We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great restaurant ”
Review of Shellona

Shellona
Ranked #14 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$59
Description: Overlooking Shell Beach, Shellona's restaurant welcomes you every day from 10:30 am to 08:00 pm - Restaurant from noon to 8.00pm. Enjoy an exceptional setting facing the Caribbean Sea. With its unique location, have lunch while listening to the DJ or live music bands, relax on one of our sun beds or taste one of our cocktails admiring the most beautiful sunset of the island. In the kitchen, you will find our Chef Yiannis Kioroglou, one of the rising stars of Greek cuisine. Yiannis and his team offer an authentic Mediterranean cuisine, carrying you from the sweetness of Amalfi's lemon trees all the way to the gastronomic treasures of the Cyclades. Acclaimed for their flavoured grilled food seasoned with the best aromatic herbs and marinades, our Chefs invite you to one of the tastiest culinary experiences.
Restaurant details
Description: Overlooking Shell Beach, Shellona's restaurant welcomes you every day from 10:30 am to 08:00 pm - Restaurant from noon to 8.00pm. Enjoy an exceptional setting facing the Caribbean Sea. With its unique location, have lunch while listening to the DJ or live music bands, relax on one of our sun beds or taste one of our cocktails admiring the most beautiful sunset of the island. In the kitchen, you will find our Chef Yiannis Kioroglou, one of the rising stars of Greek cuisine. Yiannis and his team offer an authentic Mediterranean cuisine, carrying you from the sweetness of Amalfi's lemon trees all the way to the gastronomic treasures of the Cyclades. Acclaimed for their flavoured grilled food seasoned with the best aromatic herbs and marinades, our Chefs invite you to one of the tastiest culinary experiences.
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We had lunch here today. Hubby...3 grown daughters. The food was pretty amazing. Hubby had the chicken skewers, which sounds pretty boring and was actually to die for. Kids had some feta wrapped in a pastry (decadent), Niçoise salad with tuna, and the jumbo boiled prawns, which tasted like eating pure butter. Amazing. I had a chicken Caesar salad, which was really just mediocre. But the views are amazing...the service was top-notch (ask for Pierre...I think all 3 of my girls fell a little bit in love...). All in all a beautiful and fabulous way to pass an afternoon.

Thank KatPaulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable relations publiques at Shellona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Kat, we are really pleased to discover how much you and your family enjoyed your time at Shellona.
There is no bigger pleasure for us than seeing our customers happy, this is everything we want for you.
We are looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards, Shellona team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived a bit after 10 am, before they opened and were warmly greeted by the friendly staff! Selected our sun bed and relaxed until lunch! Delicious tropical mixed drinks, gorgeous beach (reminded us of Da Adolfo in Positano) and yummy food - prosciutto and melone, mussels, salad with grilled shrimp, and deep fried goat cheese in phyllo soaked in honey and covered in sesame seeds! Fabulous caramel and coffee mousse for dessert! Great shelling and sea glass spot! Wonderful dj and cute shop! A fabulous place to spend the day!

Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable relations publiques at Shellona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear customer, thank you very much for this positive feedback about your experience at Shellona.
We are glad you had a great moment there, that is everything we want for our clients. Thank you also for all these lovely compliments about the food and the service.
We look forward to seeing you back in our place.
Best regards, Shellona team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This is where you come for exceptional food and loads of fun.

Even though the restaurant was at capacity, it didn't feel overwhelming. We didn't feel forgotten either as service was very kind and attentive.

The food is fantastic. The squid must be tried. It's obvious that a lot of attention has been given to presentation. Great wine list.

We were seated upstairs, along the rail, to the far end. Here is a fantastic view of the ocean, a vantage for hilarious people-watching, and an extremely great time.

The restaurateurs have brought amazing food and created a great ambiance in a spectacular location. Don't miss out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeffreyCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable relations publiques at Shellona, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Jeffrey, thank you so much for your comment.
There is no bigger pleasure for us than seeing our customers happy, this is everythng we want for you.
Indeed as you said, we give a lot of attention to the presentation but also to the quality of the products we used and the service.
We wish to see you back in our place.
Best regards, Shellona team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

This place is sexy with a capital S! I loved being tucked away in the back on a comfy couch drinking my fabulous drink! I wanted to order some food but was so full from my lunch earlier.. I did end up ordering only the feta cheese with honey which was delicious and had another round of drinks! Be prepared to spend some cash.. drinks are at least 20 euros a pop! I already knew this going in.. but YOLO and the beach is amazing! Our waiter was great and very friendly.. I can't wait to go back!

1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable relations publiques at Shellona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Stephanie, we are really pleased to discover how much you enjoyed your time at Shellona.
We designed this beach restaurant as a place were people will feel comfortable and able to relax, that is why we cared about every details: from the "comfy couch" and the mediterranean food to the friendly service.
We are looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards, Shellona team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We came across Shellona by accident during a visit to St. Barts. The restaurant (former site of Do Brazil) is perfectly situated on this beautiful little beach. It's hard to explain the great atmosphere. The restaurant floor is made of the sand beach. Mostly attentive staff. Good but pricey food. Excellent bread. Just a little treasure! Loved it. The only negative was when our waiter asked me for a tip (which I had planned on doing).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wherenext6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable relations publiques at Shellona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear customer, we would like to thank you for this very positive feedback about your first experience at Shellona.
It is always a pleasure for us to see that people enjoyed their day in our place and see it as "a little treasure". It is actually exactly how we want you to feel.
Thank you also for your compliments about the food.
We would be glad to welcome you back.
Best regards, Shellona team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shellona also viewed

Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Shellona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing