We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With so many options in St. Barths, this just isn't a stand out”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya's

Maya's
Ranked #20 of 69 Restaurants in Gustavia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Maya´s restaurant, St. Barth French west indies
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“With so many options in St. Barths, this just isn't a stand out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We enjoyed a late Saturday dinner at Maya's, but for the price, the food was just ok and the service was inattentive. There are so many great (albeit expensive) options in St. Barths and Maya's just didn't stand out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DCJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    20
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We should have known better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Friendly service and lovely table. We enjoyed the open air atmosphere. We were disappointed by the food. We found it very expensive for lack luster food. From the reputation of the restaurant we expected something special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BASIC FOOD and OVERPRICED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had been looking forward to going to Maya's given it's reputation but we were bitterly disappointed. The food was simple and basic - meat and 3 vegetables or a salad full of leaves and a tiny piece of goats cheese. The dishes lacked creativity and originality. To make things worse the prices were steep even by St Barth's standards. The services was ok.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Maya's To Go...Good food but expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Years ago we were frequent visitors to Maya's Restaurant. The food was very good but we finally decided it was too overpriced so we stopped going. On a recent trip we went into the Maya's To Go near the airport and got some side items to go. Once again I was amazed at how expensive food with Maya's name associated with it is. It is admittedly very good but in my opinion not worth the money. I will not be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why the negative reviews?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Food was fabulous. Service great. Hostess moved us to seaside table halfway through dinner without us having to ask. Waiter attentive to gluten-free needs.

Sure, it's expensive but what isn't on St. Barth's?

Helpful?
Thank dcbandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya's also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Maya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing