring.

The restaurant staff was efficient and friendly, especially Helene. We enjoyed the food there, but especially recommend bargains on the pizza at nearby Saba's Treasure and the barbeque nights at nearby Swinging Doors. The renown Friday night karaoke at Scout's was fun, cheap entertainment featuring performers with great heart and soul. We retired for the night long before the end, but the hardly-noticeable noise from the bar didn't deter sleep, despite our room's proximity and open balcony doors.

You'll enjoy these accommodations and grow quite fond of all the people involved with Scout's Place, if not all of beautiful, peaceful Saba.

  • Liked — Clean, casual, efficient, view, location
  • Disliked — Food prices
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DUIguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We stayed at the M4 Westbound Travelodge (£60) near London on Saturday 28th July 2007, so we would be fresh for the 04.00 check in and the Servisair All-Inclusive lounge (£36) to have refreshments prior to boarding our flight at 06.00, little did we know that after you have checked your baggage in and cleared all the security, we would only have 15 minutes in the lounge!

We flew by Air France from London Heathrow to Paris, Paris to St. Martin (approx £800 return each) and via Winair, St. Martin to Saba (96 USD one way each) all in one day, on Sunday 29th July 2007. If you have survived the landing after the 15 minute Island hopping flight, well done, if you haven’t…don’t bother reading the rest of this review!

The Taxis outside will take you to your hotel destination, for Scout's Place we paid 7 USD total for both of us Inc 2 large & 1 small suitcase. We paid extra for the Category 3 rooms located in a separate building at Scout's Place, the so called former Saba government guesthouse. The room (C2) had a good ocean and village view, it was equipped with shower, toilet, cable TV, refrigerator, telephone and own balcony, coffee maker with daily complimentary coffee & tea supply, internet access with own laptop & double bed - no pushing the singles beds together here!! In fact if you go to their site sabadivers.com and click on the Hotel Scout’s Place tab on the right of the page, scroll down to the rooms

• Picture 1 is the view from the balcony looking in to the room we had.
• Picture 2 was above and behind our room, so not too far to walk.
• Picture 3 is the view of the bed (prior to me breaking one of the base slats and having to report it for repair).

This was primarily a diving and visiting relatives’ holiday, we arrived during the Carnival celebration, catching the tail end of the procession which included the Scouts Place & Saba Divers float and team. The evening celebrations then followed with plenty of “Wine, Women and Song” All the dive instructors from the different dive centres were united in wearing the Sea Slave Labour T-shirts, showing great companionship, even though they are essentially competing for the same business, at the end of the day it is a small island and everybody one day needs somebody.

We stayed 13 nights @124 USD a night for bed & breakfast and we had the option of upgrading the breakfast for an additional small sum from the menu. The lunch menu was extensive but not as impressive as the Dinner menu. You could eat inside the dining area or outside on the veranda overlooking the village and ocean with Mt. Scenery overlooking you, an absolutely amazing viewpoint. And don’t forget you get 10% discount on all your restaurant meals as a Scouts Place customer.

I had 9 dives costing 387 USD which included the equipment, Marine Park, Hyper baric fees and transport to and from the harbour. My Nitrox level 1 & 2 courses were 185 USD inc. book & slate materials and there is no extra charge for using Nirtox 32% mix compared to the usual 21% compressed air ratio.

Whilst there we used the laundry service twice at a cost of 50 USD, but there was a lot of washing. I would drop it off before we left for diving in the morning and it would be in our room again by that afternoon all neatly folded, which is an excellent service.

We climbed Mt Scenery, setting out at 06.00 at dawn, whilst it was still cool, wearing the appropriate hiking footwear and carrying 1.5 litre bottles of water each. It is only a short walk from Scouts to the start of the Mount Scenery Steps trail (click on to the Scouts Trekking tab for more details) the first few hundred steps are concrete, by which time we were already knackered – wish we got the taxi to the Rendez-Vous.

Then the concrete steps changed altogether to smaller steps, they were cut at angles backwards and to the side of the drop, very slippery and damn right dangerous. There are several (3) stopping rest points along the way, but I can assure you, that you will be stopping a lot more than that on the way up.

Eventually you get to a sign post pointing the scenic view to the left, where the steps are now wooden trunks filled with mud, as you walk through the “Haunted Trees” and the clouds (in our case) it gives a eerie spooky feeling, so don’t forget your camera, unless you dropped it earlier on a slippery step before hand. There is at one point quite a high step, be extremely careful, you’ll understand when you look around you. As you approach the end, you have to walk through a large “boulder cave” filled with mud, use the large leaves around you, so you can walk through, unfortunately we were unable to as the mud was far too deep and had to turn back.

On our return, we passed a couple with serious walking hiking sticks and sandals and a young couple with a baby strapped to his chest, we advised them what lay ahead but didn’t rate the young family’s chances of getting much farther. We stopped off at Ecolodge / Rendez-Vous and had a look around, wow, so glad we didn’t stay there, if you like it basic well done but it’s not for us BUT we have been told their restaurant is one of the best on the Island. I suppose it has to be if you’re going to climb a few hundred steps each way to get there, unless you cheat and get the Taxi and then you have a little walk along a track to get there.

It transpires we were only about 30 feet from the end, but with all the cloud we would not have seen anything anyway! But if you turn right at the sign post you walk downwards for a while before you start climbing again and approach the top from a different point, but we understand this route is a lot easier than the one we attempted. If you go to the Saba Tourist Bureau sabatourism.com afterwards and tell them that you have climbed Mount Scenery, they will give you a Certificate of Achievement, which after 1064 steps, 2877 feet or 877 metres each way , you kind of expect more than a bit of paper to say you have done it.

The team at Scouts and Saba Divers are very friendly:

• Wolfgang and Barbara are the owners and Sabaoke King & Queen.
• Bettina, Mel and Jen are based in the office.
• All the Kitchen / Restaurant / Bar / Hotel staff, too many names to single a few out.
• Dive instructors Bob, Marie, Gersh, Joachim and Nina.

Some of the people we met are worthy of a special mention too, namely, Emilie and Vic from My Kitchen who we met several times during our stay whilst drinking and / or diving, but not at the same time you’ll understand, otherwise you get sea water in your beer if you do that!

We ate mainly at Scouts Place Hotel, but did venture into Swinging Doors for a BBQ, My Kitchen for a birthday celebration and Brigadoon for a farewell meal. All meals were reasonably priced and at no time did the total bill per head exceed 50 USD and that is with starter, main, dessert and plenty of alcohol to top it all off with.

We looked at several hotels prior to choosing Scouts Place (and visited them once we were there, to see if we made the right choice) for example:

• El Momo Cottages, nice if you like your room as garden shed and 60 odd steps to get there BUT stunning views.
• The Cottage Club, even better than the web site leads you to believe.
• Ecolodge / Rendez-Vous, so glad we didn’t choose that, it’s just not us.
• Willard’s, absolutely stunning but well out of price range.
• Queen’s Garden Resort, again absolutely stunning and also out of our price range.

We caught the 07.00 Dawn 2 ferry on Saturday 11th August 2007 for the 2 hour journey back to St. Martin (50 USD each). If you suffer from sea sickness – avoid like the plague, though they are thoughtful and bring round sick bags if required.

Would I recommend Scouts Place and Saba Divers? You bet! It’s just the expense of the flights that is off putting, it just means you have to stay at least 10 nights and not 7! And remember if you see a mosquito, you haven’t as they don’t have them over there or so they say (so remember you repellent).

[--]

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ATC_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed on our tour seeing the "Bovenwindse Islands" 4 days at the Scout´s Place hotel on Saba. Saba is quiet and a beautiful Island. Rainforrest, Hills, nice white houses with red roofs. It is also very clean and the people are very nice.
The scout´s Place hotel is clean, very nice and the staff is extremely friendly and wants to help you with everything to have a perfect stay on Saba! Take a dive or do some snorkeling, it is great!
Some wrote it was noisy...well, the karaoke night is the only night that you hear something differnet on this island...I think it´s it is absolutely a great thing that the hotelowners organise something for the people who stay in the hotel! And they do a great Job!
P.S. the music was till 11.00 P.M....
Last, but not least: the restaurant / Pirates Bar had a lot on the menu and all we ate and drank was absolutely great!!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank hugoHannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scout's Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scout's Place Hotel

Property: Scout's Place Hotel
Address: Fort Street 9 | P.O. Box 543, Windwardside, Saba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scout's Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scout's Place Hotel is your all-in-one-resort on Saba. A cozy Caribbean Inn with a local bar, excellent restaurant and an award winning dive center round off the picture. Our friendly staff can organize all your activities on Saba and provide you with the informations you need to spend a great time hiking, diving or just relaxing on our lovely island. We are committed to make your stay unforgettable and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scout's Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scout's Place Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing