We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pour Le Fantasy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Reviewed 7 November 2007

"For the Fantasy" was why the very attractive young French Lady, Majaliene, who served breakfast at the Tropical, described her coming to St Barts. The Tropical certainly contributed to my "fantasy stay" last week. The hotel is a great value for the spacious room, beautiful gardens, and airy and immaculately kept sitting/lounge areas and bar.

Hotel is perfectly situated on the island - close to St Jean Beach and it's great shops and bistros and only 10 minutes drive to Gustavia and Saline Beach (my favorite). Most of my fellow vacationers were French folks and their young ones. The more expensive hotels seem to have the Americaines which suited me fine.

Breakfasts are great (with a view of the beach if you grab the poolside tables) especially when served by Majaliene!

Recommend the Nikki Beach Club for beachside Caribe's and an awesome scallop salad and the Wall House Restaurant in Gustavia for dinner.

Will return to the Tropical in a heartbeat.. One recommendation, be prepared for Euro/$ sticker shock while on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArtnStBarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

Having never been to St. Barth's, we didn't know what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised with Tropical Hotel! We are a couple in our late twenties on a budget, so we wanted someplace with a good location and relatively good value - St. Jean was the perfect location. It was a fun, young town, and it had some good shops and food. Not too sleepy! The Tropical Hotel was clean, bright, and quiet. And the breakfast was always delicious and relaxing! DEFINITELY rent a car - St. Jean beach is beautiful, but the ther island beaches are amazing too, and probably quieter. We're thinking about going back next spring as well!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank becky52381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

I have always wanted to visit St. Barts, but I was frightened of both the prices and the possibility of an atmosphere reeking with pretentious arrogance. However, this island surprised me on both accounts.

We decided to go with the Tropical Hotel's off season special of $170 a night with the use of a car. We were met at the quaint airport by a smiling Sarah, an employee of the Tropical Hotel, who proved to be indispensable throughout the week. The hotel was a few minute drive from the airport up a very steep hill. The front desk welcome was wonderful and our very poor French skills were tolerated and enjoyed.

Our room was on the smaller side, but nicely decorated with plenty of closet space and storage. A refrigerator and safe were provided, and although there was no use for it, a television was in the room. The air-conditioner worked well and everything was spotlessly clean. The bed, surrounded by decorative mosquito netting was comfortable enough. The bathroom shower invigorated us with hot water and their was ample room for all our toiletries. We asked for a room with a terrace over looking the water, and although the parking lot interrupted the view, it was lovely if you aimed your eye sight correctly. The bathroom towels were plentiful and beach towels are available daily after a refundable deposit is handed over. The room was not luxurious, but for this price, on this island, it was fantastic.

The pool was small but certainly served its purpose for this small hotel. It was very refreshing taking a dip every afternoon after our day at the beach. The inclusive continental breakfast was exactly what you expect, and the croissants tasted fresh and oh so Francois.

Although you are not located exactly on a beach, The Tropical Hotel has an ideal location. You are a few minute walk from the action of St. Jean Beach and a short drive from the restaurants, night spots and shopping of Gustavia.

The Tropical Hotel was an ideal place for a reasonable vacation on this charming, but very expensive island. As in many places around the globe, the high costs are indicative of the desirability of being there. Why are New York, San Francisco, London, Paris St. Tropez, St. Barts, Majorca etc. expensive? They all have a great deal to offer and people are willing to spend to enjoy it. Yet, as in all these places, if you do your research and are vigilant, you can enjoy a vacation without mortgaging your child's education. The Tropical Hotel is a perfect spot to enjoy this incredible island at a reasonable price in off season. During high season, the rates go up one hundred dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

My 17 year old Godson, Philip, and I stayed here for Easter week, 7 nights. We booked room number 1, with a terrace facing the water. The room had vaulted ceiling with barn like wooden beams, and was done in pale blue and white. The bathroom was large with a stall shower. The staff were amazing and helped us at every turn. There is a small bar open early in the evening, where we had a rose wine or champagne before heading out to dinner at 9 pm. The location is FABULOUS as you can walk (2 minutes) to two of the most popular beaches, Niki Beach and Eden Rock. Also, you can walk to all the boutiques in St. Jean and the Creole Village. This is a real find and we will go back as soon as we can!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiggyManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2007

Stayed at the Tropical recently in an ocean view room for four nights. The rooms are fine and generally kept very clean. For the price (230 euros), it's an excellent value for St. Barth's given the hotel's location in St. Jean. You can walk to shops, restaurants and beach in less than five minutes. The walk back up the steep hill, however, is not for everyone. I found the drawbacks to be relatively minor given the location. The breakfast could have been a bit more generous. You are allocated one croissant per person. You only receive one bath towel each, no other towels in the bathroom, but they replace the two towels daily. The sheets are changed daily and they give you new beach towels each day, although you have to give them a $20 deposit. Except for the waitress at breakfast and one young woman at the reception desk, the management is chilly. The atmosphere is generally quiet, which I like, as are the rooms (heard very little from the rooms on either side). The water view from the room's terrace can only be seen if you stand up, but it 's quite nice. The ocean view rooms also overlook the parking lot and you do get some noise from that, but I didn't find it bothersome. Little things like removing the squished mosquitos from the walls and blackout curtains would help the ambiance, as would replacing things like a box of tissues or shampoo when they run out. The small grounds are very nice, with flowers surrounding, as is the small pool. It's not the Eden Rock, but overall it's a good value when considering the location and what you receive for under $300 per night., as opposed to $1000 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeny-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2007

We had a wonderful time at the Tropical Hotel. The rooms were great, very clean and air conditioned. The beds were king size. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. What great fun to have breakfast in the open air with the central garden in full bloom and the fish moving about in the fish pond. Our waitress was one of the hardest working and cheerful persons I've met in a small hotel. We had generous pots of coffee, tea of hot choculate and you could order an American breakfast for a reasonable price. We had a little trouble with our TV and staff turned themselves inside out getting it right. What a view down to the bay and you just had to go down the hill and there was great shopping and fine restaurants. St. Barts is an expensive place and it was a pleasure to find such a fairly priced and pleasant place to stay at.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardsargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We stayed two nights at the beginning of November at the Tropical prior to moving into the private villa rental. The staff was neither terribly friendly or rude. That pretty much describes it across the board. The rooms were clean enough, but quite small, the TV very tiny and we had to stack it on top of an upside down flower urn to see it while in bed. The continental breakfast was a cup of coffee and some bread with butter and jam. We noticed that we did not even get room service the first day we were there--when I asked the girl at the desk about it (particularly since we had only one bath towel each to begin with) she just kind of shrugged her shoulders and with her broken english stated "oh...I dunno." Great. Thanks bunches. Pleasant enough, no frills property giving you the bare minimum--no one really did much to make a guest feel terribly welcome there. For the money, you would be better off up the road at Village St. Jean. That is the better value property and if we need just a few nights again, we will return to VSJ where you get a big room and a patio and a kitchenette for about the same money or less.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Lorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel St Barth

Address: Baie saint jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: £337 - £1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Hotel St Barth 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Hotel St Barth is one of the historical establishments of Saint Barthelemy. A charming Boutique hotel, located just steps from the beach in Saint Jean, 700m from the airport and 3km from Gustavia. The new owners have decided to update the design in a more contemporary style in 2016. As a result, The Tropical Hotel St Barth has been transformed into a bohemian chic boutique hotel, in the style one finds in Mykonos, Ibiza, and Saint Barth, a mix between large luxury hotels and small family-run properties. The 22 rooms were recently redesigned from head-to-toe, with new "Rock the Kasbah" furnishings by Philippe XERRI. The decor has simple, clean lines, very natural, and showcasing such materials as wood, cotton, and linen. The design is both simple and sophisticated-a successful reflection of the image of Saint Barth. When it comes to service, the priority is on excellent and personalized service to meet all of the clients' needs. The Restaurant BOHEMIA, located in the heart of the tropical garden of the hotel and is the ambassador of the French “Art de Vivre” in Saint Barth! Chef Bisani and his wife Linda bring to the island a wonderful marriage of French – Mediterranean and Asian cuisine. An authentic experience, both culinary and multi-sensory, in a chic atmosphere in the heart of the tropical garden of the hotel. Restaurant open daily from 07:00 a.m to 11:00 p.m Breakfast – Lunch – Dinner – Bar – Cocktails A wonderful addition to the hotel scene, the new Tropical Hotel St Barth is a great place to spend an unforgettable island vacation, while discovering the charms this newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Hotel St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel St Jean
Tropical Hotel St Barth St. Jean, Caribbean - St. Barthelemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing