We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scout's Place Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Saba for a week at Scouts place, mainly doing diving everyday. Everybody is just so hospitable and sweet, from the taxi driver who picked me up from the airport to the chefs at the restaurant to the receptionist who checked me in. Since it was just me traveling, the room was nice and spacious with a really comfortable bed. The hotel is convenient with everything close by including small little eateries, a supermarket and just a wee bit down the road entrance to mount Scenery. But if you don't feel like eating out they do have a Restaurant just steps away from your room with really delicious food. I would also like to say the diving was absolutely amazing. I would definately be back to stay at Scouts Place and dive again! Maybe this time a little longer ;)

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
84
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I stayed in the cottage for three days... It had a gorgeous view, two fans, working kitchen appliances, running water, and was overall very pleasant to stay in. For the next two days, we stayed in the hotel rooms which were also very nice with running water, fans, and a balcony with a beautiful view! The restaurant food is really delicious (I would recommend the goat curry!) and the service is fast and everyone is very welcoming! The hotel is in a very convenient location, and is an easy walking distance to many restaurants, markets, Sea Saba, and more. My family and I had a blast while scuba diving! The teacher we had (his name was Rob) was so patient, caring, and really helped make the experience enjoyable! Each day we learned new skills in the hotel pool, ate lunch, and then everyone was picked up from their hotel and driven to the dive boat. On the dive boat there is a new set of full cylinders, clean and dry wetsuits, and everything you need to have a safe and fun diving experience! After the dive, the van/bus picks us up from where the boat is docked, and we are dropped off at our hotels! The service at both Sea Saba and Scout's Place is amazing and my family and I had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Priyana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just spent a week at Scouts including diving. First, the people are great, helpful, and friendly. Restaurant was good, reasonably priced, and again the staff was great. The only down side is the fact the hotel is a little run down/old and in need of renovations.

We had what was called the best room with a private balcony (Cottage 2). Cottages there are not the same as in the US, they are attached to other cottages vs. detached buildings. The room was small, but had a flat screen TV (not that we used it), a small refrigerator, and coffee maker. The appliances worked fine. If you have never been, do not expect sofas or chairs in the rooms due to the size of the room but there were two chairs on the balcony. There are no room air conditioners, but even going in June we did not miss the a/c. The photos below show the entire room minus the bath.

We had a nice view from the balcony and the hotel is convenient to several other great restaurants (Tropical Cafe and Brigadoon), two grocery stores, a coffee shop, and other shops. We also went to the Sea Witch where the food was good but service was lacking.

Dive operations was easy and convenient - they take you to the boat every morning and bring you back so you do not have to work out your own transportation. Simon and Rita were great, helpful, and friendly. They changed your gear in between dives, cleaned the gear at the end of each day, and put it on the boat the next morning. Can't get much easier than that. Overall, the diving was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I hadn't even heard of Saba before my boyfriend randomly found it on google maps in an attempt to find a "small, not so touristy island" for part of our Caribbean adventure, but it far exceeded my expectations.

We booked three nights with Scout's after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and after some sliiight logistical complications actually getting there (a delayed JetBlue flight and a Dawn II ferry that left half an hour earlier than referenced in our email confirmation), we finally arrived a day late. We didn't pre-book a taxi, but just picked one up in the harbor.

Scout's was incredibly accommodating with the change to our reservation and I greatly appreciated it. The property has absolutely beautiful views and I enjoyed the pool area in the evening after we finished diving and hiking. The location is really great in Windwardside as everything is within easy walking distance, rooms were pretty clean, food decent, and staff were helpful. They were particularly great at getting us dinner reservations and arranging an early taxi back to the harbor when we left.

The only slight downside I could mention would be how we felt a bit unwelcome from a diving point of view. We each have about a dozen dives under our belts, but it was abundantly clear that our very novice status made it difficult to accommodate us on their dive trips. We ended up using Sea Saba instead, which was awesome! Aside from that, it was a great stay for a couple of nights in Saba.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel it's very quiet, not to much noise the area is very nice, The service is A+ I would come back anytime to stay at this hotel... The restaurant is also good. The rooms is to die for very nice

Room Tip: Over looking the beautiful jungle and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Scouts place is a low key heaven. pearched at the top of the island. the views are spectacular. the food was delicious and the happy hour generous. ocean views from the pool and dining room were breathtaking. Karioke night was the funnest hilarious thing one could imagine. the whole island come by for song and everyone dances laughs the night away. rooms very clean simple roomy. staff very friendly and helpful. a wonderful 4 day visit at a good price, will definitely return. thanks to all Scouts staff for a super time

Room Tip: rooms were simple and clean. tropical garden setting not the marriot but quite sufficient to be rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Living on Sint Martin for over a year my GF and i had been waiting for a chance to visit Saba to do the Hike and Dive. We finally booked forgetting it was gonna be easter weekend meaning most places shut but Scouts Place did not disappoint. The staff on the reception were very friendly and great in making sure we had somewhere to eat each night and giving information on the Island. The hotel itself is nice and basic with what you would expect in the caribbean. The bar and restuarant looked new and modern, a great place to grab a drink and something to eat. The menu changes from lunch to dinnner meaning there's always something to try. Plus special evening like grill night, burger night etc.The location is perfect to head out into the small area of windwardside where most the other bars and restaurants are. The start of most the hikes also only a few minutes walk away.
The main reason for a Saba visit is to dive. Scouts place and Saba divers work perfectly together. Billy the taxi man is always there when he needs to be and shuttles you back and forth with ease nice knowing its all included. Despite the weather turing bad for us we still got to do all 6 dives at 5 locations. The rare swell being the only reason for a sort of reapeat dive. We still got to see many great things that you would expect to see on Saba. The dive instructors Simon and Rita were great - professional, fun and most importantly, conducted very safe excursions. Having been before with another dive centre, Saba Divers are my favourite and I highly recommend them to anyone who is trying to choose a dive centre on Saba.
So overall a great weekend even if we didnt get the luck of the weather. Anyone looking for a nice simple, stress free time on Saba look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scout's Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scout's Place Hotel

Property: Scout's Place Hotel
Address: Fort Street 9 | P.O. Box 543, Windwardside, Saba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scout's Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scout's Place Hotel is your all-in-one-resort on Saba. A cozy Caribbean Inn with a local bar, excellent restaurant and an award winning dive center round off the picture. Our friendly staff can organize all your activities on Saba and provide you with the informations you need to spend a great time hiking, diving or just relaxing on our lovely island. We are committed to make your stay unforgettable and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scout's Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scout's Place Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing