We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed at the LeVillage three full weeks during November/December 2013.
As we travel a lot, I would guess that we have the needed background to evaluate the quality of a Hotel.

The Hotel is centrally located in the most beautiful St. Jean Bay with its superbe beach. Even the island isn´t really big, this location is the perfect spot to explore each corner of it. We had a Quad Bike for the three weeks and were able to reach ever place within a maximum of about 20 minutes driving time.

The LeVillage is absolutely second to none. There is nothing like that in its category. First of all it is so obvious that this is a privately owned and family run Hotel. This makes the difference.
Love and dedication for the property can be discovered at any corner, to the detail.

The entire staff as well as the owners are the guarantor for a warm welcome and an overwhelming hospitality. They do everything to make a stay an unforgettable one.

The quality and the variety of the facilities of any kind is simply fantastic. You have all you need: a well equiped gym, a very nice pool, a great breakfast resto, all with spectacular ocean views.

During our stay we had the chance to stay in two different room types: in a garden-cottage as well as in a suite. Both types of accommodation have been simply great and are designed to stay longer. The suite was a dream for us and we enjoyed every second in there.

Breakfast is french and hence very delicious with a choice fantastic Croissants, bread, home made yoghurt, fresh fruit salad and tasty coffee. Additional dishes such as eggs, omlettes etc. are available and have to be paid extra.
Beverages and Ice are available 24/7.

If you decide not to go out for dinner every night, the well equiped kitchenette that we found in our both appartments is a good alternative. Frankly, we didn´t use it to prepare hot meals as just sitting there, watching the stars with a bottle of wine and delicious french cheese was enough.

All in all: the LeVillage is simply THE place to discover this pearl of an island in the sun. St. Barth has so much to offer that even three weeks weren´t sufficient for us. Our consequence is that we´ll definately come back soon!

Even if one decides to spend a day in the Hotel without leaving for a beach or else, it´ll not be a lost day. All the appartements are located in a tropical garden environment and it is just great to relax there and to soak up this unique tropical caribbean atmosphere.

We felt kind of sorry for those who just stopped by for two or three days!

A highly recommended place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are definately good choice, but their location has to do with the category you go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel staff were some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. Great price and the views are spectacular!! The young lady that serves breakfast, Carole, was very cheerful and helpful in preparing breakfast for my 4 year old son, Seth, who got sick the first day we were there. Nevertheless, you can't go wrong in choosing this hotel!!!

London

Room Tip: Don't get a room across from the pool because they can see directly into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

this place helped us fall in love with st. barts on the first date. we stayed in a superior cottage for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. from the best 'petit dejeuner' watching the island wake up, to incredible sunsets over st. jean from our patio (unless wading up to the coolest infinity edge in town). great help discovering the island / or oversight for those in need of it, impeccable service, and the most enjoyable work-out space we've been in for a while. best of all: others who've made the same choice.

Room Tip: can only speak for the superior cottage. at this location, the views from second floor balconys make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I spent 4 November nights in a "Standard Garden Cottage" # 21 at Hotel Le Village St. Jean. This was our first overnight stay on the island, having only visited on day trips via ferry from St. Maarten in the past. I did a lot of research trying to find the right place for us to stay and was very happy with having discovered Hotel Le Village. I was a little bit familiar with the location and knew it would be convenient. Specifically it is about a third of a mile directly above Nikki Beach / Eden rock location (steep street). We were price conscious so I chose a standard garden cottage at 180 euro per nt. The closest other price categories were the newly renovated hotel rooms at 160 euro or the standard terrace cottage (the upper floor of the standard lower level garden cottage) at 240 euro. I really was unsure of the property layout and it seemed many of the prior reviews were for more superior categories of cottages than what we were going to book. Location wise, we did see that the beautifully redone hotel "rooms" (4 or 5 of them) lay directly above the steep road (off to the right side as you drive uphill) and some earlier reviewers commented on road noise (being a light sleeper I did not book that - however I do not think there is that much traffic and the rooms are very nice with a little balcony too and some foliage creating a bit of a buffer between balcony and street). Actually most of the property is off to the right side (the uphill side) as you drive up that road, including reception, breakfast area, pools, and all the higher category cottages. Only the STANDARD garden cottages and their second floor standard TERRACE cottages (I think there are only two of each) were off to the left side of the road....our driveway being immediately across the road from the main driveway into the property / reception. From the driveway level, we had a lovely paved path down to our garden level. LOTS of outdoor space for us. Big private lawn just outside the bedroom window (you won't really use that), and a BIG wooden deck with lounge chaises and umbrella located on the downhill side of our path. Very tiny look of the sea thanks to a tree on a private property below, but still a nice relaxing view from the deck. Only the little kitchen area just outside the entrance to the bedroom was a bit on the older side and the little dining table there also a bit small but we did not need to make meals or spend much time in this kitchen area. The bedroom was quite big with tons of storage, as was the bathroom. I am particular about elbow room and storage so this was good. Nice decor in both.
We got into a lovely routine here ...... enjoy a relaxed breakfast (with a view) of the fresh fruit cup, good breads, pastries, jams, nutella ...cereals coffees and perhaps a little conversation with another guest. Then we were off in the car to explore other areas for a few hours like Flamands beach (I really liked it) or Gouvenor (not as much to my liking but others seem to enjoy) . Midday we would return to our cottage and enjoy a nice lunch on our deck. We had gone to a Marche and stocked up on (fresh) baguette, olive oil, prosciotto, cheeses, and some great pate spreads ...along with some beer and other beverages, all kept in our little kitchen and fridge. We would open up the deck umbrella, bring out the ipad with mini speakers to enjoy some music and have a nice lunch. Afterwards, off to St Jean beach. We used the big parking lot right across from where the airport road hits the beach area by Tom Beach hotel / La Plage and this worked really well. Back to the hotel in late afternoon, perhaps a drink on our deck (we bought mosquito coils from the front desk and had brought some OFF with us), then out to dinner. Re Restaurant choices, We loved the magic of the beautifully lit garden at Eddies in Gustavia and very fair pricing there too. A big more pricy but great atmosphere dining ON the beach at La Plage (just down the road), and also at Eden Rock Top of the Rock.
I must mention the staff at Hotel Le Village is wonderful ...John Paul (JP) welcomed us and gave us a tour..... Glenda (hope I remember that right) on the cleaning staff was amused by my wanting to peek into all kinds of other "rooms" if she happened to be in there working (I love to check out all the options), and really everyone was great. OH - we did outfit ourselves with all kinds of beach gear from the storage room near reception ...2 matching beach chairs, a noodle for me, fins and a body board for my husband, and an umbrella. That stuff is luck of the draw for what is available but we got everything we were looking for and that is a nice benefit.
We certainly hope to return to Hotel Le Village again and I hope this review is helpful as to what to expect with a STANDARD garden cottage

Room Tip: We stayed in Standard Garden cottage #21, not much of a view (sea wise) but quite comfortable and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MEDISKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Village. We selected this small hotel based on the positive reviews in Tripadvisor. We were in a lovely 'traditional terrace cottage". We had a very spacious outside area that overlooks their infinity pool and also beautiful St. Jean Bay. We especially enjoyed the hammock. Their was also an outside kitchen, dining table and chaise lounges. We spent most of out time out there.

The staff was very gracious when we arrived early. They showed us around the grounds and to our cottage. They were especially helpful in arranging a catamaran excursion for us.

The traditional French breakfast of croissants, French breads, fresh fruit,cereal etc. was a nice touch that was included.

We also used the fitness cottage daily that had all the essential equipment for a good workout.

I would highly recommend this small hotel. The staff was very gracious and helpful throughout our first stay in St. Barths. We will definitely me back to stay at Hotel Le Village on our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just got home from a two week stay in the French West Indies and my last 4 days were spent here in room 18. It doesn't get any better then this! Our room was spectacular with a view to match. The owner is very charming and loves the service she provides and it shows. Everything down to the robe knobs in the bathroom are chosen with a wonderful touch. The fitness room over looks the pool area and has a view to die for. It contains the the usual trend mill, weights and mirrors but the the view makes for an amazing workout. Driving in St. Barth is not for the faint of heart and this hotel is close to many places to eat and a nice beach even if it is at the bottom of a very steep hill. Leave your rental car here and explore by foot.

Room Tip: All the rates are high on this island, so go ahead and splurge and get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels i have already stayed. Amazing staff and customer service, a lovely pool with an infinity wall, very nice and clean accomodations. About the breakfast it is a typical French one with all those beads and home made jams. Certainly it is a place i want to stay again!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jose Luiz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Village St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Village St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: £160 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Village St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel
Hotel Le Village St Barth St. Jean, Caribbean - St. Barthelemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing