We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Busy... but stunning”
Review of Colombier Beach

Colombier Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
St Barts Ferry Transfer from St Maarten
More Info
US$178.99*
and up
St Barts Independent Day Trip from St Martin with ATV Rental
More Info
US$178.99*
and up
St Barts Day Trip by Jeep with Scavenger Hunt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax on this shady, isolated beach - after that 30 minute walk to get there from the main road, you'll need it.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Busy... but stunning”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We walked the beach, then hiked to see the other side of the island. Its not a hard hike, but best to be in shoes. Saw some BIG lizards and all the flora and fauna the island has to other.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coca905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    58
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hike is worth it! Take the easy route round the headland.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The beautiful beach that is Colombier is a truly wonderful place to enjoy on St Barth. It could be said it is the best on the island.
It took me and my partner around 20 minutes to walk from where we parked the car near the Anse. It was an interesting walk and we saw a couple of tortoises and other flora and fauna on the way!
Once around the headland the view that greeted us was stunning, soft rolling aquamarine waves on gilded golden sand.
There were plenty of sailing boats, super yachts and people to nosy at but it didn't distract from the beach's beauty.
Glorious place to watch a sunset.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,907 reviews
851 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
“Worth the 25 minutes walk”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A great beach at the end of a 25 minutes track across le Colombiers coast. On the way you can find wild tortoises, rare lizards and a very un crowded beach. A worth effort

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike! Best beach on the island.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While it is a hike to get there, this is the most spectacular beach on the island. We were there in November--the hike took us 40 minutes on the lower trail, taking it slow to ensure my wife did not twist her ankles (weak ankles!). (You must wear closed toe shoes—don’t even consider flip flops or sandals!!!) The path was wet from overnight rain—it was not slippery but was muddy in places. The scenery is quite beautiful along the way—make sure you bring a camera. When we got there, we entered the beach half way down the road-like path above the beach—there is an opening on the right—go there then turn left—there is a sandy “path” down to the beach. This brings you out near the spectacular rock formations and a couple of shady spots up against the rocks—this is the prettiest part of the beach. If you enter down the treacherous rocks at the beginning of the beach, make sure you walk down to the other end to fully appreciate the beach’s beauty.

We arrived about 9:00—we were the only ones on the beach! With that seclusion, we spent the rest of the day “au naturel”. There were 7 boats in the water (half of them left within a couple of hours). Other people started to showed up on the beach about 90 minutes later, but there was never more than 10 people there at any given time. Most of the beach is rock free and swimming is very nice. While we hauled our snorkeling gear there and decided to try some naked snorkeling, it was not good that day as the persistent northern swell that stirred up most of the beaches on the island that week also made the water cloudy there. If you are looking for seashells, this is not the place--after walking the entire beach, we found no seashells anywhere. We brought drinks and lunch with us and stayed for several hours. We left when it got very cloudy. On the walk back, it rained on us, but it only took 30 minutes to return to the car.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“30 minute hike in the sun!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's only accessible by foot or boat. If I'm going to hike when there are so many other beautiful beaches you can easily access it needs to be spectacular and EMPTY. It's not. Loud boat people coming ashore. No shade. Go to Saline instead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank neoplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colombier Beach also viewed

St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
St. Barthelemy, Caribbean
 
St. Barthelemy, Caribbean
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Colombier Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing