We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tom Beach Hotel(St. Jean)(Great Value!)
US$445
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Village St Barth(St. Jean)(Great Value!)
US$220
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marie Saint-Barth(Colombier)(Great Value!)
US$577
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baie des Anges(Anse des Flamands)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Mouettes(St. Jean)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
18
35
12
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
35
12
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalconvenient locationbudget hotelluxuryst
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The hotel is right in the heart of Gustavia and the owners and people that run the hotel are very nice and professional. The room we had was quite large as we were in a triple room, and found everything to work very well. Air conditioning was great, as was the room. Nice to able to walk to the various restaurants at night and sightsee during the day. They also arranged for us to rent a car and this worked out very well for us.

Room is very basic, but a great value for St. Barths. The shower we found to be a bit dirty, but the rest of the bathroom was in good shape.

We also liked to be able to use the outsde terrace, and it was nice socializing with the other guests. For a short stay 4/5 days this is best place to stay to visit the island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAMY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This little jewel in the heart of Gustavia is wonderful. We always get the rooms on the harbor side because it's great to sit out on the porch that surrounds the hotel and watch the town activity as the sun sets over the harbor. Cruise ships outside the harbor light up and the scene is quite beautiful. There is some road noise but that isn't too bad on the top floor. There's a wonderful breakfast area with a few tables. We never eat at the hotel but at night you can bring your wine and nibbles out there and talk to other guests as you relax. Rooms are not huge and are basic but extremely clean. You can walk to Shell beach, at least 20 restaurants, great wine store, grocery, and great, if expensive, shopping. Price is very low for St. Bart's or any Caribbean destination. Especially low for St. Barts which tends to be way on the high side.
There are small refrigerators in the rooms and ceiling fans and all are air conditioned which you need at night since mosquitoes will come in if you leave the door open at night.
Best low priced restaurants in Gustavia are 1. Eddy's-romantic, caribbean flavor, pretty cheap for what you get 2. Le Repair-right on the harbor, moderately priced, good view, and better than average food 3. Le Creperie-great salads, sandwiches and crepes. Very inexpensive. Very fresh ingredients. 4. Andy's hideaway in St. Jean-several different kinds of pizza, salads, cheap dinners-all the rum you want for dessert. Food is good but not outstanding. Pizza very good and lots of choices. 5. La Petite Columb-bakery in Gustavia and Columbier-2 locations. Wonderful pastry for breakfast, dessert. Good coffee. Cheap. Several kinds of sandwiches and large ones that can be shared. Each day a different entree but only open until about 2pm. Entrees can be extremely good, different every day and very cheap! A lot more but these are the ones we like the best. There is no bad food in St. Barts so don't worry about going to the less expensive places.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rocky535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

This is the worst Hotel
The Room is dirty, the bathroom was unclean- shower curtain was yellow, the walls are paper thin- so good luck trying to sleep at night. The room looks onto a hall way, there were ants already in my room, when i arrived, the room was filled with bug spray that gave me a headache, the hotel manager was very rude and didnt want to hear any of my complaints but just wanted my money- when i wanted to leave early, The manager doesnt care about his guests and has no hotel experience. The hotel has no parking and good luck trying to to find parking in Gustavia during high season, every parking spot is filled in Gustavia during high season, whats the fun in having a holiday and living in a cheap hooker hotel. The rooms are small, the pillows were hard, it felt like i was in a prison cell. I felt very unsafe staying in the room. You have to walk up alot of stairs with your bags to get to the main lobby, then you have to walk up some more stairs to get to your room, and they never helped me with my bags.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 123,045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Sunset Hotel is right on the main street by the bay on the second floor of the building. There is no elevator as I remember it. I stayed in a small room with two twin beds. The TV was about a 12 inch screen but who's going to waste time watching TV on St Barths? Room was very basic with private bathroom (shower only, no tub). The hotel is small and with differing room configurations. The AC was a wall unit and worked very well.

The hotel worker will take you to your room and show you how everything works. You should give him a small tip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We stayed 4 nights, it is basic but fine, for sleeping it is great, clean, good air co, TV and the people are nice. Breakfast on the terrce is good. Parking in front of the hotel, great.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Justanotherguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews