We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Optimal location,comfortable,affordable,quiet,”
Review of Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gustavia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Nantes
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Optimal location,comfortable,affordable,quiet,”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Don't stay at Sunset if you look for 1st class comfort,150" pool,jacuzzi,sauna,tennis court etc
But all the basics are there for a nice stay.
People visiting,and enjoying St. Barth don't stay in hotels day long.
Staff is nice,wireless almost everywhere,better stay on the terrace overlooking the harbour entrance (very busy all day long,with super yachts arriving and leaving)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
25
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lipari
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012. Centrally located down at the docks with a wonderful view from the breakfast terrace over the marina, right in front of the ferry to st martin. Rooms clean, with TV, fridge with drinks, air con. We had to pay the superior room price, even though our room overlooked the corridor at the back, so very dark - I thought that the superior rooms overlooked the marina, but was told that we had to pay the superior price because it was larger ?! Very small continental breakfast cost an extra 8 euro each.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Befana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Great hotel, super location. Shame about the staff: brusque, almost surly. To think we'd travelled 6,000km to get there...Car rental staff very friendly though

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BaggaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Its not a hotel for people who like to stay in resorts. From the balcony a great view of Gustavia abnd sunsets. You can bring your own booze and enjoy the sunset. Room is very clean and good size. minifridge inside. Staff is very good! As my french isnt so good anymore they speak English. Also give you information about Saint Barths. Via them also arrainged carrental. Could pick the car up from the airport. Its in Gustavia so you can walk everywhere from the hotel Very good restaurants there one is like 1 minute walk and the others are good too. as saitn barths is small you can drive to the nice beaches in minutes. Saint Barths is very safe to drive as there are so many turns and hills that you cant drive too fast making it very safe, For the price you pay at this hotel its a bargain! You can park your car free accross the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mispoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This is not the hotel for someone expecting luxury resort accomodations and service. But if you are in St. Barth because of its beautiful uncrowded beaches and not the ostentatious display of wealth, and if you would rather save your euros for delicious food and fine dining experiences, then this is the place for you.
We got rooms facing the harbor and were rewarded with nice sunsets every evening as well as interesting people watching. There is a small grocery store down the street with better prices than Match, the larger supermarket by the airport. There is a very well stocked pharmacy and a good bookstore/magazine stand down the street as well. At night you can stroll through town and try a wide variety of bars and restaurants. We found this convenient since we did not want to drive at night on the island's windy roads.
You can opt to eat breakfast in the hotel (8 euros), or you can keep yogurt and fruit in the mini fridge and then have coffee next door at Le Repaire.
The hotel staff is incredibly nice and friendly, they even helped us make restaurant reservations. The desk closes around 5 pm so you never have a feeling that someone is keeping track of all your comings and goings. We also rented our car directly with the hotel.
As another reviewer mentioned, the hotel is in a noisy location. I came prepared with earplugs, which really saved my trip, but I am a light sleeper. Traffic quiets down significantly at night but you can hear loud mopeds / vespas late at night.
Finally, I would like to warn fellow travelers not to use the "public" pay phones on the island. There is one right outside the hotel where you can insert your credit card to make international calls. A 3 minute call to the U.S. was $58!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Volanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The hotel is right in the heart of Gustavia and the owners and people that run the hotel are very nice and professional. The room we had was quite large as we were in a triple room, and found everything to work very well. Air conditioning was great, as was the room. Nice to able to walk to the various restaurants at night and sightsee during the day. They also arranged for us to rent a car and this worked out very well for us.

Room is very basic, but a great value for St. Barths. The shower we found to be a bit dirty, but the rest of the bathroom was in good shape.

We also liked to be able to use the outsde terrace, and it was nice socializing with the other guests. For a short stay 4/5 days this is best place to stay to visit the island.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAMY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This little jewel in the heart of Gustavia is wonderful. We always get the rooms on the harbor side because it's great to sit out on the porch that surrounds the hotel and watch the town activity as the sun sets over the harbor. Cruise ships outside the harbor light up and the scene is quite beautiful. There is some road noise but that isn't too bad on the top floor. There's a wonderful breakfast area with a few tables. We never eat at the hotel but at night you can bring your wine and nibbles out there and talk to other guests as you relax. Rooms are not huge and are basic but extremely clean. You can walk to Shell beach, at least 20 restaurants, great wine store, grocery, and great, if expensive, shopping. Price is very low for St. Bart's or any Caribbean destination. Especially low for St. Barts which tends to be way on the high side.
There are small refrigerators in the rooms and ceiling fans and all are air conditioned which you need at night since mosquitoes will come in if you leave the door open at night.
Best low priced restaurants in Gustavia are 1. Eddy's-romantic, caribbean flavor, pretty cheap for what you get 2. Le Repair-right on the harbor, moderately priced, good view, and better than average food 3. Le Creperie-great salads, sandwiches and crepes. Very inexpensive. Very fresh ingredients. 4. Andy's hideaway in St. Jean-several different kinds of pizza, salads, cheap dinners-all the rum you want for dessert. Food is good but not outstanding. Pizza very good and lots of choices. 5. La Petite Columb-bakery in Gustavia and Columbier-2 locations. Wonderful pastry for breakfast, dessert. Good coffee. Cheap. Several kinds of sandwiches and large ones that can be shared. Each day a different entree but only open until about 2pm. Entrees can be extremely good, different every day and very cheap! A lot more but these are the ones we like the best. There is no bad food in St. Barts so don't worry about going to the less expensive places.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rocky535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gustavia
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
3.0 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
103 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Rue de la Republique, Gustavia 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Gustavia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Gustavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing