We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scout's Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belair Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
90
67
19
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
67
19
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriday nightdive operationcontinental breakfastrestaurant staffpost officeno air conditioningtaxi driverroom was clean and comfortableclose to shopsbar servesbalcony doorhotel is centrally locatedjohnny cakesgreat sceneryexcellent place to staymac cheeseisland tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We stayed at the M4 Westbound Travelodge (£60) near London on Saturday 28th July 2007, so we would be fresh for the 04.00 check in and the Servisair All-Inclusive lounge (£36) to have refreshments prior to boarding our flight at 06.00, little did we know that after you have checked your baggage in and cleared all the security, we would only have 15 minutes in the lounge!

We flew by Air France from London Heathrow to Paris, Paris to St. Martin (approx £800 return each) and via Winair, St. Martin to Saba (96 USD one way each) all in one day, on Sunday 29th July 2007. If you have survived the landing after the 15 minute Island hopping flight, well done, if you haven’t…don’t bother reading the rest of this review!

The Taxis outside will take you to your hotel destination, for Scout's Place we paid 7 USD total for both of us Inc 2 large & 1 small suitcase. We paid extra for the Category 3 rooms located in a separate building at Scout's Place, the so called former Saba government guesthouse. The room (C2) had a good ocean and village view, it was equipped with shower, toilet, cable TV, refrigerator, telephone and own balcony, coffee maker with daily complimentary coffee & tea supply, internet access with own laptop & double bed - no pushing the singles beds together here!! In fact if you go to their site sabadivers.com and click on the Hotel Scout’s Place tab on the right of the page, scroll down to the rooms

• Picture 1 is the view from the balcony looking in to the room we had.
• Picture 2 was above and behind our room, so not too far to walk.
• Picture 3 is the view of the bed (prior to me breaking one of the base slats and having to report it for repair).

This was primarily a diving and visiting relatives’ holiday, we arrived during the Carnival celebration, catching the tail end of the procession which included the Scouts Place & Saba Divers float and team. The evening celebrations then followed with plenty of “Wine, Women and Song” All the dive instructors from the different dive centres were united in wearing the Sea Slave Labour T-shirts, showing great companionship, even though they are essentially competing for the same business, at the end of the day it is a small island and everybody one day needs somebody.

We stayed 13 nights @124 USD a night for bed & breakfast and we had the option of upgrading the breakfast for an additional small sum from the menu. The lunch menu was extensive but not as impressive as the Dinner menu. You could eat inside the dining area or outside on the veranda overlooking the village and ocean with Mt. Scenery overlooking you, an absolutely amazing viewpoint. And don’t forget you get 10% discount on all your restaurant meals as a Scouts Place customer.

I had 9 dives costing 387 USD which included the equipment, Marine Park, Hyper baric fees and transport to and from the harbour. My Nitrox level 1 & 2 courses were 185 USD inc. book & slate materials and there is no extra charge for using Nirtox 32% mix compared to the usual 21% compressed air ratio.

Whilst there we used the laundry service twice at a cost of 50 USD, but there was a lot of washing. I would drop it off before we left for diving in the morning and it would be in our room again by that afternoon all neatly folded, which is an excellent service.

We climbed Mt Scenery, setting out at 06.00 at dawn, whilst it was still cool, wearing the appropriate hiking footwear and carrying 1.5 litre bottles of water each. It is only a short walk from Scouts to the start of the Mount Scenery Steps trail (click on to the Scouts Trekking tab for more details) the first few hundred steps are concrete, by which time we were already knackered – wish we got the taxi to the Rendez-Vous.

Then the concrete steps changed altogether to smaller steps, they were cut at angles backwards and to the side of the drop, very slippery and damn right dangerous. There are several (3) stopping rest points along the way, but I can assure you, that you will be stopping a lot more than that on the way up.

Eventually you get to a sign post pointing the scenic view to the left, where the steps are now wooden trunks filled with mud, as you walk through the “Haunted Trees” and the clouds (in our case) it gives a eerie spooky feeling, so don’t forget your camera, unless you dropped it earlier on a slippery step before hand. There is at one point quite a high step, be extremely careful, you’ll understand when you look around you. As you approach the end, you have to walk through a large “boulder cave” filled with mud, use the large leaves around you, so you can walk through, unfortunately we were unable to as the mud was far too deep and had to turn back.

On our return, we passed a couple with serious walking hiking sticks and sandals and a young couple with a baby strapped to his chest, we advised them what lay ahead but didn’t rate the young family’s chances of getting much farther. We stopped off at Ecolodge / Rendez-Vous and had a look around, wow, so glad we didn’t stay there, if you like it basic well done but it’s not for us BUT we have been told their restaurant is one of the best on the Island. I suppose it has to be if you’re going to climb a few hundred steps each way to get there, unless you cheat and get the Taxi and then you have a little walk along a track to get there.

It transpires we were only about 30 feet from the end, but with all the cloud we would not have seen anything anyway! But if you turn right at the sign post you walk downwards for a while before you start climbing again and approach the top from a different point, but we understand this route is a lot easier than the one we attempted. If you go to the Saba Tourist Bureau sabatourism.com afterwards and tell them that you have climbed Mount Scenery, they will give you a Certificate of Achievement, which after 1064 steps, 2877 feet or 877 metres each way , you kind of expect more than a bit of paper to say you have done it.

The team at Scouts and Saba Divers are very friendly:

• Wolfgang and Barbara are the owners and Sabaoke King & Queen.
• Bettina, Mel and Jen are based in the office.
• All the Kitchen / Restaurant / Bar / Hotel staff, too many names to single a few out.
• Dive instructors Bob, Marie, Gersh, Joachim and Nina.

Some of the people we met are worthy of a special mention too, namely, Emilie and Vic from My Kitchen who we met several times during our stay whilst drinking and / or diving, but not at the same time you’ll understand, otherwise you get sea water in your beer if you do that!

We ate mainly at Scouts Place Hotel, but did venture into Swinging Doors for a BBQ, My Kitchen for a birthday celebration and Brigadoon for a farewell meal. All meals were reasonably priced and at no time did the total bill per head exceed 50 USD and that is with starter, main, dessert and plenty of alcohol to top it all off with.

We looked at several hotels prior to choosing Scouts Place (and visited them once we were there, to see if we made the right choice) for example:

• El Momo Cottages, nice if you like your room as garden shed and 60 odd steps to get there BUT stunning views.
• The Cottage Club, even better than the web site leads you to believe.
• Ecolodge / Rendez-Vous, so glad we didn’t choose that, it’s just not us.
• Willard’s, absolutely stunning but well out of price range.
• Queen’s Garden Resort, again absolutely stunning and also out of our price range.

We caught the 07.00 Dawn 2 ferry on Saturday 11th August 2007 for the 2 hour journey back to St. Martin (50 USD each). If you suffer from sea sickness – avoid like the plague, though they are thoughtful and bring round sick bags if required.

Would I recommend Scouts Place and Saba Divers? You bet! It’s just the expense of the flights that is off putting, it just means you have to stay at least 10 nights and not 7! And remember if you see a mosquito, you haven’t as they don’t have them over there or so they say (so remember you repellent).

[--]

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ATC_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed on our tour seeing the "Bovenwindse Islands" 4 days at the Scout´s Place hotel on Saba. Saba is quiet and a beautiful Island. Rainforrest, Hills, nice white houses with red roofs. It is also very clean and the people are very nice.
The scout´s Place hotel is clean, very nice and the staff is extremely friendly and wants to help you with everything to have a perfect stay on Saba! Take a dive or do some snorkeling, it is great!
Some wrote it was noisy...well, the karaoke night is the only night that you hear something differnet on this island...I think it´s it is absolutely a great thing that the hotelowners organise something for the people who stay in the hotel! And they do a great Job!
P.S. the music was till 11.00 P.M....
Last, but not least: the restaurant / Pirates Bar had a lot on the menu and all we ate and drank was absolutely great!!

Stayed: April 2007
7  Thank hugoHannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

I can not begin to tell you how much I loved Scout's place. Before I arrived I had many questions. Literally within hours all of my questions were answered, making my trip to Saba quite enjoyable.

Once I arrived in Saba, the hotel staff were waiting for me. They helped me with my scuba gear and gave me a quick run-down of all the hotel amenities.

The dive operation affiliated with Scout's were beyond amazing. They were always on time and the instructors/dive masters were so nice. They went beyond to make sure every dive trip was as good or better then the last.

I have to say that the room was very clean and furnished very tastefully. I enjoyed the food at the restaurant and appreciated how close the hotel was to the little town.

I recommend Scout's 100 percent. I hope that this review is helpful to future travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2006

scouts place was the perfect dive vacation experience.
the island is a little out of the way but worth the effort .the staff at scouts place mayde you feel right at home. our mothers were delighted with their stay. they enjoyed exploring town. they were very happy with the hospitality of the staff at scouts place. quaint,comfortable and clean rooms with beautiful views and a good restaurant .
the diving was terrific. the staff enhanced our experience. we can't wait to see some more.we'll be going back this june
happy explorers

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TwoExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tallahassee, Florida
114
Reviewed 6 April 2006

This was a dream vacation. Saba is a true haven away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and very quiet compared to some other Caribbean islands. The scenery is spectacular, both above and below the water. The dive masters of Saba Divers offer the best service we have ever experienced. Even if there were ten divers on the boat, each one of us was given very personalized attention. The friendliness and hospitality at Scout's Place is so genuine that you feel more like family than hotel guests. The town of Windwardside is so cute and it is fun to chat with the residents and discover that everyone knows each other. The rooms at Scout's Place are simple but very clean. The restaurant served great food and the Friday night karaoke was a lot of fun. Any vacation on Saba would be wonderful but we highly recommend staying at Scout's Place and diving with Saba Divers.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews