We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one-nighter”
Review of Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gustavia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Sunset for one night's accomodation before our villa was available. Our superior room was on the harborside with balcony looking out over the Gustavia Harbor, you certainly can't beat that view for the price. Our room also had a small table and two chairs next to the door. Nice for happy hour and morning coffee. Your neighbors will also be using their's, so it's a chatty, fun environment. Room was fine. Big negative for me was the hand-held shower, no hook in the shower so it had to be held the entire time. Interesting "industial" type hair dryer. It's noisy here, it's on a busy street in Gustavia, so unless you are a deep sleeper be prepared to wake to the sound of whinning scooters. Overall, budget accomodations with a terrific view and location. If lack of privacy and noise are not issues with you, this would be fine for a longer stay. For me, it's a great place to hang for one or two nights and then move on to something else. Which reminds me, check out is 10:00am sharp!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the harbor, a little more, but worth it. Although inside room would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank binti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great hotel for a quick trip to St. Barths! Staff was excellent and helped arrange our car rental. Very quick to answer my emails. Clean hotel with big rooms. Wonderful view of the harbor! Breakfast on the patio was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The place to be for the budget traveller. Safe and clean room and great view form the balcony of the city. Great to drink a wine and enjoy the view. You can park your car accross the street where also the Saint Martin Ferry arrives. Staff is helpful and speaks English. The hotel also has a rental boot at the airport where I got a new rental car for a good price and good service. Big advantage is that you can walk the whole city from the hotel. Good restaurants are like a 5 minute walk. With the car you will be at a nice beach in 5 minutes. If you want to see Saint Barths but you are afriad of the expensive name it has than you should go to this hotel. The money you will safe can be used in the excellent restaurants!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Lovely view from terrace of Gustavia Harbor, clean room, perfect town location! air-con, t.v., hairdryer, fridge with drinks for an extra cost, breakfast 8euros. Miriam our only staff was nice, did everything. We stayed in the Double Superior room not luxurious, but you can save the luxury $ for other things in St.Barths

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J8Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It's comfortable, very clean and nicely presented. Felt quite luxurious having air-con, ceiling fan/everything newly decorated - ooh and a t.v. and hairdryer. They would prefer you don't eat in the room (ants are a big problem on the island, and it's ant-free at the Sunset at present!) but there is a fridge so I had a very careful breakfast there in the mornings. Fresh beach towel every day. All good. Very very reasonably priced. Great location, everything nearby including beach 10 mins away. Lovely view. Yes, it's not luxury but it's more than enough and the recent renovations are great! I liked it and would go back (if I can ever afford the flights again!). Oh and the staff? Okay, they're not likely to make a fuss of you, but they smiled and did whatever I asked. So I can't complain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma425Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Don't stay at Sunset if you look for 1st class comfort,150" pool,jacuzzi,sauna,tennis court etc
But all the basics are there for a nice stay.
People visiting,and enjoying St. Barth don't stay in hotels day long.
Staff is nice,wireless almost everywhere,better stay on the terrace overlooking the harbour entrance (very busy all day long,with super yachts arriving and leaving)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012. Centrally located down at the docks with a wonderful view from the breakfast terrace over the marina, right in front of the ferry to st martin. Rooms clean, with TV, fridge with drinks, air con. We had to pay the superior room price, even though our room overlooked the corridor at the back, so very dark - I thought that the superior rooms overlooked the marina, but was told that we had to pay the superior price because it was larger ?! Very small continental breakfast cost an extra 8 euro each.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Befana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gustavia
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
0.8 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
2.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
618 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Rue de la Republique, Gustavia 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Gustavia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Gustavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing