We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, got upgraded room, very nice breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed there for two nights and was pleasantly surprised ! Very friendly staf, clean and enjoyed my short stay. Returning in 5 weeks and will stay here again. The only comment I had would have wish the pool was heated !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belgium33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just back from a week - stayed in No. 6 Junior Terrace Suite.

Our room was very large (2 baths, including one outdoor), spotless, great big balcony overlooking the bay, nice outside kitchen, comfortable bed, high quality design, look and feel - everything clean and bright, maid service daily, and all in all a very comfortable stay. Nice pool, and a good gym as well.

The place is easy to find, ample parking, and although there's a short walk up the hill we didn't find it unmanageable at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, and wifi is free and available in-room, at reception, and in the place used for breakfast. Didn't get the comments re: breakfast posted by some =- it's only 12 euros or so for a good selection of pastries, coffee, bacon, eggs, cereal etc and the view is lovely as well.There is no bar, but there's a fridge with wine/drinks outside the reception and a good library of books inside.

It's only a short walk down the hill to Nikki Beach/Eden Rock, or turn right for several places to eat in the St Jean area. We didn't find the road outside the property to be busy or noisy.

We ate at Eden Rock, Nikki Beach and others (will review those) and The Hideaway and Pimento all nearby, and the supermarket is only 5 mins away by car.

I read the reviews carefully before we booked this, and had been concerned by some reports of (a) its not a full service hotel (b) poor breakfast (c) expensive (d) bugs (e) staff

Well (a) is correct but most people don't want an evening bar so this won't impact on your enjoyment. (b) the breakfasts were very good, stuff done to order - no American breakfast buffets, but not needed. (c) we didn't think so, for the size, location and quality of the rooms/space; (e) a few mozzies around, left out some jam in the kitchen once and saw ants next day - it's the caribbean! (f) we found the staff to be customer focused and helpful, especially when we had a problem with our in-room wifi.

So all in all we'd recommend the location as ideal in terms of having a great beach a few minutes way, several good eating/drinking choices including Nikki Beach's Thursday evening entertainment, plus Gustavia 10 mins away and supermarkets/shops 5 minutes away.

Definitely a recommend from us.

Room Tip: Room 6 was fantastic - separate sitting room, second bathroom outside, huge patio area with table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a week and stayed at Le Village. We loved it! The location is wonderful and we had an ocean view from our private patio. The rooms were simple but nice (we stayed in the most basic room without a kitchen). Breakfast each morning was lovely, there's a closet full of beach gear you can borrow which was perfect. We came to love St. Jean and the little shops and restaurants you could easily walk to. It was a perfect and reasonably priced place from which to explore the whole island. We played bocce ball a couple of nights before heading out and had a lot of fun with that, too. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We opted for the most basic just for frugal purposes and were surprised at how lovely it was! Even w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

From checking into our villa to breakfast to wonderful beach and restaurant recommendations, we adored our stay here. We came for our honeymoon, and it was perfect trip. Carol helped us start off each day with fruit and pasteries as we took in one of the best views of the island. The pool is quiet and comfortable to maximize relaxation. We will definitely definitely be back to St. Barts many times, and we will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueCra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are perfection. Perfection! I loved the decor (and that's my profession). The prices, just can't be beat.

The pool was great after a day at the beach. I'd say the overall atmosphere is very romantic.

I liked the kitchens. These were modern and clean.

I stayed here twice, about ten years ago. I loved it then, but love it even more with all the changes. And the price is still a great value.

One downside. St Jean beach is a walk down (and then back up) a steep hill. As I said, it's not a long walk, but it can feel like one when toting gear back up the hill. Other than that. This is one of my favorites.

St Jean beach is not my favorite. But the restaurants and the little shops are nice to check out. I'd recommend driving to Flamand. Or check out others. Everything is a short drive away. And driving in St. Bart's is a blast.

Overall, I love this hotel and will be returning. Oh, check out the lower rates in the Spring.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have the best view. But you won't mind the rooms below. They're just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed our 30th stay at Le Village. It was like returning home.
I cant tell you more how wonderful the Charneau family and staff were to us. Most of the loyal staff have been there since we started visiting and there is always a friendly smile and bonjour whenever we encounter them while walking through the property. Catherine, the gracious owner, went out of her way to stock our villa with necessities for our arrival. Stephanie, the reservation manager, made our lunch/dinner reservations for us and we always had the best table, she has that certain touch. Even our maid made sure we had fresh flowers throughout our villa. Some evenings we could hear the subtle piano playing of Gabi Charneau, the founding owner of Le Village. And our dog Bamboo made sure he stopped in from time to time.
I cant say enough how much we love staying there. Some days we never even made it to the beach, it was so peaceful staying at our beautiful Villa Iguana knowing we were part of this wonderful family and environment. Staying at Le Village warms the heart, lightens the spirit and restores the soul.
We take comfort leaving knowing we are booked to come back yet again to our home in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aimee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We are veteran guests of the friendly folks at Hotel Le Village St Barth (ex. Village St. Jean) and just left after another great visit.

Catherine Charneau (owner/manager), Stephanie Monnet and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us feel like we were family not guest. Great service, great amenities (especially love the fitness center), great location (we walk down the hill each day to St. Jean Beach) and a great laid back feel to the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
80 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Islets Fleuris
Les Islets Fleuris
#1 of 1 in Marigot
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Village St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Village St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: £166 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Village St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel
Hotel Le Village St Barth St. Jean, Caribbean - St. Barthelemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing